We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The waterfall pool is a true oasis in the hot desert summer of Scottsdale/Phoenix. If you prefer shade, a small side pool is lovely. This comfortable resort is extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bed are a bit small but it's a perfect quiet retreat in northern Scottsdale with a nice large flat screenTVd living room. You will definitely need a car but the restaurants of Scottsdale Rd. and the convenience of Highway 101 are only minutes away. Landscaping is desert style but perfectly neat with quails and rabbits in the early morning running between the cactus. The computers in the lobby were a great convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on Hayden Road would be quieter and therefore preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear STraveler2,

We thrive on our customer feedback and want to thank you for such a positive reveiw! Our location in North Scottsdale is essential to getting anywhere and everywhere within the valley! Travel safe and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis in July 2012. We selected the hotel off of a timeshare list from our Groupon purchases. I did extensive research and read many reviews before the right hotel and date popped up. As soon as I saw it, I grabbed it because it was one of the top choices on my list in the US. Since the hotel is a timeshare, it has all of the amenitities of a condo/townhouse including a microwave/conv. oven, toaster, fridge, dishes, cookware. It reminded me of when I used to live in an apartment in Phoenix in my early 20's. The room had very updated decor and was very clean. We didn't have the additional room/lockout so we had to rent a rollaway bed (not much room for storing it during the day) because we have two teenagers (one boy, one girl). We used the pullout sofa for one and the rollaway for the teen. We also enjoyed our privacy with our own TV and queen size bed in the bedroom. They advertise that it sleeps 4, but without the lockout it really only sleeps 3 comfortably.

We had one maintenance issue (leaky fridge). I called the front desk and they sent someone to fix it within twenty minutes. No further issues and he was very quick, polite and professional.

The pools were very well kept and the grounds were also well maintained. The main pool has a separate hot tub behind the "falls." They do allow floats and water toys in the bigger pool so if you're looking for some quiet time, try the smaller pool which is designated as the "quiet pool."

They have daily activities for grown ups and kids; ice cream social, hot dogs, hula hoop contests, water aerobics, local vendors, wine social, local tour packages, etc. They leave a message on your room phone each night with the next day's activities. Some of them you need to sign up for in advance. We were not hounded about the timeshare. We received a quick overview when we checked in if we wanted to join a presentation and received one "note" on our door and one follow-up reminder call. It was certainly not high pressure at all nor did it interrupt our vacation. We chose to not sit in on the presentation (I sat in on a presentation many years ago for another timeshare) because we are not in the market for a time share at this point.

We would definitely recommend this hotel. It is within about 20 minutes from everywhere we went (except Sedona, of course). You do need a car. But I recommend shopping at the Fry's supermarket up the street before your stay and you can save money by preparing some of your meals at the hotel yourself rather than eating out every day. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Cheryl W,

We thank you for such a wonderful and detailed account of your vacation experience with us! You brought to life everything the Desert Oasis has to offer our guests! From our rooms to our pools and the variety of activities both on and off property! It sounds like you made some special memories while you were with us. We invite you and your family back again and hope to become a tradition for you!

Warmest Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I needed a retreat for inner personal reasons & there couldn't hve been a better place. All staff were helpful & so friendly. Everything you could want or need was there. I shopped @ Trader Joes before going & was able to just stay in swim suit or lounging clothes the whole time. Beautiful well cared for landscape, pool, cantina, gift shop......Just so happy I found this oasis from another trip advisor member. Can't wait to go back in a few weeks!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Sunya,

It was our pleasure to provide you with peace and relaxation during your stay. We hope that you'll continue to use the Desert Oasis as your own private retreat and visit with us for the weeks and years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our first time in the Sharaton resort. It was a home away from home. We stayed in a one bedroom villa and it was plenty big for me, my husband and 2 children. It was so nice because there are dishes, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and washer/dryer in the room. I could do all my normal mommy things but in a relaxing setting. The maid service was amazing. We had fresh sheets, new towels, more laundry soap and more coffee every day. Our screen door to our balcany was off track so we informed the front desk and within 2 minutes there was someone there to fix it. All staff was excellent and truly there just to meet your needs. I was a little worried that maybe I should have upgraded our room to one with an actual hot tub in the room. I was worried for nothing because the jaccuzi tub was plenty big and worked just the same. The pool was beautiful. It was a bit crowded during the day but we are night owls and didn't usually go to the pool until about 10pm and the pool is open until midnight. It was not crowded during that time. The jaccuzi is very secluded and goergous. It's bigger than your normal hotel hot tub. Very relaxing. The location of the hotel is perfect. We had such a wonderful stay and can't wait until next time!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbdsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Hello bbdsmama!

Thank you for a wonderful and glowing review!

We are so pleased you felt right at home in our comfortable rooms and even escaped the hot July sun by visiting our pools at night!

We hope that we continue to be your choice of Scottsdale resorts and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family and I took a vacation to Scottsdale, AZ. We had a relaxing and enjoyable time. The hotel was lovely, however, there were a few downfalls. First off, there was no Blu-ray player on the entire resort, not even to borrow or rent. Also, the one and only jacuzzi they had was out of commission during the entire seven days we were there. Lastly, when I needed assistance from one of the concierge people, I was told to call her back to find out the information I requested.

Room Tip: The one bedrooms have a nice jacuzzi tub in the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinamcneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Greetings christinamcneely!

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at the Shearton Desert Oasis! We of course always strive for a perfect score from our guests and apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

One of our pool pumps went down causing us to close the jacuzzi for the weekend until repairs could be made, but we were able to get it up by Monday afternoon. We are sorry for any miscommunication that caused you to think it was down the whole week.

We have also passed your feedback to our lead concierge so they can follow up with the team member you encountered. This of course fell below our expectations, as well as yours. We are here to provide memorable experiences for our guests, and apologize for your experience.

We hope these small bumps along the way will not deter you from future stays with us and we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

From the time we were greeted at the front desk, to our departure, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Scott, the security guard got us a luggage cart and even offered to help with our luggage.
The large pool was very refreshing in the Arizona heat in July. The poolside bar had plenty of food and drink selections at reasonable prices.
Our accomodations were spacious and very well maintained and the bed was comfortable with extra large pillows. It had a large shower and a large jacuzzi tub. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirkandSuzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you KirklandSuzieM!

We never get tired of hearing about our fantastic staff! The sparkling pool is a must have in the July heat!! We hope that you'll be back again soon. Please keep sharing your future experiences with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our first time to stay at the Sheraton timeshare property. The staffs were friendly and coirteous. The one bed room premium came completed with full kitchen. The view from our room overlooked the rock waterfall. The swimming pool is very large and one end with a very tall waterfall. Even though the temperature was in the 100+ degree the pool water was cool. The most impressive item for me is how Sheraton provided the closed by information to their guests. There was a map within 5 miles radius showed restaurants, grocery stores, attractions, etc. It was most useful. The property is nicely lay out and well kept. If we were in the process of purchasing another timeshare property, we definitely will look into Sheraton. This property is a definitely excellent.

Room Tip: Outer perameter rooms to be a little bit away from the pool noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank d2s1c2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Greetings d2s1c2j!

Thank you for a marvelous five star review! We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy our clean rooms, sparkling pools and wonderful staff. We hope that you will continue to visit us whenever you find yourself in Scottsdale again!

Warmly,

SDO Management Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,561 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: C$236 - C$721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing