We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly basic, but Christina really makes a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel itself is fairly basic, but it's clean, the rooms are large, and the bathroom was fine. The tv service was good- I got to watch Monday Night Football in Spanish!

The breakfast was pretty good, but breakfast is never really good in Argentina as I understand it... coffee (good), tea, croissants/medialunas, oranges, cornflakes, yogurt, and Tang (which seems to be popular here).

The walk to town is about 15 minutes, with a bit of uphill on the way back. We tended to walk to town and take a cab (12 pesos) back. The area that the hotel is in is definitely rustic, but the view of the lake is great.

What really made the difference here was Christina. She was very helpful, really knows the area and offered great suggestions and service. She really aims to please and always had a smile for us.

Recommended, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel was cozy, clean and, for the most part, quiet, The room was nice and breakfast items was OK. Excellent hospitality of staff. I recommend it.

Room Tip: My room had an amazing view of Lago Argentino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAHenryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I loved the lake view from the room and during the breakfast time. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay there even better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We stayed at Glaciares de la Patagonia for 2 nights and found it very friendly, clean and quiet. The owners were very helpful with providing information. It's a bit out of town, that's true, but we had a car, so this was no issue.
We had a king size bed and there was even a view of Lago Argentino.
Breakfast was very basic though.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Enthusiast99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hosteria. It is a little out of town but still in easy walking distance to the city (15min max). If you can't stand the dusty roads, a taxi into the centre will only set you back AR$8.
The rooms are generously sized and clean and the water pressure is excellent. We did miss a desk but found this to be the case in many of the Argentinian B&Bs. Christina at the front desk speaks excellent English and we found her to be extrememly helpful and she went out of her way to arrange day-trips for us at no extra cost (in fact her quotes were better than those of the offices in the city in one instance).
Our only dissapointment was about the breakfast service which was very basic - everyone gets 3 croissants and coffee/tea/juice with a choice of jams and honey. Meat and cheese or cereals were not on offer. Free Wifi is available at the reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Very basic accommodations. The rooms lack the most basic amenitiies, like a phone or a hair drier. Boring is the best word to describe breakfast at this place.
There are many hotel in much more convenient locations that charge just the same or even less.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citizenkanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

My wife son & I spent 4 nights at the Glaciares de la Patagonia on a visit to tour the glaciers. Hotels in the area had insisted that we book a separate room for our son with each of those rooms at a higher price than the triple we found here. The lodge was kept impeccably clean and provided a clear view of the lake. Construction, etc. was new "rustic lodge" but typical of construction & style elsewhere in El Calafate. The lodge is at the edge of the town on a dirt road within an easy 10-15 minute walk of the town. This has the distinct advantages of being quiet and having a view of the lake that are missing for most of the intown housing. Christina, the proprietress, was extremely helpful in booking tours and even went to considerable effort to help us clear up misunderstandings with the Panoramic Hotel in Iguazu and make Christmas eve reservations at the Sorento in Buenos Aires which was requiring a cash deposit. Given the rustic character of alternative lodging in El Calafate we would recommend Glaciares de la Patagonia unconditionally to those touring this area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.9 km away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#51 of 69 in El Calafate
195 reviews
0.8 km away
Hosteria Austral
Hosteria Austral
#68 of 69 in El Calafate
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
#50 of 69 in El Calafate
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#19 of 69 in El Calafate
251 reviews
1.8 km away
Las Avutardas Hosteria
Las Avutardas Hosteria
#44 of 69 in El Calafate
90 reviews
1 km away
Lupama
Lupama
#62 of 69 in El Calafate
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia

Address: Los Antiguos 194, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glaciares de la Patagonia has been specially designed for our guests to enjoy a comfortable and cozy environment where they will be provided with customized assistance. The impressive view of Lake Argentino, the Andes Mountain Range and Mount Calafate may be appreciated from the sitting-room, the restaurant and the rooms. It is located at the entrance of the El Calafate tourist village, only six blocks from the town commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Glaciares De La Patagonia El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing