We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property that is worth the journey”
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Manteles
Ranked #1 of 51 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The long, winding road of questionable integrity that must be travelled to reach the Hacienda Manteles should not deter a guest from staying at this charming property. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and welcome. The gracious host and staff members were very friendly and helpful. The lovely rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated in a traditional rustic and modern fusion style. We particularly enjoyed the comfortable seating area with a fireplace outside our room that allowed us to socialize with new friends we met on our tour. There were varied opinions on the dinner offerings the night we were there, but breakfast was highly received. Our only regret, alas one of which the Hacienda Manteles has no control, was that it was overcast during our entire stay and we knew that we were missing potentially spectacular views of the adjacent volcano. We would have loved to been able to stay longer and explore this very interesting region and hope to return for a longer stay in the future.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ecoaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at Manteles last week. It was by far the nicest place we stayed in 4 weeks of traveling in Peru and Ecuador. Firstly we were the only guests and were treated royally by the owner, Cesar, who is a perfect gentleman and very willing to please. The rooms were beautiful with huge, modern bathrooms. Our bed was incredibly comfortable. Cesar had their German volunteer take us for a walk up to the waterfall which was fantastic, trudging through the river, dogs in tow. We loved it. The views of the volcano are spectacular. Dinner was good, and altogether we felt it was a perfect place for a family to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This out of the way Hacienda in the Garden of Eden should have everything going for it The views, helpful staff and a nicely built home. The truth is that after a tough day out all you need is good food and a comfy bed. But everything was the opposite. An uncomfortable bed that bowed in the middle. (Even after a complaint to the management, the next night the bed was just as bad). The soup, the main course, all cold. Nobody on our table ate much as it was all sent back to the kitchen. Particularly inedible was the main course of smoked pork chop. Especially not well recived as we had asked if it was fresh - in fact it was the processed kind available in any supermarket. Finally, the hot apple turnover as a desert. Thank goodness we could eat somthing. Shared communual computer - no wi-fi. Rooms cold - heater struggled
Hoped for something better on the second night - but again - all under par - all in all very disapointing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaManteles, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for sharing with us your experiences at Hacienda Manteles, they help us improve in every sense day by day.

We will continue working hard to make the stay of our dear guests a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was delightful! In the building we stayed in ,we had a separate living space with a fireplace and wonderful view of the volcano. The owner was extremely hospitable, educated and a conservationist.

The food served here was the absolute best on this Ecuador trip - breakfast was made to order and dinner melted in your mouth - delicous tilapia.

I would love to return but will stay for 4 days or more - wonderful place to relax!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tongatapu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Hacienda Manteles exceeded our expectations for comfort and for pleasure. We enjoyed the gardens with a view of the amazing Volcan Tungurahua. Our friends' children played from dawn to dusk with other kids who were at the Hacienda because it was Carnaval. Santiago attended to every detail -- from a picnic lunch outside when we arrived to an apology for the brief power outage that occurred on the first evening. César, the owner, joined us for at least one meal every day. The food was good but a little short on vegetables. The horseback riding was a pleasure for the children. The waterfall hikes were very enjoyable. The hummingbirds were a pleasure to watch at every meal. Don't miss the Hacienda -- it is a wonderful place to relax whether with or without children. We will be back to Manteles every year (since we are in Ecuador every year)!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtlEdmontonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We were the only guests and got very personal service from the manager, Santiago, who arranged our tours and acted as our guide on a bike ride, hikes, hot springs visit, city tour, and rafting.
The hacienda was very comfortable, nicely decorated, beautifully landscaped. Included breakfasts and dinners were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0llyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed in Hacienda for 2 nights, unfortunately it was raining for one of the days and walking from the annexes to the main house for dinner, drinks etc was a pain due to mud and getting wet, although the rooms we slept in were very nice with comfotable beds and a lovely hot shower.

The main house was very beautiful and the sitting room next to the fire reading a book was bliss. The food and service was good, although one of the new starters did forget our drinks when we were having our meal.

Banos was further away from the complex then we thought it would be, which was a good 20 minute drive.

Maria Clara is what really makes this a great place to stay, she was very helpful and has a really nice and friendly nature. The longer you stay at the complex the more it grows on you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distant_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
10.9 km away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
223 reviews
11.5 km away
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA
11.3 km away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#13 of 27 in Banos
120 reviews
11.3 km away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
10.5 km away
Destiny Hotel
Destiny Hotel
#15 of 27 in Banos
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range: $111 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Manteles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Banos and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a 'must see' during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing