We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess(Scottsdale)
US$349
US$314
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$177
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Palms Hotel(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scott Resort & Spa(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$420
US$339
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$563
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
397
30
15
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
30
15
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamelback mountainthe main hotelgolf courseprivate poolthirsty camelhalf bathcoffee servicemoment you arrivejg steakhouseone bedroom suitepool attendantil terrazzogolf cart rideturn down serviceeach morninglarge balconyspecial shout
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We loved it. The Canyon Suites are part of the Phoenician resort but separate enough to add another level of comfort. The property is situated right up against Camelback mountain so the setting is quite dramatic. The pool and hot tub are located actually between the building and the mountain which makes for a much more serene setting than at the hotel where the mountains are partially obscured by the building. The rooms have sort of an older, retro, Palm Springs feel but not in a bad way. You expect to run into Dorris Day or Dean Martin holding a martini. Rooms were spotless and every detail was perfect down to the tile grouting and trim finish. Very quiet. Easy parking (not sure why valet park when self park is so easy). Fitness center is a 5 minute walk but quite enjoyable. We were told that we could be driven there in a golf cart or "the Mercedes". Seriously?
Whether this property is a SPG 6 is arguable. We feel that it is and we've stayed at SPG properties all over the world. The problem is that the standard varies from place to place. It is possible to stay in a SPG level 5 that is as nice as this property but then there are plenty of 6's out there that don't come close to this place. Bottom line is that it is hard for me to imagine anyone having a problem with this property. But then I have seen people who can find fault with anything and it seems as though it is their mission in life to seek these faults out and turn them into major hardships. We choose to relax at this beautiful place and wish we didn't have to leave.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors. Perhaps upper floor gives better view but arguable. All rooms face north, up against the mtn so light, especially in the morning, is limited. If you are into getting up early make sure your curtains are open.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

We're so pleased you enjoyed the more exclusive, intimate setting of The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician! Thank you for sharing your comments. As Arizona's only AAA Five Diamond boutique resort-within-a-resort, the property is designed to provide a more personalized, private experience, yet with access to all of the amenities and services of The Phoenician. At only 60 rooms (40 of which are suites), The Canyon Suites offers accommodations that are much more residential in feel, with views of either the infinity pool and Camelback Mountain; or The Phoenician's championship golf course and dramatic vistas beyond. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed for free using some SPG awards that were about to expire.

Given a room with 2 double beds, despite requesting a king. Tried to check in at noon -- was told to wait -- but they would call my cell. At 2PM, they called my cell -- said room was ready.

When I went into the room, the maids had just started to clean. Front desk was clueless.

Several times, when I returned with my car -- no valet on duty, no clerks at the front desk.

Service was spotty and sketchy. Hotel was fine -- but not a SPG level 6.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We just returned from 4 days at the Canyon Suites at The Phoenician in Scottsdale, AZ. it was luxury from the minute we walked into the beautiful Lobby and greeted by an Ambassador. Our suite was like a small apartment with a large balcony, living room, 3 tvs, separate bedroom with King bed, 1.5 baths. Just wonderful. The Lobby was not only gorgeous but we were greeted with a wine tasting when we arrived and coffee and fruit each morning. We golfed at The Phoenician and it was fantastic. We ate at several of the restaurants on property and enjoyed each one. There was no need to leave the property. The staff was perhaps the best of any we have ever experienced. Our requests were always fulfilled and they were friendly and fun. This was the best experience we have had in any resort property we have ever stayed. Cannot recommend it higher!

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf course/city side have stunning views. We had a pool side room that looked at the mountain - would have preferred the golf course side. Not sure of the difference in the rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here on an award stay for two nights while in town for a wedding. The property was beautiful, the staff were phenomenal, and the rooms were very nice. Being offered the Sunday Times as a newspaper choice is one mark of a great resort property. I noted just a couple things that could stand improving:
1. Our screen door was literally off the tracks and impossible to open or close.
2. I think they could stand to be a little more judicious with the car service. I understand that there aren't a lot of places to go other than the mall and the Camelback trail head, but even the car service at a number of W hotels will take you anywhere within some radius.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphaFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Hands down the nicest resort I have ever been too. Our suite was simply stunning and the service was second to none. My wife and I brought our young children and the staff treated them like family. The grounds and the pool were beautiful and the hot tub is the perfect place to watch the sunset. The morning coffee and afternoon wine tasting were a delightful treat. We did not want to leave the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 730JohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews