We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supreme Comfort in the Heart of Scottsdale”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Supreme Comfort in the Heart of Scottsdale”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Saguaro is beautiful to the eye with its modern design, but surprisingly its most amazing feature are its comfy beds and pillows. The most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. Great location, steps away from Old Scottsdale. The only drawback is the daily parking fee which seems ridiculous given it's spacious location where it was like parking in any motor hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    261
    158
    76
    44
See reviews for
113
301
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missour
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After staying at another place in Scottsdale for five nights, we spent our last two nights here and it was awesome. Our room was perfect, we loved the pools and surroundings. We especially enjoyed sitting outside in the cabanas with the fireplace going in the evenings. It was quiet although there were people around, very relaxing and a great location. We could walk wherever we wanted to go and if we didn't want to walk there's a trolly right across the street. The next time we're in Scotttdale we'll be staying here. I was not ready to leave! Oh, almost forgot, it's pet friendly too so our little yorkie could enjoy it too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were kindly upgraded to a massive pool-side suite which really made for a special, convenient, and comfortable stay in Scottsdale. The staff was tremendous in all phases: valet, front desk, Old Whiskey Bar, Distrito and even the poolside staff. The pool was awesome - great for kids - and the music was excellent. Distrito and the Whiskey bar were excellent! The whole stay truly exceeded our expecatations. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eghoops15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is a tremendous value for Scottsdale! Short walk to the
galleries, fine dining and shops. The bed was very comfy. We spent most
of our time on our poolside patio with sliding glass door. The A/C
heater unit was louder than the TV, but okay given the 70's build. I
read all the reviews and found that 99% of the problems mentioned had
been addressed prior to our stay. They even brought in a new mini fridge
vs. us taking all the items out of the in room one. There were NO HIDDEN
CHARGES - they do add 18% gratuity and a $3.00 delivery fee for in room
dining, so as in anything, read the fine print. The bathroom was not too small. The food was great. I recommend the Tuna Civiche with coconut sauce, but not the fried
plantains at Distrito and the Skillet breakfast (plenty for 2) from room
service. 2 poolside Bloody Mary's cost us a whopping $26.00 with tip so
that was not good being they were more than our breakfast!
GOOD: bed, pools, lotions, TV, location (Fry's grocery less than a mile
away for supplies), two pools (one quiet with waterfall feature & one
with music & bar), fires around large pool area, parking, iPod
docking/radio, free newspapers & water with fresh citrus/cucumber,
semi-private outdoor room patio, lush flora & fauna on property,
nighttime lighting, vintage Arizona Hwy's magazines in room, super
friendly staff and desert flower brightly colored walls & decor - very
stimulating vibe.
BAD: bed frame a real toe buster (we put shoes at the corners so we
wouldn't run into it), leaf blowing gardener created a loud dust storm
while we were dining on the patio in AM, restaurant & room service staff
could use training and a tasting, drinks too pricy, room decor from
thrift store, still in renovation mode, pool gates need better shutting
mechanisms to prevent small children from accessing the pool if they
wonder off, luke warm shower - never hot, DJ music coming from Whisky
Lounge too loud after 10pm (could hear it all the way from our patio
across the resort), and finally - NO complimentary coffee. A pot of room
service coffee is $13.
My husband & I would definitely stay at The Saguaro again! We loved the vibe. A TREMENDOUS value that totally exceeded our expectations! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The Chaparrel was the perfect size! Choose first floor for maximum patio enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

the location is the best thing about this hotel you can walk to oldtown scottsdale which was nice, the rooms are just ok no luxuries bright paint on cheap furniture the bathroom is dated the plumbing did not work very well the toilet made noises all night the bath did not drain very easily. Housekeeping knocked on our door every morning at 8:30 I did not want to be wakened at that time. The safe jammed locked in our room. this hotel would be ok if the star rating and the price came down it is no way a four star hotel. The pools are nice the gym is small but good i would not recommend it.

Room Tip: the annexe at the back of the carpark is very quiet away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, Ca
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The regular rooms are all right on the main street...Indian School Rd. And when I say "right on" I mean that there can't be more than a small cement strip between the 4 lane, very busy street and your room. The hotel is remodeled as many other reviewers have pointed out, but one of the biggest changes they could have done for the comfort of their guests....dual paned windows, was not done. That would have made the noise level much lower and actually allowed us to sleep. It was impossible to fall asleep until way after 3 a.m. You WILL be miserable if you take one of their regular rooms. You've been warned!
We ate breakfast in the restaurant, food and service were fine. All the decor is lively and colorful....but nothing makes up for the noise. The front desk staff was so-so. I will not ever stay here again or recommend it, sorry to say.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regalaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKleinGM, General Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We were sorry to hear that this guest had less than a satisfactory experience due to the noise. The staff strives to give our guests the best location and great service for each visit, and we were dissapointed that we missed the mark in this instance.

We sincerely offer our apologies, and hope we can make it up to you on your next visit to Scottsdale.

Regards,
Alan Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel has interesting design qualities and attentive staff but it mostly ends up as a spruced up motel with hidden charges. Each night has $45 of additional charge in which a parking charge whether you self park or valet park is the same...in an area where parking should be free. The upgrade of color and artsy doesn't justify the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,606 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
924 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing