We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in calafate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in calafate”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Eccellent hotel with a nice panorama confortable room and a very surprising excellent restaurant

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samegiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your review!!

We hope you can visit us next time!

Kind Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    311
    76
    19
    8
See reviews for
135
597
37
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

I would have rated it poor but to be fair I think I had high expectations based on the hotel website and photos and this should be read on that premise.
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and we got a room at the main building. The views were pretty impressive but that is all I can compliment so candidly.
The room looked quite tired, with the bathroom with broken tiles, the tub with brown stains and a telly that was modern in 1995. Further the heat was too high and cannot be controlled from the room and reception never got it down for us.
Breakfast was abundant but the first two mornings the milk for the cereals was off so put us off eating the rest (if you cannot get basics as fresh milk right...)
The shuttle did work and was useful as the hotel is quite off the town centre. Runs from 8 to midnight, but be careful as one night we called 11:50 and was not working anymore (though hotel is 5 min ride only)
Staff tried to be friendly but their English, though understandable, was not great. They could have advised the pick up from the airport was cash. Also the way in, charged by hotel is 25% more expensive.
My view is that value for money, this hotel should be cheaper. If it was not because you spend little time at the hotel and the scenery is amazing, these little details would have made a massive difference and ruin the trip entirely!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest!

Than you very much for your comments.
We regret some items you described, we have already talked with the hotel manager so he can work precisely on those !
We offer our apologies and expect you can come again some day .
Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at La Cantera only for two nights during our trip to Patagonia. The main purpose of staying in El Calafate was to visit the famous Perito Moreno glacier, hence such a short stay.

What an amazing place to come to after a day of trekking on the Viedma glacier (EL Chalten) and a 3 hours bus ride to El Calafate! We were met by a very friendly receptionist, who spoke excellent English. Check in was quick and easy. It was rather cold and rainy outside, so it was nice to get into a warm, modern and comfortable room with a view of the lake Argentina and have a bath with a salt from the bathroom set. The Wi Fi connection is quite strong and we could use our devices within a wide range from reception.

We had a pre-booked trip for a day trekking on the Perito Moreno glacier, so there was no need for us to organise anything at the hotel. However, receptionist has asked us if we needed any assistance and offered to arrange a lunch bag for the trekking.

Apart from the comfort and great view from the hotel, I was very impressed by the restaurant at the hotel. Since we arrived quite late, we didn’t expect anything fancy and were happy to get a sandwich and a hot drink. The girl at reception told us that its quite late and the food choice will be very limited. If only we knew what to expect from the super talented and friendly chef, Augustin! He asked us what we would like to eat and kindly offered to prepare something quick especially for us. Since pumpkin soup is a very popular dish in Patagonia and I tried it a few times while traveling there, I have never tasted anything like we were offered El Cantera. The food presentation was at its highest level, everything was fresh and tasty. By the end of our meal, Augustin offered us his ‘specialty’ basil sherbet. I can tell you now – I could easily go back just to taste that again :-) I even got a recipe from Augustin and may try to copy it at home.

The checkout, booking taxi to the airport and assistance with printing out our ferry tickets from Buenos Aires was efficient and very friendly. Apart from the basil sherbet, our stay at El Cantera has definitely left a very good taste for a long time. Should I go back to El Calafate – I would definitely stay at El Cantera and this time try to explore more of the city.

Room Tip: Forget about eating anywhere apart from the restaurant at El Cantera! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russguyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest !

Thank you for such a good and detailed description! A unique experience is or goal with every guest...
We expect you visit us again some time!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I realy enjoyed staying in this Hotel. I had a great room with a amazing big bed. Everything was very clean and the staff of the hotel were helpful. The Breakfast was excellent. The Hotel is more or less 12 Minuits from the City Center. But at 8pm till 12pm the hotel offers a Shuttel Service.

Form me it was difficult to leave, because I enjoyed my time there a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your reviews!!
We hope you can visit us next time,

Yours sincerelly
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our experience at La Cantera was great. The hosts and staff are extremely friendly and enjoy talking about your day with you. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only downfall was the water pressure of the shower was less than adequate, but other than that, everything was fine. Breakfast was excellent with most of the pastries and items being prepared right in the kitchen. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and the coffee was strong and fresh. Roberto was especially friendly, and he's the resident musician also. A great place to stay in El Calafate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisa F, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your reviews!!
We are glad you had a nice stay at La Cantera..
We hope you can visit us again!

Best Regards
La Cantera Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We liked this hotel for its stunning views over Lake Argentino - it also had a small restaurant that did fantastic food. The staff were very helpful and the foyer was spacious and comfortable if you wanted somewhere else to sit. It was only a few, walkable blocks from the town centre, although most excursions will collect you directly from the hotel anyway.
The only issue we had was that the room we had (L. Posadas) had underground heating, which we were unable to control in the room and which we had to ask the reception staff to turn up or down for us. Unfortunately, the room was incredibly warm most of the time and this caused a bit of trouble sleeping on a couple of nights. The only way to cool the room was to open a window which was large and opened up onto a ground floor level, so didn't feel very secure leaving it open.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our first visit to South America, and thus we weren't sure what to expect. But from the moment we arrived at La Cantera Hotel we felt very much "at home". The staff were extremely friendly, and helpful, and our room (3 adults) was very comfortable with adequate water pressure/hot water, and comfy beds. Breakfast service started at 6:00am, which was great for early morning starts, and offered an extensive selection of sweet & savory items.
The central lounge area was quite inviting. We enjoyed tea there on several occasions while using the internet (poor access in our room..Lago Roca), and leafing through the local books.
The staff is happy to arrange taxis for you, and advise regarding transportation questions.
There is a restaurant serving supper, but we chose to head into the town (we enjoyed La Lechuza), and outdoor lounge chairs on the sunny deck, where patrons can enjoy a beer after their days activities.
This hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town. The hotel does offer a free shuttle service into town (at certain hours), but the walk felt safe, and the hill at the end did not deter us, so we "hoofed it".

Room Tip: We could not access internet with our laptop in our room...Lago Roca
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justwannatravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,119 reviews
3.2 km away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#22 of 70 in El Calafate
991 reviews
1.0 km away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
1,242 reviews
2.8 km away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
975 reviews
2.5 km away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Property: La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing