We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
450
378
82
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
378
82
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel lake view the bus front desk staff lobby town tours calafate argentina outskirts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 957 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a stay here - Melina at the front desk was fantastically helpful, the free breakfast buffet was extensive and included eggs, and the views over the water were nice in morning and evening. However, two downsides: it is a ways out of town (~35 min walk) and the free shuttle only runs in the evenings, and the rooms didn’t have air conditioning (although it was supposedly unusually warm during our trip so this may not typically be a problem). You can book with Chase points if you have them, and recommend requesting a room with a lake view.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gabrielalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

This is not a very good hotel. The rooms are not bad and because if you do a tour group, because it’s on the outskirts of
town you’re the last ones picked up and the first ones dropped off. That is why this hotel gets 2 stars and not 1. The hotel is outside of town and they boast having a shuttle... Sort of. When you show up you learn that it runs about every hour from 5 pm to 9 pm. It has limited seats (and they don’t let you stand) so if it’s full it’s too bad for you, you have to find a taxi and then pay 130 pesos to get back to the hotel. We showed up to the last shuttle of the evening at 9:15 (it was scheduled to leave at 9:30). It was sitting there filled with people so we had to take a taxi. So if you’re staying here plan to show up for the 5 minute shuttle ride 20-30 minutes early to sit around and wait to go.

Here’s another thing that bothered us. They have a restaurant that I didn’t eat at on one side of the hotel. On the other side there’s a nice outdoor area looking towards the lake. There’s no outdoor seating at the restaurant but they put the sign up I posted saying not to eat food outside that’s not from the restaurant. This is another reason this is not a friendly hotel. I also posted a pic of the outdoor area to show there’s no seating for the restaurant there.

When you check you’ll be told the internet is a little slow because they contracted with a small company. You might as well assume this place has no internet.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Navigator731910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

The summary in the Rochester Calafate is “NO”. No services (no: pool, no gym, no air conditioner, poor heathing...you named which “no” you want listening), no quality offered, no quiet rooms, no front desk attention....do you want read more?
The Rochester offer via their web page another quality as you can get during your trip to Calafate.
No matter if you are advised about it...take care if you are thinking in to select one hotel in El Calafate....ask before and decide between another qualified hotels in El Calafate

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

I don't normally leave reviews but felt compelled to due to our great stay at Rochester Calafate! My brother and I brought our parents here on a Christmas trip and it was perfect, and a great value.

The front desk and restaurant service staff were outstanding, particularly Carola at the front desk, and they all followed up extremely well.

The lunch / dinner food was way beyond our expectations, surprisingly sophisticated and balanced.

The indoor and outdoor common spaces were very comfortable and tranquil, and we loved the location on the lake just outside town. Would happily return!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank NickMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Director de Recepción at Rochester Hotel Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rochester Calafate and especially our restaurant. We are going to make your compliments reach Carola and all the staff.

We really hope to have you hosted again with us,


My best wishes,
Tomás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

We spent a wonderful 3 night stay at the Rochester as we toured the beautiful surrounding glacier parks. We were welcomed by the ever friendly and helpful Carola who could not do enough, along with the rest of the hotel staff, to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
The restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and the food was fresh and tasty. Main meals were delicious and the portions were generous. Prices were reasonable. We enjoyed a two for the price of one 'happy hour' at the hotel bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable though not large. The public sitting areas were clean and nicely appointed. There was a free hourly shuttle into the nearby town. We were able to buy very reasonably priced packed lunches to take with on our daily excursions instead of having to worry about a midday meal. There are lovely grounds to the hotel with a beautiful view over the lake.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Director de Recepción at Rochester Hotel Calafate, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Deborah,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rochester Calafate and that our rooms, common areas, restaurant , bar and breakfast had meet your expectations, we will make Carola and the rest of the staff aware of your positive review about their work.

We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay, and we hope to have you hosted again at our hotel,


Kind Regards,
Tomás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews