We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Going back, it gets even better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Tounens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Tounens
Certificate of Excellence
Travelling
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Going back, it gets even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I went back to Puerto Madryn in March for the Orcas. It was like going home. Vincent and Gilda were unbelievably welcoming. They've maintained their incredibly high standards, and Vincent now has a really good artesanal beer on tap. He helped me with cheap, reliable car hire and organisation of my Orca watching. Then I ended up extending my time there for the sheer pleasure of just staying with them. I really didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    25
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
68
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hostel is in a perfect location, being only 1 block from the bus station is great after such a long bus ride! I stayed in the 6 person dorm which was roomy, clean and cool with a good number of lockers.

The hostel is extremely secure, with a key for the main gate and the dorm to get in. The owners are amazingly helpful, with lots of advice and tips about the area and helping to book tours.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosotto, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a private room with private bathroom. Bed was tiny (queen size) but the room was spotlessly clean. Good breakfast (argentinean style), good atmosphere, owner extremely nice. Wifi worked perfectly.
The location is great: right at the bus station, supermarket at the end of the road, 5 minutes walk to restaurant and sea front.
We would defenetly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manuela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

It is one of the best hostels we have stayed in during our 3month travel in Argentina. The house as such is quite tiny, but it offers privacy as well (if that is what you want). The owners is a French-Argentinian couple, very nice and helpful. It really felt like home.

Room Tip: book in advance in jan and feb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ixmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We've stayed at La Casa de Tounens for three nights last October. The hostel is quite new in Puerto Madryn but was one of the best hostels we've stayed in in Argentina. The prices are a little higher than in other places but compared to others in Puerto Madryn quite reasonable. Vincent knows a lot about the surroundings of Puerto Madryn and gave us some great tips. He speaks several languages what comes in handy from time to time. I was having the flue during our stay and he was very helpful and thoughtful. About the accomodation: The kitchen and living area are really good equipped and make hostel cooking a pleasure for a change. This together with the large and clean bathrooms, the great outdoor area and the location close to town and to the bus terminal make this a great place to stay in Puerto Madryn! I Would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank JJaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

La Casa is quite simply one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It is immaculately clean, cosy, comfortable and ran by the most lovely couple: Vincent and Gilda, who do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They have peerless knowledge of the local area, inc transport affairs to and from the peninsula and prep a fab breakfast with freshly baked bread and cake.

Stay here with upmost confidence - I've stayed in dozens in many continents and this is by far one of the best. Plus they have maté! (thanks Martín!)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Constantinejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ushuaia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We've met a lot of hostels in all our travelling, but never felt so welcome as in this one... We're planning on going back to Puerto Madryn just for the hostel ambiance... Around the corner from the bus stop and 5 minute walk from the centre... Quiet and cozy, just as we love it...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank JoseTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.2 km away
La Posada de Madryn
La Posada de Madryn
#8 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.9 km away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#7 of 22 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 km away
La Tosca Hostel
La Tosca Hostel
#1 of 64 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 km away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#5 of 64 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Tounens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Tounens

Property: La Casa de Tounens
Address: Pasaje 1 de Marzo, 432, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vincent and Gilda invite you to have the best stay in town offering their house!With its 5 rooms La Casa is a convivial place where you'll feel like home. You will find us one block away from the bus station.We are located in a quiet street 2 blocks away from the town center.We are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Tounens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing