We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This location has shut down”

Sterling International Hotels
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sterling International Hotels
Ranked #155 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for a few weeks. Service was mediocre. Some of the staff were nice, not the manager, who could never be hired in a similar position at a major chain hotel. I changed rooms 4 times in four weeks; none of the rooms were perfect. Clientele: low-income people and a handful of travelers. There was a major fire in the business behind the property which damaged a few rooms; location shut down some days later unexpectedly. I would be VERY surprised if they even bother to reopen. Visitors to Phoenix flying in: if you need an "airport" property please consider a location in Tempe, and stay with a major name brand.

Room Tip: Outside of downtown, avoid Van Buren Street or anywhere south of Camelback
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Was going to stay a week. Good thing I payed for one damn night. TV sucked. Beds sucked. The worst was the front desk clerk.Black lady. Rude. Said they had no other rooms to change us too. Then kept renting out rooms. We had a two year old boy that watches TV for entertainment. No phones. No towel racks in bathroom. Dirty carpets. Old pillows and sheets. Smoke filled room. Shady area and people. DO NOT STAY HERE unless your a drug addict...will never stay again. No refunds because most probably ask for refunds...Nasty!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesintahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

please don't go to this terrible motel the beds are not queen size even if they day they are. we were in 3 rooms until one worked. a dump, terrible staff. words do not do justice to how bad this place is to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homerrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

waiting for a flight in phx i needed a fast place to stay near airport. i chose this place. mistake.i arrived by cab. to start the staff was rude. the room was horrible. the carpet was half peeled up, there were holes in the walls, wiring was out, there was no phone in the room (safety hazard) it was filthy very difficult to sleep it was about the worst place i have ever stayed on a good note their is a great new restaurant connected to the lobby, very friendly and great food

another piece of advice dont venture too far from the location on foot

Room Tip: dont choose one keep going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pstearns8125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Took a trip to Phoenix for vacation/sightseeing and needed a inexpensive place to stay for a night before continuing my vacation. The staff was helpful, although not overly. The room was clean, but there was nothing special about it. I had no real issues or complaints about my stay, other than that the surrounding area was not exactly pleasant. For a one night, inexpensive, no frills attached place to stay, I can say that I was satisfied ...but there is room for improvement!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buniee311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had mistakenly not booked one night of our week long Spring Training vacation. We were in Tucson heading back to Phoenix and started stopping 50 miles from Phoenix to find a place. There was nothing to be had any where. My husband finally suggested we go to the seediest part of town and find a motel/hotel. This is where we landed. It was pretty awful but under the circumstances we were relieved. The ice machine was broken but under the circumstances I really needed a drink. Drove across the street (never walk here!) and got ice. Took my glassful and the desk clerk graciously accepted the rest of the 10 pound bag. I believe sleeping in the car would have been worse (but not sure) Still we will laugh about it many years from now.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Infrequenttraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

It was really bad .... I found rat excrement in the floor, bed and on the base of the air conditioning, also, many death insects in the bathroom. It should be closed by the health department.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hafniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#24 of 174 in Phoenix
2,068 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling International Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling International Hotels

Address: 124 S 24th St, Phoenix, AZ 85034-2537
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Howard Johnson Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sterling International Hotel Phoenix
Sterling International Hotels Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing