We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see!!”

Desert Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 187 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the tranquil vibrancy of desert plants nestled amid the red rocks of the Papago Buttes. Visitors can stroll through five thematic trails to explore the fascinating beauty of the Sonoran Desert, from towering cacti and alluring succulents to brilliant wildflowers and lush trees. Scroll through the Garden's calendar so not to miss festive events and dazzling exhibitions. Delve deeper to learn about desert landscaping, nature art, cooking and wellness and more through the Garden's various adult and children's classes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 4, 2018

What a great place! There is so much to see and enjoy. Wear comfortable walking shoes & bring a camera & water.
I particularly liked the Butterfly House - watching so many colorful butterflies flitting around.
Best to arrive in the morning if it’s going to be a hot day.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DownEast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"butterfly exhibit"
in 367 reviews
"chihuly glass"
in 131 reviews
"quail"
in 205 reviews
"light show"
in 137 reviews
"native plants"
in 84 reviews
"plant life"
in 162 reviews
"special events"
in 135 reviews
"gift shop"
in 266 reviews
"phoenix area"
in 204 reviews
"visiting phoenix"
in 89 reviews
"bring water"
in 80 reviews
"butterflies"
in 348 reviews
"bloom"
in 489 reviews
"desert"
in 1,957 reviews
"succulents"
in 176 reviews
"paths"
in 531 reviews
"luminaries"
in 171 reviews
Filter

455 - 459 of 7,693 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We are used to the greatest and oldest museums of the country, The Museum of Musical Instruments will provide totally different experience. You can listen to the instrument, try it and learn about it at the same time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Sukhrob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Maybe because I live here and see this stuff all the time, I'm not as freaked out about the place. But my sister is from out of state and rants-and-raves about it. Some temporary exhibits, like Chihuly glass, are definitely worth going to see. It seems like they frequently have something going on. And I have gone back to the gift shop to buy things as gifts. (What a concept!)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CactusGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Coming from the Chicago area, we felt as if we were on a different planet as we explored the varieties of cacti and other desert plants. We also spotted a roadrunner and some quail. Very cool. The butterfly exhibit was included in the price - it was nice, although we found the butterflies at the St. Louis Zoo to be more impressive. We stayed for 2.5 hours and did not see it all.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank chgomom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Excellent family event. Very well organized. A little difficult to traverse for older individuals (with a walking limitation). However they do offer electric carts. I got one for my Mom and she really enjoyed her evening.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Annilopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing