We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
137
16
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
16
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river fly fishing one night the owner buenos aires lakes property balcony wood privacy lodge details region route
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Rio Hermoso for one night as we did the 7 Lakes drive. The hotel is conveniently located about 2/3 of the way into the drive from Bariloche so we were able to check in and refresh before going further into San Martin de Los Andes for dinner. The hotel itself is stunning and quite enjoyable. We had a king bed and the room was extremely welcoming and had a real home feel to it. The staff is incredibly nice and we loved everything about the hotel. Not to be missed if in the area!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nygal0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIOHERMOSO, Gerente at Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you so much nygal0007!!! It was really nice to have you staying at Río Hermoso. Bet wishes. Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2018

My wife and I are on a two months tour of Argentina and Brasil. Having stayed in Buenos Aires we were so looking forward to sitting and staring, just relaxing in the beautiful 7 lakes district. My wife is an artist and had organised this hotel from its great reviews. The hotel room was booked over six months ahead, important if you want the right room. We are Gold members with Hotels.com as we stay in lots of hotels all over the world, fortunate in our retirement.
Specifically we asked for a quiet room with view.
Upon arrival we were shown to a room, yes with view but no balcony as displayed on the Hotels.com website. Explaining to the attentive employee our request she explained that that room type was not what we had paid for nor was it available for the two nights of our stay. She did however offer to put us in one for one night then move. Clearly not something we wanted to do, unpack, repack then unpack again.
The manager was telephoned and it was agreed, the hotel room photos shown on the website were wrong. Her fault, but no chance of the room with balcony for our duration.
The following day, the manager met us whilst my wife was painting outside on the lawn overlooking the beautiful river. Yes, apologised again, her fault but she would correct the website photos.
Our room 6 was located over the bar, noisy until 11:30 or 12pm
On our second night we had to call reception to report banging pipes. This was fixed about 12:30 am by which time we couldn’t get back to sleep.
The beautiful floor is wood and creaks enormously.
If you choose to stay, ensure you have a room with balcony away from the bar.
Such a shame, poor experience.

Room tip: Choose room with balcony away from the bar
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIOHERMOSO, Gerente at Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Dear LaPalmaDuo; Thank you for your comments. As we spoke while sitting at the Lounge terrace, the pictures shown were not associated to the room´s category you booked and in the room´s fecilities description it is never mentioned a balcony. Rooms with balcony are not available in Hotels.com nor any other OTA. As I told you, the rooms with balcony are just 2, are not offered in any OTA (Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, etc) and have a higher rate. As we spoke, too, some more pictures of rooms, with and without balcony were uploaded in Hotels.com already to prevent future guests getting confused as you did. I am really sorry we couldn´t fullfill your expectations. Hope you have a wonderfull trip around Argentina & Brasil. Thank you for writting you comments. Best regards. Giselle Kaplan, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

Stayed there for the day because of a corporate retreat and I completely fell in love with this place. Located at a pristine spot by the Hermoso river, this property fulfills every need when peace and quietness are the goal. Excellent price/quality ratio, attentive and warm service, a little paradise for fly fishing lovers but also for those looking for privacy or a romantic getaway. Will definitely come back for a longer stay. (TIP: rent a car if you want to explore the surrounding areas like the 7 lakes road or closeby San Martin de los Andes and lake Lacar)

Room tip: river-facing rooms with a balcony are the best choice (first floor)
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIOHERMOSO, Gerente at Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Wow Guillermo!!! Thank you so much for these words!!! I sincerilly appreciate the time you took to post this comment. It was a pleasure recieving you at Río Hermoso. Best wishes. Giselle Kaplan, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Ideally located not far from Ruta 40, about an hour south of San Martin de los Andes, this is a great place to explore this region, with lots of things to do and visit within a couple hours drive. Very comfortable, great cuisine, great refreshing swims in the beautiful river running just in front of the lodge. This is a small place, very quiet, perfect if you self-drive.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Njaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioHermosoHotel, Gerente at Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Njaques! Thank you so much for the time you dedicated to write these lines about Río Hermoso. Thank ou for staying with us. Best wishes. Giselle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017

Really relaxed with great food. The location on the river is great with grounds that are private. A great place to chill.

The room were large and well equipped very luxurious with a great balcony to lie in the sun

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ken053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioHermosoHotel, Gerente at Rio Hermoso Hotel de Montana, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

Dear Ken053, Thank you so much for your words. Glad to know you had a good time. Best wishes. Giselle Kaplan, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews