We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed the in Jan2012 for a three nights as we had a company event.

The biggest plus for the phoenician is it's amazing area which includes:

- Restaurants
- Bars
- Pools
- awesome golf course
- and something like an private Mountain where you have an amzing view

You basically have the impression that you are stranded in a luxury oasis. So alone the whole setup is worth a visit, if not for the night then for you hanging out at the pool or the terrace witha an amazing view over the valley or just a round golf.

The Service is on a very good standard, there is nothing to complain but also nothing to highlight.

The Food is als very good standard with the same lack of low- or highlights.

Housekeeping was very good, the rooms are perfectly clean.

The rooms are the weak spot. As the Hotel has already a couple of year in his records, the rooms could you a renovation or at least a minor modernisation. i.e The instruments to control the air condition seemed to me to be like 30 yers old. The biggest issue was the mini bar which was really noisy.

I am always wondering why hotels wait that long to make a modernization. Is it because they earn enough money due to a lack of competition or is it that they don't earn enough to invest and try to milk the cow to it's leats extent. Regardless of what it really might be, if they would spend this minor effort they would have gotten an excellent rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omanolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    459
    191
    101
    71
See reviews for
484
647
66
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed her for two nights for a conference. The banquet food was really good, and for each meal, I was asked if I had any dietary issues. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the sheets were nice. Our room was very quiet as well. The bar had signature Mimosas with fresh fruit, which were wonderful. The fitness room had nice equipment. It is a large property, so it can be a walk to get from place to place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singerred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here awhile ago now but wow what a Hotel. Loved the place because it has a romance about it. Nothing fake and Great Service in all Departments. Can't wait to go back again and try some golf too.

Room Tip: Pool side has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

There Wifi is a joke not only is it bad, it should be free.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norbert1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate the feedback, which we regularly review as part of our standard operating procedures. We are disappointed, however, to learn of your dissatisfaction with our WiFi offering. Wireless access, which is one of several services included in our daily resort charge, is provided in all guestrooms and public areas. Support is readily available for any guest who encounters an issue. We hope you were able to take advantage of this assistance, and will return in the near future so we can fully demonstrate our AAA Five Diamond service culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
438 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I am often on the west coast for business and stay here on my way back. I have stayed here many times over the past 10+ years and each time am impressed.

The hotel itself is nearly an icon; the rooms spacious. I have never eaten in the restaurants so I can't speak about them.

When in Scottsdale, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I spent Saturday night , January 21st, at that nice hotel with great views. The service is very good. The room was nice and well appointed. (We suggest they change the carpet (also in the halls) since it is (or looks..) outdated.
We toured the Cactus Garden, on the property, which was very interesting, and beautiful.
We really enjoyed JG Steak House, which is a lot more than a Steak House. We took the 'tasting menu' which was delicious! And..this young chef, who worked before in a very good restaurant in Manhattan, is sure on his way to his first Michelin * . Good luck to him.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools and mountains afar are nice and sunny. The ones facing the mountain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the BCS bowl game this year. It was a great hotel: the rooms were large, clean, and attractive; the patio of the room was great; the restaurant was pretty good; and the pool area was absolutely beautiful. However, it is a really big place and has a "big hotel" feel to it (complete with conference rooms, underground parking, shopping center, multiple restaurants...). While some might like this, it's not nearly as romantic as some of the other, more private and individualized properties in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eig_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing