We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Catalejo
Ranked #21 of 27 Puerto Madryn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Central location, reasonable price, and overall really cosy place with colorful decor. The company doing laundry for the hotel accidentally ruined some of our clothes - and where very upfront with it and offered to replace it or reimburse us. Very honest and accomodating people.

Tip: We wanted to experience the whales from the sky, and the staff called the airport for us to make arrangements. It is actually very cheap. However, we did not go, because the pilot could not fly us before the day after, and we had to catch an evening bus. Next time, we will do it for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrManOnTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

A friendly staff, well-informed about the sights in town without the usual hard sell that you find elsewhere. Nice atmosphere, beautiful artwork, great location, good kitchen. Good bikes to rent on-premises, too.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank gabe_zarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in Posada del Catalejo for two nights. The owner was very friendly and helpful, so we felt really welcome and at home here. The room we stayed in, on the ground floor on the streetside of the building, was nice but very noisy though, due to traffic and a nightclub closeby. The building could use some maintenance, for example the window shutters were broken and the bathrooms were a little worn out. To summarize, a friendly and decently prized hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Good breakfast in nice place, silent hostel with cosy athmosphere and beautyful cats. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Nothing to amazing about this place, but nothing wrong, either. Puerto Madryn does not have so many options, and most are over the average budget compared with other cities in Argentina. So this was a good option for us, as it has a decent price and quality.

The thing that made the difference was the staff, we've interacted with more of them, and they were all helpful and they really wanted to help. We booked excursions with them, did some laundry and also found a nice restaurant where we could eat at 11 at night, when we arrived hungry from Peninsula Valdez.

If in the area, you should not miss Peinsula Valdez, which deserve more than a one day trip. If you have this time, than you would be better of with an accommodation in Puerto Piramides, on the peninsula. But these options are fewer and more expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This hostel provided exactly what I was looking for. A clean, budget place with extremely friendly staff, excently located. There are different room alternatives according to your choice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chechilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Don't know if the owner is new since the earlier reviews but this was terrible!

After managing to carry our luggage up the narrow stair we where met by a realy bad smell off sewage in the room. Another smell was also present all of the night, som sweet sent of smoke, don't know exactly what it was.
The room was realy small and did,t even have room for our two bags.
The bed was dirty and there was a lot of old hair in the shower so no shower that night. As we cheked in very late we slept 1 night of 3 booked and got up early to find another place to stay. Breakfast was out of the question, could never eat how starved we would ever be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kvarnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalejo, owner at Posada del Catalejo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2009

This was the first bad review received from a guest, nevertheless, we have taken into account your comments to improve our services.

Best Rgds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#13 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
198 reviews
0.1 km away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#4 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
297 reviews
0.4 km away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Tosca Hostel
La Tosca Hostel
#1 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
804 reviews
0 km away
Loica Hostel
Loica Hostel
#8 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
35 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Tolosa
Hotel Tolosa
#8 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Catalejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Catalejo

Address: Calle B Mitre 446, Puerto Madryn U9120AOJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $16 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Posada del Catalejo you will find a special place where everyday you can enjoy a charming atmosphere, together with a comfortable environment. This cozy, unique bed & breakfast has all the facilities that you will need. We offer one, two, three, four-person bedrooms with TV and private bathrooms. For those who are looking to share a room we can offer dorms for 8 people. Facilities include: a complete kitchen and a TV/DVD room with movies to watch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing