We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Must”
Review of Cafe Monarch

Cafe Monarch
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monarch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$65 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge. Our sommeliers taste wine weekly to ensure the best pairing for each course. *Reservation Only *Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated *Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Must”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Cafe Monarch was a tremendous experience. Chef Chris is a master - taking fresh ingredients and turning them into memorable, flavorful dishes. I eat out often, and am blessed to go all over the world as a meeting planner and quite frankly, the dinner with a group of friends was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. And it's BYOB! Cannot wait for my next meal, hear brunch is a treat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    57
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small digs, but a grand food experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Chef Chris is a one-man-band in this small, off the beaten track restaurant in Scottsdale, AZ. He preps, cooks and plates the dinners with help from a staff of three servers. We loved the meal: a tomato-based seafood soup, chock full of fish; salmon cooked to perfection with both a cherry and an orange chilipepper glaze; and finally, poached pear with a half round of brie, cranberries soaked in port, walnuts and huge cinnamon bunuelo. All delicious. It's a BYOB place, with a $10 corkage per bottle. The meal is a steal at $45 per person in Feb. 2012. They serve Cafe du Monde coffee - awesome. Get a table where the chef cooks and be entertained, just watching his show. There is also another larger room and an exquisite patio area where you can eat. Reservations a must, and scope the place before you go. We had difficulty finding it from the hotel's directions. Not to be missed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you want to do something different, a little departure from the cookie cutter restaurants or (gasp!) chain eateries this place is it. Located in old town Scottsdale, Cafe Monarch has an initimate eat in area that flanks an open kitchen where all of the magic happens. From your table you can watch Chef Christopher at work. This is indeed a unique experience, as he is hard at work you can't help but notice his eye and ear for detail...as he casually drifts in and out of conversations and doesn't seem to be bothered by the occasional question. However, the next time I visit, I will sit in the garden/patio area simply because it is lovely. The food is delicious with a fabulous presentation. The menu is written on a chalk board outside the entrance, there are teas (I tried the hibiscus-very good) and water for you to pour, and you may bring your own bottle(s) of wine...fabulous! He accepts cash only, has no website, and you need to phone ahead and leave a message for reservations, he will call you back. You might think his business practices very basic, but don't worry all of that extra energy is focused into preparing you a wonderful, memorable meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HH_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Cafe Monarch is an intimate restaurant with creative food prepared by the owner, Chris. He is very personable and comes around to visit with diners. We have been there three times and will definitely return!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ksb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We visitied with friends from out of town who had chosen Cafe Monarch based on aTripAdvisor reviews. We may try again and give it a second chance but the first time was not a 5 star occasion. The appetizers were innovative and very good. Beet with goat cheese and pea soup with lemon. However when our dinners arrived we were disappointed. The short ribs were excellent. Tasty, tender and a large portion. However the shrimp on polenta was disappointing. All three dishes served at our table were cool at best, the shrimp appeared to be undercooked (may have been the same night as an ealier review here describing the shirimp?) and although described as not spicy it definitely was. We asked the waiter to have the shrimp heated up and the chef/owner showed up about 5 minutes later to chastize us and say that it was impossible for them to be cold. When our bill came they had reduced the price by $10 for the three shipmp entrees but it was not a professional display by the owner/chef. My wife and I think that we will give the restaurant a second chance based on all the great reviews as well as the potential that we saw. but overall the first time was only fair at best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSB461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Monarch also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing