We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
112
4
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
4
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird room cowboy room kartchner caverns shuffleboard table mi casa san pedro kitchen items wonderful hosts gourmet breakfast southern az each room has its own cochise county jacuzzi tub three nights fresh fruit tombstone benson
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 120 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2017

We have been to many good B&B's. Down by the River is outstanding! The hosts are two unique people that are fun to visit with. The rooms are great and comfortable. The bird watching is great if that is your thing. Easy day trips to Bisbee, Tombstone, observatory, cave close by, and Tucson. My star gazing at night was wonderful. I could have stayed out all night. Great place, great value. I give Down by the River my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Each bed room is unique, all great.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravila837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryn C, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Thank you very much for this fantastic review. We run this place for people like you to come and enjoy and just let your worries fade away.
Hope to see you again Down by the River!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

The bed and breakfast is secluded and very quiet. Do not worry about the gravel road to the property; not a problem!! The breakfast is without question a 5 star ⭐️ experience!! The property was built as a bed and breakfast.
Yes we recommend this property!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee64SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. The owners welcomed us and made us feel at home. We watched the star-filled night come on, had a great night's sleep in the Bird Room, and an AMAZING breakfast of stuffed French Toast, potatoes, and pork chops. Darryn and Liz accomodated our every need. We loved it here!

Room Tip: If you love birds, you'll love the bird room, but all of the rooms have a charm and high appeal!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryF511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Stayed on a road trip to look at the caves. Chose down by the river based on proximity and reviews. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised. The host is wonderful, he is a fun entertaining person, The house is great and my room was superb. We met some outstanding people (there are 4 rooms) and had just a memorable time I hope you give it a try and think you will find it a true jewel.

Room Tip: stayed in the bird room, loved it. There are 4 and all are quite nice.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrillsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

We arrived at Down by the River and were met by Darryn and Liz who were warm and welcoming. The location is very quiet and while it seems out of the way itis very convenient to many tourist areas in southeastern AZ.

All the guest rooms are situated to maximize your privacy during your stay but easily accessible to the main gathering area of the home which is wonderful. Our room was large, equipped with all necessities for an enjoyable stay, extremely comfortable bed and a private patio with beautiful views. Darryn has set up a pleasant seating area by the San Pedro River for enjoying a good book, conversation or the quiet running of the steam.

For this review, we have saved the best for last. The breakfasts are incredibly delicious. Each morning we started with coffee and a smoothie and sat and chatted with Darryn and Liz as they prepared our breakfast.

We feel so fortunate to have found this wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the outside world.

Room Tip: All four rooms are spacious and have private patios. Each room has a different theme.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryn C, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Were so glad you came and spent some time with us here Down by the River.
And hope you will come back many times in the future now that were all "Friends"
Take Care...Darryn & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews