We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Herb Box

The Herb Box
Reserve with OpenTable
The Herb Box is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: Scottsdale Road
Description: Not since college have herbs been so popular - catering | eatery | market - Scottsdale, AZ
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The service was average. The food was excellent. It is a vegetarian restaurant, but it had something for everyone. The short rib tacos were wonderful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    110
    26
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
405 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Healthy, delicious food in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Arizonans love to eat outdoors. While the weather is perfect like it is now, The Herb Box outdoor patio is among the most enjoyable places in the valley to dine. Partially covered with large umbrellas, enough sun came through so those who wanted sun had it, and those who preferred the shade had shade.

They offer Gypsy Soup of the Moment. Intriguing name. This day, it was a chicken based clear broth with chicken, orzo and spinach. It was a wonderful starter! i asked for a cup and the little bowl they brought was a surprisingly large serving. i followed with their macaroni and cheese, thinking how wonderful it would be since it featured smoked Gouda and breadcrumbs. This was an amazing combination of delicate pasta, creamy cheese and that distinctive smoked flavor. i am sad to say that my bowl was empty way too soon as i simply could not resist digging back in for another bite. The portion was large, but my appetite for it was impossible to slow

For gluten free dining, my wife enjoyed their house specialty, butternut squash enchiladas with corn. Nice size serving that filled her . Delicious enchilada--easy to see why this is a favorite with patrons.

We had very good service, excellent food, and a very enjoyable afternoon in the Arizona sunshine. The setting and surroundings make this a very enjoyable place to dine. The patio and indoor dining area were nearly full when we arrived and both were still full when we were ready to depart a couple of hours later--they certainly don't lack for patrons eager to enjoy their food and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bright flavors served well in a just right atmosphere...”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I had lunch at both Scottsdale locations of the Herb Box with friends and we were all very impressed and can't wait to go back! All together, we tried eight different items on the menus and were very happy with each choice. Their salads are all so brightly flavored that each bite is a treat--saving the best bite for last became a challenge! The "rouge salad," served with the grilled petite fromage was delicious with dates in it and the market sunflower salad included unusually intense bites of dried blueberries and strawberries. The sweet potato tacos were a wonderful vegetarian offering and the Thai baby back ribs were something I'd love to try duplicating at home--along with the rest of the menu! The atmosphere strikes a nice balance between cozy and trendy and the service couldn't have been better. We sat inside at each restaurant and were very comfortable, with a noise level that was convivial, but not so much so that normal conversation was at all difficult. In all, I very much wish that I lived close by--I'm sure it would be my favorite choice for dining out! Their menu is available on line at www.theherbbox.com, should you want to peruse it. While not cheap, I felt that the prices were well justified, given the quality of the ingredients, the way they were creatively used and the fact that they are locally sourced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cali4niafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“DC Ranch Herb Box - Better Than Most”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Ate here with 5 other friends on St. Patrick's Day evening. They will only take reservations for 6 or more. Table was ready at reservation time. The restaurant wasn't overly crowded and there didn't seem to be a wait for those without reservations. The sunflower salad was outstanding with strawberries and blueberries. I would just eat that if nothing else. We also had the maple glazed salmon which was outstanding. My wife had the squash stuffed enchiladas, very southwest and full of flavor. The bread puddibg dessert was good but the oatmeal/Carmel cookies left a little to be desired. The wine list is good and a reasonably good wine goes for around $35. Service was fantastic and the food was served at proper temperature, water always refilled and wine service was quick and efficient. We would go back here at any time and would highly suggest this restaurant to friends. One of the best dining experiences we have had in Scottsdale(and this us the busy, touristy time of the year). Go and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Who knew Brussel Sprouts could be so good?”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We first went to The Herb Box in old town for lunch. We ordered tuna salad, and flat bread with brussel sprouts and pancetta. The flat bread was more like a thin crust pizza with pecorino cheese. My partner who does not like brussel sprouts loved it. Her tuna salad, which we originally thought was going to be a tuna salad sandwich, but was instead a salad, had arugula in it with a lemon dressing - and no mayo. Both were delicious and we'd order it again.

We came back for dinner on Valentine's day night - without a reservation. We were given the option to sit at the bar, sit at a high top table near the bar or sit outside. Since it was freezing cold outside, we took the high top near the bar. We decided to split the thai BBQ baby back ribs which came with slaw and gouda mac 'n cheese We also ordered a side of brussel sprout hash. It was all very tasty. The wine was good. The bartender who served us was attentive and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Its a little pricey, but the waiter didn't flinch when we asked to share a plate. If we return to Scottsdale, we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Herb Box also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Herb Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing