We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel with Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid Hotel with Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

It was such a wonderful experence. It was just too short of our stay. From the moment we were greeted at the gate, to the seamless checking-in with the ambassador and the whole stay at the resort, everything was just perfect. We were upgraded to a spacious suite with two balconies with gorgeous golf view. Kids enjoyed the culinary artwork of gingerbread house with training running at the phoenician. Great thanks to our ambassador Tony and the staff for accomodating us with excellent service! We are looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    29
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
106
178
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We loved it. The Canyon Suites are part of the Phoenician resort but separate enough to add another level of comfort. The property is situated right up against Camelback mountain so the setting is quite dramatic. The pool and hot tub are located actually between the building and the mountain which makes for a much more serene setting than at the hotel where the mountains are partially obscured by the building. The rooms have sort of an older, retro, Palm Springs feel but not in a bad way. You expect to run into Dorris Day or Dean Martin holding a martini. Rooms were spotless and every detail was perfect down to the tile grouting and trim finish. Very quiet. Easy parking (not sure why valet park when self park is so easy). Fitness center is a 5 minute walk but quite enjoyable. We were told that we could be driven there in a golf cart or "the Mercedes". Seriously?
Whether this property is a SPG 6 is arguable. We feel that it is and we've stayed at SPG properties all over the world. The problem is that the standard varies from place to place. It is possible to stay in a SPG level 5 that is as nice as this property but then there are plenty of 6's out there that don't come close to this place. Bottom line is that it is hard for me to imagine anyone having a problem with this property. But then I have seen people who can find fault with anything and it seems as though it is their mission in life to seek these faults out and turn them into major hardships. We choose to relax at this beautiful place and wish we didn't have to leave.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors. Perhaps upper floor gives better view but arguable. All rooms face north, up against...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed the more exclusive, intimate setting of The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician! Thank you for sharing your comments. As Arizona's only AAA Five Diamond boutique resort-within-a-resort, the property is designed to provide a more personalized, private experience, yet with access to all of the amenities and services of The Phoenician. At only 60 rooms (40 of which are suites), The Canyon Suites offers accommodations that are much more residential in feel, with views of either the infinity pool and Camelback Mountain; or The Phoenician's championship golf course and dramatic vistas beyond. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed for free using some SPG awards that were about to expire.

Given a room with 2 double beds, despite requesting a king. Tried to check in at noon -- was told to wait -- but they would call my cell. At 2PM, they called my cell -- said room was ready.

When I went into the room, the maids had just started to clean. Front desk was clueless.

Several times, when I returned with my car -- no valet on duty, no clerks at the front desk.

Service was spotty and sketchy. Hotel was fine -- but not a SPG level 6.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We just returned from 4 days at the Canyon Suites at The Phoenician in Scottsdale, AZ. it was luxury from the minute we walked into the beautiful Lobby and greeted by an Ambassador. Our suite was like a small apartment with a large balcony, living room, 3 tvs, separate bedroom with King bed, 1.5 baths. Just wonderful. The Lobby was not only gorgeous but we were greeted with a wine tasting when we arrived and coffee and fruit each morning. We golfed at The Phoenician and it was fantastic. We ate at several of the restaurants on property and enjoyed each one. There was no need to leave the property. The staff was perhaps the best of any we have ever experienced. Our requests were always fulfilled and they were friendly and fun. This was the best experience we have had in any resort property we have ever stayed. Cannot recommend it higher!

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf course/city side have stunning views. We had a pool side room that looked at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here on an award stay for two nights while in town for a wedding. The property was beautiful, the staff were phenomenal, and the rooms were very nice. Being offered the Sunday Times as a newspaper choice is one mark of a great resort property. I noted just a couple things that could stand improving:
1. Our screen door was literally off the tracks and impossible to open or close.
2. I think they could stand to be a little more judicious with the car service. I understand that there aren't a lot of places to go other than the mall and the Camelback trail head, but even the car service at a number of W hotels will take you anywhere within some radius.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hands down the nicest resort I have ever been too. Our suite was simply stunning and the service was second to none. My wife and I brought our young children and the staff treated them like family. The grounds and the pool were beautiful and the hot tub is the perfect place to watch the sunset. The morning coffee and afternoon wine tasting were a delightful treat. We did not want to leave the resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the moment you are greeted at the door by you own personal canyon executive you are about to experience a vacation you will treasure forever, and you will want to return for more I promise. Your car will be valet parked for free and when you need it back just call beforhand when it will be sitting waiting on you when you get to reception. The pool area is serene to say the least, with your very own attendant for anything you require, whether it be food, Iced water or alchoholic beverages you name it. The rooms are extra special too large and comfortable. The reception area is unbelievable, marble tiles and comfortable sofas with iced drinks and coffee available too along with fresh fruit. A little bit more expensive than the main hotel but much much worth it for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. The Canyon Suites ambassadors are dedicated to creating a guest experience that reaches beyond expectation to deliver the exceptional. Our goal is to provide the luxury amenities and services our guests have come to expect, complemented by a warm, rich ambiance that feels like home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Property: The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Address: 6000 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician is Arizona's premier AAA Five Diamond, Forbes Five Star resort destination. Guests enjoy a daily, complimentary artisan breakfast, a private infinity pool, chauffeured transportation throughout the resort and to nearby shopping areas, as well as priority dining reservations on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing