We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kau Yatun Hotel & Estancia
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lupama(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$485
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cauquenes de Nimez(El Calafate)
US$500
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Monica Aparts(El Calafate)
US$140
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solares Del Sur(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Los Alamos(El Calafate)
US$110
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapenke Hotel(El Calafate)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
134
133
35
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
133
35
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walksheep herdingseparate companylobby area isrustic hotelcontrol the temperaturebreads and pastriesrustic feelthe staff was friendly and helpfulmiddle of towndowntown el calafatean upgraderestaurants and shopslamblate at nightfour nightscomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This wonderful hotel is less than a mile from the main road in El Calafate. It's flat, easy walk to the main drag. The property is on a dead end street so it's SUPER quiet, and the rooms are spacious and clean. There is an on-site hotel that serves a nice breakfast, and a full bar off the lobby as well. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they organized a driver for us to visit the Perito Moreno glacier. The driver was WONDERFUL and it was a great deal. Last but not least the lobby is large and cozy; tons of plush couches and comfortable areas to gather and lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour group. It is poorly located as there is nothing in the immediate vicinity. It is approximately half a mile to the main district of Calafate. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Water pressure was very poor. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night. The food was good but the seating was uncomfortable. The tables were low and it was difficult to get your knees underneath. The breakfast buffet offered the least variety of any hotel we stayed on our trip through Argentina and Chile.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RCCLWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This is a really charming place with good variety for breakfast, not too far from the main street in El Calafate (lovely views on the green spaces surrounding the hotel). The staff is super helpful. But it does seem that the standard of rooms differ between different wigs (we stayed there twice on the ground floor, but in different wings).

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

The surroundings are beautiful. There are often horses grazing in the front lawns and occasionally sheep towards the back of the property.
The restaurant is fantastic - the service is wonderful, it's beautifully appointed and the food and wine are amazing. The staff were all incredibly helpful and kind. It is true that items often ran out at breakfast and took awhile to be replaced but I was always able to get what I wanted and did see staff refilling things. I think often there was a rush on breakfast at specific times as groups were being collected from the hotel for tours, which stretched the resources a little.
The hotel is located a short walk from town - very easy and the staff kindly provide a map and directions. It's a pleasant walk and I appreciated that the hotel worked directly with tour providers to give you information about pick-up times and transfers, rather than leaving you to liaise directly.
While my room was very basic, it was comfortable and the quality of the service made up for most of the short-falls. Having said that, the desk lamp was missing a bulb, the room was a little tired as was the bathroom. It was kept very clean but there was no mini bar which meant either walking into town to buy water or having to purchase it from the restaurant or room service. Normally this wouldn't be an issue but I was quite ill during my stay and needed water. I think it would be nice to provide some bottled water for guests - at a cost would be fine.
As noted by other travellers, the Wi-Fi is virtually non-existent. It sounds like a petty complaint but as a solo traveller, that was how I kept in touch with family and friends and also how I researched activities and confirmed bookings and transport. Luckily my maps were offline so I could still get around.
Lastly, the walls are very thin which meant there was a lot of noise from neighbouring guests. With the sun setting at 10pm, people were often coming back to their rooms very late at night, while other guests, presumably embarking on day tours, were up very early. Most of these guests were inconsiderate about the noise they were making so not really the hotel's fault but some insulation might assist. And there was a lot of vacuuming - while I appreciate the cleanliness, it was very loud and often went most of the day. Again, had I not been ill, I probably wouldn't have noticed but it made it difficult to sleep.
Having said that, I did get the best service at this Hotel and was very impressed with the staff and the location and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This is a smaller old estancia that has been partially converted into a hotel. Lots of green space, horses, dogs, sheep etc. Older building that looked authentic. Good restaurant. In summer the room got a little stuffy and keeping the windows open let in a few bugs along with the air (not unexpected in an estancia). Recommend a bug screen on at least one of the three panels in the window or a small fan in the room (it does not have an AC and does not need one - even in summer).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews