We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Went to Phoenix to attend NCAA Basketball Tournament at US Air Arena in downtown Phoenix. Didn't need fancy accommodations; just a no frills hotel or motel to sleep at, that was priced right, was clean, well run, and that was walking distance from the Arena. This motel was ideal for my needs and price range. Room was more than adequate for my needs, location was great, and price (with tax) was $80/night. Hotel manager was a nice guy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    316
    79
    10
    7
See reviews for
95
209
101
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very clean, comfortable room and the couple who managed the Inn were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I needed to stay a night in Phoenix. This hotel offered a good price for a beautiful room and they also offered an airport shuttle which was very important to me. Even though I missed my initial pick up because of a long line at customs. They made no problems at the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60971Jesper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

As a previous reviewer noted, this truly is a "diamond in the rough"! It's located in an area that appears a bit run-down but conversely, is also only a few blocks walk to downtown Phoenix with plentiful shops, restaurants, and bars. We felt very safe walking during daylight/dusk to downtown establishments and to do some sight seeing by foot. The general location of the hotel allowed easy access to I-10, downtown, and is not too far from spring training ballparks. I personally wouldn't go walking down VanBuren away from the downtown area too late at night but that said, I did not feel unsafe at all during our stay.

The room itself was great. Clean, modern decor, refrigerator, microwave, large flat-screen television, and free high speed wi-fi. Check in and out was a breeze. Sam was so accommodating and helpful!

Free airport shuttle was a major selling point for us when booking this hotel. The shuttle both ways went without a hitch, and we really appreciated this service of the hotel. Please note you need to arrange this shuttle ahead of time so keep this in mind when booking.

They do offer coffee and packaged pastry items, as well as some fruit, for breakfast in the check-in building.

Overall, it offered a clean, quiet stay with great service, and was extremely affordable. It's like a little-known secret in Phoenix that part of me is hesitant to share (so I can ensure availability for myself) but the other part of me wants to tell everyone about! :)

Would I return during my next trip to Phoenix? Without a doubt!

Room Tip: Choose a second-floor room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First time in Phoenix, chose the hotel based on other reviews and wasn't disappointed. Easy walking distance to US Airways Center and Chase Field, I was in town for a Suns game. Also within walking distance of Phoenix Center, City Hall and the downtown campus of ASU. Or the State Capitol in the opposite direction.

On a main route downtown (Van Buren Street). Safe and quiet neighborhood. Was provided a free room upgrade upon arrival, which was nice. The in room refrigerator and free WIFI is a plus. The free transport to and from the airport (call ahead to book) was prompt and courteous. This will definitely be the first accommodations I will look to book the next time I'm in Phoenix.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CManson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The brand name of the property is quite accurate. It is assuredly the best value for the money for a standard motel in Phoenix and I priced around its competitors quite a bit. Its location downtown is a good starting place for trips all over the Phoenix area. The surrounding area is somewhat derelict, however, we didn't have any problems while we were there. It was surprisingly quiet in the evening. We appreciated the microwave and little refrigerator found in each room. The parking area, it should be noted, is very tight. The double-lock on the door was very difficult to set. I had made reservations for two rooms on the first floor, however, the Patels said that my request was not in the computer and they could not accommodate my request. That would be corporate's fault, apparently. The TV remote control worked only occasionally. Despite these issues, I would still recommend the place. The concerns are things that can be easily remedied.

Room Tip: Call the property directly if you want a particular room or floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vatonorteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The place is clean and nicely furnished and done. Better than most places we have stayed at. But what really makes the place shine is Jessica and Sam, the managers of the place. They're genuinely friendly and helpful. It even feels like they genuinely like their jobs and their customers which is unusual and makes all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalvinConaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#3 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
Address: 424 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#24 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant, and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing