We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
232
37
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
37
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road trout hotel guests memorable stay hotel experience infinity pool feel at home view of the lake gorgeous views ignacio concierge lakeside spa patagonia shore potholes rises
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 279 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

This hotel is magical. Aside from the beautiful rooms and accommodations, staff feels like family. Everything is personalized; you can ask for personalized snacks, meals, drinks etc.

They organized splendid activities and included a home-cooked snack for every tour. For our scenic boat ride for instance, the hotel prepared a gourmet cheese platter and wine. Staff always greeted us cordially and treated us like royalty. Food is FANTASTIC. My favorite meal is breakfast with warm croissants and homemade strawberry jam.

When in a hotel, treat is key. You pick a hotel to feel comfortable and at ease while traveling; cold people make the experience terrible. You want to feel at home and that your money is worth the stay. This is the second time I come back to Las Balsas because it has become like a second home. This place is peaceful and really feels like a vacation.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luciaalfarollort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

The only thing wrong with this boutique hotel is that we didn’t choose to stay longer than the 4 fantastic days we have just spent. Seriously, as soon as we walked through the door we felt immediately relaxed and at home. The staff are so wonderfully warm and friendly and nothing has been too much trouble for them, whether it’s providing Almond milk for granola at breakfast or a pot of hot red berry tea to take the chill off as the last of the spring snow falls across the lake.

We have eaten 3 meals a day here and have not had a bad experience. The chef is more than happy to accommodate our dietary requirements in his flavoursome creations using local meat and fish and there is a great choice of wines in the cellar to accompany the food.

Our room was a corner suite providing great views across the lake through the floor to ceiling windows. A patio door allowed us to stroll into the garden and up to the lake shore with steps down to the lakeside if needed. There is a dressing room off a small corridor and large bathroom with both standalone shower cubicle and a cute iron enamelled bath tub. The water takes a couple of minutes to warm up on its journey from the boiler but there is ample available when it arrives.

You can see the spa from the dinning room as the steam rises from the indoor/outdoor pool like a Japanese Onzen. There is a good range of equipment as well as a sauna and the pool and plenty of space just to relax and look out over the lake.

We will be sorry to say goodbye to this place but will definitely return in the future.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank griggstower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Wonderful staff and outlook, a little overcommitted to restaurant guests coming in from outside as opposed to Hotel guests and the staff coped, but they required more help during the busy holiday week that we were there

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank mrobin644886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful and cozy resort in a spectacular location. Friendly staff who were extremely accommodating. Restaurant and chef are superb. Exquisitely prepared trout that we were fortunate to have caught on a morning trolling excursion. This was a memorable stay well worth the price. Recommended very highly!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank genehirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Gorgeous views, comfortable room, gourmet dining - what more could you want? (Well, they could do better than the meagre fitness equipment. A Small item in the overall scheme of things) Service folks were fantastic. Thank you Ignacio, Bruno, and Inez at the front desk and the fabulous Jessica in the restaurant. We were at Las Balsas three nights and could have stayed three weeks! We will return!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mahty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews