We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in El Calafate”
Review of Patagonia Queen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Patagonia Queen
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Our room was quiet and comfortable and the bathroom was better than many, with a small Jacuzzi as part of the bath. The room was of average size for a double room. A safe, TV and Wi-Fi were part of the deal, as was a mini bar. The laundry service offered good value. Breakfast was of a good standard and with a variety of offerings to choose from. The reception service was good and they went out of their way to get business documents scanned and despatched, after we checked out. This was indeed "going the extra mile". We can recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are marginally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2016

Heated floors in the bathroom are just the start of how nice this hotel is. Excellent front desk and the owner is actively involved and it shows. Great breakfast is included. They have a very comfortable lobby and free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the Lake side it will be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 610kevind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

To our surprise when we arrived (booked through a travel company), we were told our room was upgraded. It was extremely spacious with a large sitting area including two chairs and a large round table. Bed very comfortable. The Hotel itself seems a bit dated (dark wood paneling, somewhat dim lighting in the hallway which is triggered by a motion detector, old fashioned key for the door which you have to fiddle with to open. BUT, it was quaint and charming nevertheless. It even included a game room on the second floor with a ping pong table! Perhaps the highlight was the great information and directions and guidance we received from everyone at the front desk. In addition, the location was terrific for walking down the main street in town. It is 1/2 block from the quieter end of Avenue del Libertador Gral. San Martin. In one direction are all the shops and restaurants. In the other, a large supermarket. We really liked our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SCLESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

After a terrible experience at the hostel nextdoor, the friendly staff greeted us with open arms at the Patagonia Queen. The staff are super friendly and would like you to enjoy your stay. The rooms are immaculate, and the bathrooms even have heated floors. The breakfast is very good, with plenty of options. They will make you eggs too upon request. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family, or anyone else staying in the area. Overall, we had a great experience and stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

it is a very modern hotel, the room has all the standard items (TV, AC, fridge, WiFI).

Hardwood floors all over the hotel, stone walls, very nice garden at back, I liked very much

Location is not far from the restaurants and shops, 5-10 min walk, but it is a very quiet place, I didn't hear anything at night.

Special thanks to Rafael, the Front desk guy, he was so friendly

Room Tip: Ask for the first foor, it doesn't have elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo303605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This hotel was included in our pre-planned trip. The staff was very friendly. We could walk to many restaurants and shopping. The room was comfortable and clean. We definitely recommend Patagonia Queen!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank boandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We arrived here after staying at hotels in Santiago and Buenos Aires that were much more "upmarket" compared with the more simple style of Patagonia Queen. But we really liked our stay here. The location is excellent, the staff were extremely helpful in organising for us to get on a tour to Perito Moreno Glacier at the very last minute and in organising for us to get to Torres del Paine - again at the last minute. This was really excellent service. The room was simple but everything you needed. The bar/common area was nice too and felt very homey. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,182 reviews
0.2 km away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
543 reviews
0.4 km away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
971 reviews
0.0 km away
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
Linda Vista Apart Hotel
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
534 reviews
0.9 km away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Queen

Address: Av Padre Agostini 49, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#16 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: $149 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patagonia Queen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capacity: 20 rooms in total. 16 double Lux rooms, 4 double Queen rooms (modifiable bedding double or triple). Location: Downtown. Services: Rooms with fine wood and porphyry Patagonia stone finishes, Patagonia Queen gives a feeling of comfort and warmth. All rooms are "non-smoking", and have heating, cable TV, Telephone, minibar, electronic safe, and a private bathroom equipped with a Jacuzzi. Services included: buffet breakfast, Internet/Wi-Fi, gym, game room (pool, table tennis and board games) and a reading corner. Additional services: massages, laundry service and wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Patagonia Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Queen El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing