We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Las Restingas Hotel de Mar(Puerto Piramides)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
El Pedral(Puerto Madryn)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$496
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hosteria Puerto Palos(Puerto Piramides)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
El Refugio(Puerto Piramides)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
95
14
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owneramazing wildlifepeninsula valdeselephant sealshis wifewhale watchingtwo nightsfew hourssheep farmwonderful hostsclose quarterslove wildlifegravel roadamazing opportunitylong driveper daystayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 115 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2017

It felt really as a visit to an authentic Estancia. Rooms were cosy, the drawing room lika a home and the home cooked food was good. The owner - Agustinos - took us everyday (two) on trips with his Landrover with short hikes. We saw the vastness of the peninsula, some dessertlike areas(!) and beatiful beaches. There we got very close to sea lions, elephant seals and plenty of birds. We thorouly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

If you want quiet, beautiful scenery and amazing wildlife, with wonderful hosts, then Estancia Rincon Chico is the place to go. Located on the Peninsula Valdes, pretty far from any civilization, it is an oasis of quiet and animal experiences that are amazing. Lesser Rheas walking right by you as you sit in the garden or walk outside, pet skunks, sheep and other animals hanging around the Estancia all add to the experience. Maria and Augustin the owners, with Ramona and now Jemima helping are wonderful hosts. Augustin takes you out on excursions, walking the bluffs seeing elephant seals, sitting on the beach within three feet of sleeping/snorting/scratching/talking juvenile elephant seals, looking for orcas, seeing guanacos, maras, burrowing owls, tarantulas, the list goes on. He is fun, knowledgeable and both he and Maria care deeply about the land and the animals. I cannot say enough about he experience, you are unplugged with no phone service and very limited internet at night, which was different for us, but also added to the experience with the wonderful sitting room with all sorts of historical items, shells, fossils, arrowheads, etc. Food was good with buffet breakfasts and sit down lunches and dinners. It is a place to spend 2-3 days, maybe 4, particularly if you also take the opportunity to visit the San Lorenzo Penguin reserve (unbelievable....) or other parts of the Peninsula Valdes including whale watching. A very special place with special people owning and hosting.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

I had high hopes for my visit to the Estancia and I am delighted that it did not disappoint. The location is stunning, in the Peninsula Valdes, the wildlife is incredible and the hospitality welcoming, friendly and keen to ensure that all guests have a memorable stay at the Estancia.

I would strongly recommend that anyone interested in seeing Patagonia at its finest should visit the Estancia.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

The luxury that you pay for at Estancia Rincon Chico is the remarkable access to the wildlife of the Valdez Peninsula. This is not to say that the rooms aren't lovely, the meals delicious and the wine superb - they are. But you can find these things other place. The truly amazing thing about Estancia Rincon Chico is the ability to observe wildlife without other tourists, visitors or vehicles around, to be able to stay on the beach with the elephant seals for as long as you like, watching as the huge groups along the miles of the estancia's beach engage in a wide range of behaviors from mating, to nursing, to sleeping, to fighting. To be able to watch the sea lions, the rheas (the ostrich's Argentine cousin), the maras (look 'em up!) and guanacos (Argentine camels) in their natural environment, with no rush, no worry of others coming upon the scene to ruin it, with the luxury of all the time you want to observe them in so many different behaviors is - well, it's just amazing. And of course there are the right whales, the orcas, the penguins. It's a wildlife extravaganza. Agustin is a gifted naturalist and traveling with him around the estancia is a great treat. Aside from his deep knowledge of the wildlife and the area (he and Maria are both 5th generation Peninsula Valdez) it is interesting to learn about their impressive conservation efforts, as well as everything that is required to live completely off the grid as they do.

The living room of the guest house has a good library of books related to the Valdez Peninsula, and it's a very comfortable place to hang out, read, chat with other guests and with Agustin and Maria. The pets on the property are also great tun. There is El Gordo, the orphaned rhea they raised from a chick, who is in love with Camela the sheep, and the two of them are best friends with Pirincho the horse. They are quite the trio. Then there are the 3 border collies, who can frequently be seen running around the property with a baby lamb who clearly thinks he is also a border collie.

It's all pretty magical and I highly recommend Estancia Rincon Chico as a must-do on any trip to Argentina.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergio J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Around 7:30 pm as we drove 70km on a dirt road in the dark and rain en route to the Estancia Rincon Chica, I have to say I was questioning our decision to stay here. Then we arrived. And all questions vanished. The Estancia is THE authentic Patagonia Steppe experience. The property is beautiful and Agustin, owner, tour guide, entrepreneur, environmentalist, is a knowledgeable and engaging host. Want to see one of the largest elephant seal colonies in the world? You can get up close and personal at the Estancia's beach. Want to see sea lions and orca whales on the prowl for them? You can also see that from Estancia. All in all, we loved our stay here and recommend it to anyone considering spending time in Valdez Peninsula. By the way, the dirt road is a piece of cake in the daylight! Two hours after we left I realized I left my iPad at the Estancia. I emailed Agustin and asked if he could send it along. He said he would look into it. A day later he told me guests that just left were going to join the same Beagle Channel boat trip we were on and he had sent the iPad along with them to pass on to us. That's the five star Estancia Rincon Chica Customer Service experience you get.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Douglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews