We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Restingas Hotel de Mar
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

When we did the booking, considering the price and the offseason, we expected a much better hotel. Our expectation was confirmed after checking various rating publications. The only thing nice with this hotel was the size of the room and the ocean view. The hotel in general is not well maintained. Some of the staff was very friendly and helpful, and some were outright unfriendly. Without going into detail, breakfast was one of the worst we had during our long Southamerica trip. All-in-all a rather unprofessionally run place. We were very disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PC_from_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Travelling with friends and fMily i expected a warm welcome on a cold and windy day. During my 3 day visit the hotel did nothing to compliment the spectacular view of whales in the sea..The food was atrocious so resorted to having a picnic from a supermarket the next 2 nights. Overcooked or undercooked fish obviously frozen and reheated with half reheated frozen bread was not a good start

Despite being the only residents in the hotel i was not allowed to use the gym without booking in advance..and when i did the floor was dirty and dusty
Half the machines didnt work and the jacuzzi was lukewarm..only the sauna worked well
The air conditioning heating didnt work so spent 2 nights in a cold room

The breakfasts were pitiful..the staff stated breakfast is served 8-10 but only came down when they heard residents moving around and looked like they had just woken themselves
.i am aware of scarce resources but i cannot eat dry toast and cakes for breakfast and serve frosties to my children without even any
bowls to serve it from
It would only take a slight effort to serve something slightly more intersting and sustaining for a day in the cold and rain


Finally DO NOT GIVE THE STAFF YOUR CREDIT / Debit cards ...they will copy the numbers down and 3 digit security number on the back...and then say that it is government regulations to do this! This was after using the CHIP AND PIN DEVICE.
IF YOU HAVE TO STAY pay cash and dont stay too long

Such a shame as it could be fantastic retreat from the world

Room Tip: Ask for seaview pay cash and dont stay too long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DrLucy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Nothing should distract from the wildlife and the beauty of this area.
So, some suggestions:
1. Breakfast is awful - add something fresh. Dinner similarly disgusting. Ps. 'White salmon' doesn't exist
2. Drop the ridiculous need to book the gym (we were the only guests and were told off for not using the gym at exactly the time of booking)
3. Don't barge into my room at 10pm when we're sleeping (in an empty hotel)
4. Have staff who are interested in the guests and keen to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
In summary, do come to this area, it's amazing and the whales are incredible. Don't stay here unless you are a fan of Faulty Towers.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pete 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Yes, we were in a remote location where resources are scarce. Still, our room (not facing the ocean) looked like a converted basement space. The windows were right up against the parking lot so we generally had the curtains closed for privacy, making it even darker. The bathroom had stains from a leaking pipe. There’s not a lot of choice in this small town and so that leaves the traveler with a dilemma of where do you stay?

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

So let's start with the great: the view of this place is UNBELIEVABLE. I never thought I would ever see so many whales from my bed in my life. If you want to go for a whale watching excursion there's no doubt that this is the best place, as the boats leave in front of the door. Furthermore, the women working at the reception are very friendly and super helpful.

Then to the bad: we went in low season, and you could tell by the way the hotel was managed. An example was the gym: it was not only dirty, but clearly not cleaned for MONTHS. It was so dusty that when I used a fitness machine my head was full of dust. The indoor swimming pool was empty, the sauna cold.

And to end with the ugly: the guys working at the restaurant were the breakfast is served (certainly the guy with a beard, if you're not sure who I mean, hotel management). The atmosphere here is just terrible. Loud rock music in bad speakers that was clearly selected by the moody waiter lis just nobody's taste at breakfast; a grumpy look when you ask for something.

Conclusion: weirdly enough I am still happy we came here, as the "great" was more important to us than the "ugly" and "bad". But that's not thanks to the hotel management but to the amazing whales that have the curtesy to pass by.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank timamsterdam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

I've been here for the first time in 2010 and I had definitely the duty to come back. Very nice place with a great restaurant with a beautiful ocean view.
Great pieces in each plate, it doesn't matter if you choose pastas, meat or fish. Even the price its okey, not overated and adecuated with the local economy (something realy strange to find in a turist place in Argentina)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ezequiel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

If you want to visit Peninsula Valdes, you can stay in Puerto Madryn, a busy tourist town, or drive about 2 hours closer to the Peninsula, and stay in Puerto Piramides. We’re glad we stayed in Piramides – we got a big head start over the tourists driving in from Madryn, including a tour ship that docked the day of our visit to the Peninsula. For most of the morning, we and our guide were the only people at the wildlife watching areas.
This hotel is right on the beach – you can walk out the door and dip your toe in the South Atlantic. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Included are things like a room safe, a hair dryer, and a bidet, although oddly no Kleenex. The shower had both an overhead nozzle and a handheld nozzle. The breakfast had no hot items, but did include ham and cheese slices in addition to cereal and pastries. The staff was nice enough to package up our breakfast since we got an early start.
My major complaint about this hotel is the room key! It’s not a magnetic stripe card nor a standard 5 or 6 pin tumbler key. Instead, it’s an old fashioned, warded (skeleton-type) key. My wife and I are both engineers and we couldn’t get it to work without the help of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Piramides
0 km away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
972 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
739 reviews
0 km away
El Pedral
El Pedral
#9 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
584 reviews
0 km away
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
#1 of 4 in Puerto Piramides
114 reviews
0 km away
Oceano Patagonia
Oceano Patagonia
#1 of 15 in Puerto Piramides
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Restingas Hotel de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Restingas Hotel de Mar

Address: Primera Bajada al mar y Ribera Martima, Puerto Piramides 9121, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Piramides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Piramides
Price Range: $128 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Restingas Hotel de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbays, cliffs and ancient rock formations give place to the beautiful beaches of Puerto Piramides where Las Restingas Hotel de Mar is located. Declared a World Heritage site by the UNESCO in 1999, Peninsula Valds receives the southern right whale year after year and invites you to meet an extraordinary nature experience, lodged in an unforgettable hotel. The hotel offers 12 room. 8 rooms are located at the front, with a private baranda and the most privileged sea view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Restingas Hotel de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Restingas Hotel De Mar Puerto Piramides, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing