We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing...”
Review of Hotel Tunquelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tunquelen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Way over priced, hotel advertised that staff could communicate in English (not true!), advertised that activities directors could assist with local outdoor activities (never saw them once), too far from "downtown" Bariloche, in bad need of a remodeling and to top it off one of the staff members stole 80 pesos from a pair of pants. The cherry on top was when we learned that Central Reservations took $140 as a commission! I will say that the women working the front desk were the only bright spot, they were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Jeff1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2008

This is a neighbor of the luxurious and somewhat ostentatious Lao Lao Resort, and owned by the same firm Mares Sur Hotels. It is a bit of a grande dame of a lodge, badly needing some exterior repairs and bathroom renovations, but I would recommend it in a flash. The views are truly awesome, and beyond anything we have experienced in all our travels. From our room on the 3rd floor, I kept snapping photo after photo as the light changed, particularly near the end of the day. The interior is lovely old wood, the rooms a bit small and dated (as mentioned the bathrooms need upgrading), but the feel of the place is wonderful. The staff are attentive, very polite and discrete, the food in the dining excellent. All transfers and activities we needed were handled professionally and efficiently. This is a place to relax, not hop around madly. We needed that break after 5 days rushing around BA and so our 2-night respite here was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbE11RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

What a terrific hotel. We stayed 3 days/nights in a lake view room and loved it. It may have helped that Bariloche was mid heatwave but I can't believe I wouldn't have felt the same in normal weather.

Our room was all white and with a wonderful hard yet soft(!) bed. Ok so the telly was a bit small but really...who wants to watch telly in Patagonia?? I spent an hour or two here and there just lying on the bed reading a book and feeling the breeze through the window... there was absolutely no noise... FABULOUS! This place is tucked away down a lane from the main road and set in its own grounds.

In mornings and evenings we strolled down to the jetty and I took a dip in the (freezing) lake before getting ready for breakfast/dinner. In the mornings we would find a little spot to sit/lie and read. About 11ish the activity chaps would stroll around and encourage you, with charm, to do something with them in the afternoon. They are really very flexible so we went kayaking one day and biking another. Meals were taken in a lovely high-ceiling-ed room overlooking the lake and the staff were extremely attentive. The breakfast buffet was limited but of a high quality and we really enjoyed the dinner choices. At £100 per night, this is decent value for a calm oasis but with a genuine all-inclusive activity list too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hippo-camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Nires for 4 nights during our stay at Bariloche. Okay, the only con is that the room was a bit plain (if that can be a complaint) and the bed was hard, hard, hard - although after a few nights we got used to it.

The pros are many. The bathroom rocked - big open room and great shower. The location was stunning, and thankfully not in the main part of town which was a bit loud. The hotel is off road through a lively garden filled drive, sitting by the main lake in a beautiful setting and mountains framing the lake. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - we owe them so much for assisting us (particularly when one of our luggage was lost from the airline). The common areas (dining room, bar, living room, fireplace room) were cozy and large - and very comfortable. On one day when it rained, hanging in the room off on the side of the bar, near the fireplace was a perfect way to spend time waiting for the rain to stop. Oh, and breakfast was amazing - lots of food choices and all good.

Bariloche and the surrounding areas were more beautiful than expected - and we definitely want to return. Try to go to El Bolson for the artist fair - it's great!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

Hotel Location:

It is located in a magnificent Bariloche area at a five minutes walk of Llao Llao village. If you will lodge at this hotel a car is recommended, it is at 1 hour from Airport, 45 minutes from Cerro Catedral (ski center) and 35 minutes from down town. Pick up from Airport and daily shuttle service to Catedral is offered free of charge.

Inns:
- Excellent lake views from common areas such as lobby, bar, restaurant and swimming pool
- Friendly staff
- Relaxing environment
- Great activities: such as walks, mountain bikes and many other options

Outs:
- Rooms are small, with a decent and clean but not modern bathroom and furniture
- Lake view from bedroom is great but we will loved to be able to have that view from bed
- Restaurant menu should be more extensive
- Salads were the only low fat options
- Windows at the swimming pool area were not clean

Ifs …
If you’re looking for a world class five stars hotel: not recommened
If you’re looking for a relaxing environment in a decent and clean hotel: recommended
If you will go to the Cerro Catedral: not recommend because is too far
If you will occasionally go to the Cerro Catedral but you will do other outdoors activities: recommended

General review:
We booked at this hotel was promoted as five stars hotel but according with our experience it is not a world class five stars hotel, so at first sight we were disappointed. Anyway we had a pleasant 5 days stat at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lorena_y_Gonzalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2006

Situated just up the lake from the legendary Llao Llao Hotel, the Hotel Tunquelen is well worth considering as a less expensive alternative. It resembles a classic lakeside lodge/chalet--I felt like I was in Switzerland--unassuming from the front, stunning from the back. As beautiful as it is, it cannot hold a candle to the unbelievale view of the lake and snowcapped mountains beyond--absolutely breathtaking. Rooms are clean and rather spartan, but comfortable. Some actually feature decks and fireplaces, so try to secure one of the better ones if possible. The lobby needs a major renovation, but the downstairs lounge is warm, rustic and inviting. The dining room is lovely and the food is incredible--rich, flavorful local ingredients, inventive preparation and meticulous service. Honestly, the chef would have no problem holding his own in New York or Paris. Make sure to take time for a sauna and a swim in the hotel's beautiful indoor pool--again, the view of the lake is to die for. It's also nice to sit out on the back deck and have lunch or a glass of Malbec.

Wish I could upload photos, as they are worthy of post cards.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jamesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hbrunocherot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
4.9 km away
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
13.8 km away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#10 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
612 reviews
1.1 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Bungalows Buena Vista
Bungalows Buena Vista
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
216 reviews
19.7 km away
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
Villa Sofia Resort & Spa
#34 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
331 reviews
18.5 km away
Aldea Andina
Aldea Andina
#20 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tunquelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tunquelen

Address: Av. Exequiel Bustillo, Km 24.5 | Villa Llao Llao, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $144 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tunquelen 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its enviable location in Villa Llao Llao, Bariloche, its stunning views of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains, and the careful and customized service given to our guests make Hotel Tunquelen a unique place to anyone wishing to live the genuine experience of Patagonia Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tunquelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing