We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relaxation!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

What a great stay at the Sheraton. There were a few hiccups at first (a leaky tub, the furnace being worked on and hair on my linens), but everything was addressed within 10 minutes of reporting it. Our room was huge! It was like staying in our very own vacation apartment. We had all full size appliances, a jetted tub in the master bedroom with an extremely comfortable king bed and squishy pillows. The bathroom had 2 sinks and 2 shower heads in the shower. I'm only 4'10 so that was perfect for me. I think it's meant to accommodate a shower bench for someone with a disability. (The shower head is removable.) We had a decent size living room and dining room. It was only the 2 of us so we were happy.

Our first morning in we woke up early and headed down to the large pool. It was wonderful to be somewhere and actually enjoy the pool. The unique shape made it feel like you were in your own space even if there were a lot of people around. I enjoyed the Splash breakfast from the little on site eatery. Yum! The mozzerella sticks I had for dinner however, tasted frozen. I was sick and on medication while visiting so I did not get to enjoy all the delicious looking smoothies like the pina colada. Maybe next time. :-D

The landscaping is well kept up and very clean. I enjoyed the hidden hot tub through the waterfall. Inside the main building you will find a neat little gift shop. A gift shop in a hotel?! I got some beautiful new sandals for me and a hysterical t-shirt for my husband.

I think the comfort of this hotel while I was sick really made a difference on my trip. We are planning a 2nd trip out to AZ in a year or 2 and plan to come back for sure.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk up quite a bit of steps if you don't ask for a first floor. I didn't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLR-D29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
It sounds like you had a great stay! You'll have to be sure to back here in a year or two and be able to try some of our signature drinks! It doesn't feel like a vacation until you're enjoying a tropical beverage poolside!

You really got out and about to discover every nook and cranny of our resort! Our fabulous room amenities (love that jetted tub) to Splash our poolside grill, the Prickly Pear Gift Shop and everything in between!

We're awaiting your call to book your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    314
    73
    24
    14
See reviews for
302
381
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had four lock-off units (500 sq. ft.) booked for one week--VERY CRAMPED. Units are clean, very well decorated and equipped, although oddly laid out and do not accommodate four persons comfortably. I felt like I was living in a Rubik's Cube--only one person could move at a time. These units are more like a suites hotel room (bed with sofabed) vs. 'resort'. Sofabed sleep quality is poor. Mid-week cleanning is dropping off linens, but they do not clean or make up beds. Staff politely declined if they were asked to change bedding or clean room, stating, the resort's policy prevents them from provding those services. Overall, we were disappointed with our stay, since not even the min. of mid-week cleaning was provided. Kitchen has small diswasher and all rooms have stackable laundry with soap provided, which is nice. Vacuum, broom and dust pan are also provided. Pool area is not large enough to accommodate guests on property--lounge chairs or tables were unavailable until late in the evening. There is no restaurant on site, except the pool snack bar and the unit has only a 2 burner portable unit, so one is forced to drive to eat off site. Grocery stores, shopping and restaurants are within 5 miles. Golf is close by. Our party would not stay here again and would instead stay at a 'real resort' with more services on site.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We would like to apologize that you didn't seem to enjoy your stay. We can understand that sometimes our guests want the type of resort with 24 hour room service and spa treatments that we do not have available onsite.
You are correct that the small one bedroom is 500 sq feet, so fitting the maximum occupants (4 people) is not always a luxurious accomodation. We wish you would have mentioned the discomfort of the sofa bed while with us. We could have been happy to try a new mattress, or additional bedding to ensure a peaceful nights sleep.

Depending how you booked, (timeshare vs nightly) would determine the type of housekeeping you recieved. It sounds as though you were with us on a timeshare exchange, meaning there is no daily housekeeping, however replenshment is available per request. (Addtional fees would only apply if you want the actual service of changing linens, new ones delivered are always complimentary to all our guests along with any addtional amenities.)

We invite you back to stay and perhaps try our premium one bedroom that is 800 square feet which provides that need of extra space you so desired and a full range/stove top to assist with dinner options.

Thank you once again, for taking the time to share, we do hope that you return and you are able to discover our oasis once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I recently brought my three girls and stayed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis. Pulling up to the resort it was noticeable that the grounds were well tended to. The lobby, which greets you with a wall water fixture, matched the exterior and had nice decor.
The front desk staff was welcoming upon check-in. Our room was beautiful! We were in a one bedroom premium villa. Perfect for my children and I. The kitchen was well appointed with an updated stove and microwave. While the dining room seemed slightly cramped the large homey feel of the living room made up for it.
The two fireplaces were a nice touch, as well as the Bose system in the living room. It was also nice to have a balcony with a table and chairs. Of course the large king bed, in room Jacuzzi (which all 4 of us fit in), double vanity and double shower head were added bonuses!
The pool is large, just be sure to set an alarm and get out there by 9am for choice of seat. The staff was nice and the best part was the prices for food at Splash Grill were cheaper than expected and the nachos are delicious!
The resort also has daily activities for adults and children. We took advantage of the Disney movie in the clubhouse and ice cream social.
I would definitely recommend the Sheraton Desert Oasis, especially for families. We will be back! Thank you for a great family vacation experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thasassynclassy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Im sure this is a great place to stay for vacation, but as a business traveler this was not a good choice. The rooms were clean though oddly laid out. The kitchen was nice but of no use to me as a business traveler. Room service is not available if you fly in late or need to leave early. I didn't see anywhere to eat on the property and without a car (my case) youre hosed. I should have done more research but just assumed it would be your standard Sheraton. Whoops!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is my second time staying here and it again surpassed my expectations. I recently purchased a two bedroom lock off here given how much we enjoyed our first stay in a premium 1 bedroom condo. The two bedroom was fantastic in everyday and perfect for a family or two families or couples. The units are completely fully equipped with everything and more you need for a fantastic stay. The units were in near perfect near new condition as were the furniture and extremely comfortable beds with premium quality sheets and duvets. Always nice to have washer and dryer in unit along with two fully equipped and newer kitchens. Coffee and soap for washing machine is complimentary which is a nice touch as is the complimentary pool towel service. Both units had new large flat screen tvs in the master bedrooms and living rooms along with DVD players. Bed could be the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom facilities are large and nicely finished with double shower heads, which is fantastic! The fireplaces in living room and master bedroom in the premium unit are also very nice. There is ample storage and closet space for your clothing and luggage as well. Both of the pools are outstanding as is the waterfall, splash park and big grotto hot tub in the bigger main pool. He poolside restaurant and bar serves some decent drinks and grindz for reasonable prices as well and is very convenient. Patios and balconies are a decent size, though not huge. We had a unit right beside the pool and gym on the ground level which was outstanding. Service here is also first class and very friendly. There is also a decent little kids park on the premises with some slides and other things for little ones to play on. I enjoyed the resort so much that I may buy another week here given the excellent prices currently on the resale market. The location is also absolutely perfect in the heart of North Scottsdale and right beside both TPC golf courses, sports fields, many fine restaurants, shopping and easy access to major roads and freeways. Can't say enough good things about this place. Keep up the good work Sheraton! Our whole lotta awesome home away from home in the desert paradise of Scottsdale.

Room Tip: We like the rooms closer to the main pool area best. If you don't like stairs get a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Now who needs advertising when we have guests like you! It sounds like you were able to discover everything (and then some) on what we have to offer! From our all white, petal soft linens to our fantastic pools, lets not forget our wonderful staff! When you're ready to buy or even come back for another visit just let us know! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had an absolutely great time during our 7 night stay April/May 2012. This place is loaded with amenities, and the convenience of the villa is exceptional. Makes me never want to stay in a regular hotel room again! This will be our place in AZ until we buy. The north Scottsdale location was the BEST. Neighborhood was the best! Scottsdale Sports Complex right there, with walking paths and lots of open space. The 101 was 2 blocks away, so we could get anywhere on the north, east, or northeast Phoenix area easily. Housekeeping was perfect. Staff was incredilbly friendly. I should keep my mouth shut, so we still get in next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfrom60056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you! We hope every one of our guests is able to title their reveiw like yours! Your excitement and satisfaction with our property, location and service is what our staff thrives upon! Thank you for taking time from your busy day to share with other viewers about your stay! We love our Desert Oasis and the fact that you are a short drive from anything but yet removed and able to relax while you're here! We hope you get in next time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABQ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Being a family of four, we enjoy renting apartments when we are on vacation and the Sheraton Oasis provides many of the benefits of both worlds, apartment & hotel. The room is fabulous-equipped with everything we needed, so spacious and comfortable The swimming pool & splash park was wonderful, the kids had a wonderful time. One thing we missed was breakfast-if we had a few more days we could have stocked our kitchen better and also BBQ'd on one of the many grills throughout the property grounds. I wish the gift shop had more grocery items. We would definitely love to return to this oasis in the desert, hopefully better prepared. The parking lot view was disappointing but we know for next time. Parking can at times be difficult to find, fills up fast so the walk to your room might be long.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LADYgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
We wish you had more time to enjoy it here too! Thank you for sharing about your recent visit to us! It sounds like you were really able to get away and enjoy everything we have to offer. You even have a plan to make better use of your time next time around! (Those BBQ's are really a great perk to grill up your own goodies!)
We'll be awaiting your return to us and thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#3 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Property: Sheraton Desert Oasis
Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing