We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kohl's Ranch Lodge(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Payson(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Payson(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$84
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Mountain Inn(Payson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rim Country Inn(Payson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
9
8
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
8
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

This was the third time in the "Big Cabin 5bedrooms 4 baths. Beautiful views! Cozy rooms, large great room to hang out and play cards(table and Cards provided) . Depending on the time of year you visit, very nice fireplace to huddle up by-- free bag of wood per night , per stay. Our kids enjoy running around the property, however playground could be updated. It was questionable, structurally (if you have older kids 9- 13). We liked the modern kitchen to cook, instead of driving to town, and eating out, bring all your food, the free propane grill works , but needs to be updated,as well. Thomas and his wife )it escaped me, sorry)Take care of everthing to take care of you. Our family visits quite often for the location, We love to fish and do fair on the trout. Bear Creek , Woods Canyon and last but not least, Willow spring / canyon.. Easy to get get to shortest drive from the major highway.

Bottom line,.. Great rate---season---to season rates fluctuating...Still state the easiest way to find them , mile marker 274 Just pass mile marker274☀️ 1:4 mile on the left... Then to left On Hunters Creek Road
Edit: Hc
Thomas awesome ....................big cabin need improvement... I spent a little time up hill or something smaller If needed , they have bungalow's
up hill and looks nice

Stayed: August 2016
Thank domz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

This was our first stay at the Wooden Nickel Cabins, and we were immediately impressed with how courteous, friendly, and accommodating they were. First and foremost, there was A/C in the cabin, which was a welcome relief from the 99 degree temps that hit the rim this weekend. Also, these were the cleanest accommodations we have stayed in near the creek. Each patio has a grill, which did the job for the Rainbow Trout the kids caught down the street, and the girls enjoyed the playground and the cattle roaming around the property. Tip: Call them directly instead of booking on AirBNB which charges a service fee. Also, if you pay in cash when you check out, they will give you a small discount.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TLBPsyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

I called Thomas a few weeks back and spoke to him about a cabin. He was so friendly on the phone and after seeing pics online, I knew this was a beautiful Cabin for my wife,little dog (Annie) and myself to chill out and escape the heat of Phoenix.

When we arrived on Friday, the area is so beautiful and the cabins were perfect. We checked in and saw Thomas and he was still so very friendly and we stayed in The Butch Cassidy Cabin. There are 5 cabins and one large house to rent out. The 5 all have 2 bedrooms, one downstairs and 1 Upstairs,loft. The front porch has a swing and a few chairs. It was adorable, with everything you need for your stay. Very clean and beautifully decorated.

They give you firewood for 1 night to have a fire in their fire-pit out back, which is outside your bedroom with a pick-nick table . You can BBQ, and sit around the fire-pit and smell the pine all around you. If you have kids, they have a play area to keep them busy. My wife and I hiked a little around the property which is so well taken care of. Christopher Creek is down the road, as are some places to eat and go hiking. There is also a Convenience Store close by.

I highly recommend Wooden Nickel Cabins, and we can't wait to go back and hopefully stay longer the next time. The staff are amazing and so friendly. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mdkcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

The Wooden Nickel is a fabulous place and has 6 cabins fairly close together however each cabin is nicely appointed you will need to bring your own seasonings and some utensils. However don't bring any extra blankets because they have so many blankets and comforters to keep you warm. There is a nice little fireplace in the living room. Its not a wood burning fireplace however outback on your patio you will have a charcoal grill and you will have a real wood fire pit so if you feel the need to get your fire on you can do so. The cabins back up to the forest so nothing is behind you except for natural beauty and hiking and exploring. A fantastic feature of the Wooden Nickel cabins they're pet friendly! please note the cabins are two floors and the animals are not allowed in the loft area so the first floor is relatively small so if you have large breed dogs and you have more than two its going to be a tight squeeze if you have more than one couple in a cabin & dogs. For us it was just the two of us and two dogs more than enough room worked out perfectly the dogs had a blast we had a blast we were very comfortable we were greeted very warmly and the place was very clean and nicely appointed I would highly recommend it for a weekend getaway.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2015

We were looking for a moderate altitude (about 5,700 ft) place for a 3 day stay to escape the Phoenix heat. Needed to go hiking with my pooch and just veg out. My wife isn't in to hiking so she loaded up her kindle. There are five cabins, each with a different name, but nearly identical... a BR downstairs and another bed in the small loft. The "kitchen" is small but adequate for a few days. It has a big screen TV with dish network. We used the AC during the afternoons when it reached high 80s. Bring paper plates and utensils because the ones provided/needed are either well worn or not there. Gas barbeques are just outside. The cabin was clean and comfy. Kelli, the manager, was very interested in our comfort and eager to help.

We used the balcony in the front of the cabin and our dog loved it. We used a folding wire barrier and some bungie cords to block off the entrance so she could be "loose" and not wander.

There are plenty of hiking trails. Don't miss the rim trails (7 miles east) and the See Canyon trail nearby. There are two "country" diners very close in Christopher Creek. So don't bring too much food.

Room Tip: all the cabins are the same
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tvlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews