We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Tango B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tango B&B
Ranked #20 of 48 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Friendly no frills good location. Very helpful with directions and touristic info. Nice view over the beagle channel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micbalda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Tango B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Overall, this was a good experience.

The views from the breakfast area of the Beagle Channel are excellent. The rooms are clean, but bare--just a bed, closet and 2 tables (we had a private room). If you aren't planning on spending time at the hotel (as we were), this is fine. However, when we returned from our day of hiking & in between dinner time, we were lacking in a place to relax within the hotel.

The hotel is located away from the main street of town, but is easily accessible by taxi (and should not cost more than 20 pesos --more likely around 15--to get to from town). Walking to town from the B&B is must easier, as it's all downhill.

We had a free tango show from the hosts on the 1st night of our arrival, complete with a welcome drink. It was really cozy to have a private music show of around 5 -6 tango songs. A very nice touch! They also provided us with a map of the town & several suggestions for dinner (though one of the places they did not seem wild about was one of our favorites)

My real complaint is the breakfast. For the price per night & knowing what the local prices are, I really wanted more out of my breakfast. Bread, medialunas (Argentinian croissants), coffee, tea and "juice" (I think made with powder and water) don't cut it for me. It's far too much bread. Yoghurt, meat, cheese and / or some fruit would be a very welcome addition--especially since there is a sign in the breakfast area stating guests are not allowed to bring their own food.

Value for the money: I have to vote this lower as the room is very basis & the breakfast is, too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BR2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed about three nights. It was quite expensive thought we did get the best room with a lovely view. There is only one room on the 2nd floor, and the whole area was kept for us. That was great.

The room is spacious and has a small bathroom. The hosts were very nice and helped us with bookings. They were quiet but on Tango Night, they seemed more open and relaxed. Raul talked about the history of Tango and played songs that were lovely.

The place was far from town. We didn't mind the walking, but it did get quite inconvenient when we had to go out to eat or to run a quick errand (especially hard when it was misty and windy).

Room Tip: Superior room is the best. You get the whole floor to yourself and a view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquepujol, Propietario at Tango B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

10 min walking distance to down town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We (3) stayed one night prior to an Antarctic cruise and then three nights following. The Tango show was excellent with loads of history provided by the hosts. They were friendly and offered many suggestions whenever we asked. I would definitely come back to this B&B should I make it back to Ushuaia!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We much enjoyed our room with a balcony and fantastic views of the bay of Usuhaia. An excellent evening of Tango music played by the owner and his help in arranging for our excursions were added pluses. The breakfast could have used some fruit. All in all, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorerein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Five of us stayed there for 2 nights prior to a trip to Antarctica. The owners re very nice, the place is convenient and the night we stayed there we got a wonderful concert on the accordian of tango music. Breakfast just OK. Rooms are great with wireless. Beautiful view from the main room and from a couple of the bedrooms. Owner very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgrosssanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

During our trip, we chose big hotels, smaller hotels and some B&B. Tango B&B was by far the worst hotel in my whole Argentinean stay. The hotel is around 10 blocks uphill from the city center. The hosts are very unfriendly. Staying in B&B means you have a room in someone else’s house. Tango B&B was exactly in: staying in SOMEONE ELSE’S house. We didn’t feel welcomed and was uncomfortable coming back to the room during the day (unfortunately we had rainy days in Ushuaia). There are no common rooms for guests (so you share all other rooms with the family). Therefore when you get at the B&B, you have no choice but to go in your room, otherwise you are with the hosts and they make you feel like you are disturbing them. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. High price for what we got. I am sure all hotels are better than this one, no matter the price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Slinky_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.3 km away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.8 km away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Ushuaia
704 reviews
0.5 km away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#8 of 51 in Ushuaia
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Cap Polonio
Hotel Cap Polonio
#12 of 51 in Ushuaia
877 reviews
0.6 km away
Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast  y Cabanas Aves del Sur
0.6 km away
Hotel De Los Andes
Hotel De Los Andes
#4 of 48 in Ushuaia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango B&B

Address: Gobernador Valdez 950, Ushuaia, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range: $132 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tango B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango B&B is exceptionally located just 7 blocks of the main street, and at 3 of the old city in the slope of Montes Martiales, which allows a panoramic view to the Bay of Ushuaia. In the house: Accordion tango lessons and the Argentine music, specially designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Tango B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing