We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel without all the unneeded frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prescott, Az
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel without all the unneeded frills”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This Hyatt Place is in a great location smack dab in the middle of Old Town Scottsdale. It is super clean, sleek and sort of high tech. The staff are very welcoming and efficient. Check in was a breeze. Rooms are large for this class of hotel, although the shower/toilet area was pretty small. The room is divided by a narrow divider between sleeping area and sitting area in front. Very nice sectional sofa to stretch out and relax. The king size bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was better than normal. A fairly good selectio nincluding a great "Ham and Egg McMuffin" sort of breakfast sandwich. Unfortunately when I got there, the place was pretty much a zoo with a pretty large crowd hovering around the food and coffee without any real pattern. Coffee was great. This place has a lot going for it.... well, mostly.

We were put into a first floor room on the east side of the hotel. Unfortunately this was Friday night and there is an extremely loud club across the parking lot. You can hear people milling around until 2 AM and later. Boisterous laughter, cars starting, it is a mess! We left the hotel earlier in the late afternoon and by the time we returned, most of the hotel parking lot had been taken over by valet parking cones and we had to circle around to the back of the hotel to find the small area cordoned off for hotel guests. Not sure what they can do about the loud nightclub, but that side of the building could use a lot more sound proofing. This would not be a room for you if you had to get a good night's sleep before an important presentation the next morning. The nightclub is really the only real negative about this place. ALWAYS ask for a room on an upper level on the side of the hotel away from the nightclub!

Room Tip: NEVER take a room on first floor on east side of hotel! NEVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We are so glad that you liked our updated rooms and our upgraded, complimentary breakfast. Next time you are in town, we will do our best to get you into a room on a higher floor so you can fully enjoy your stay!

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    207
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
164
214
48
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I came up from New York for vacation and stayed at the Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town for two nights. The service was excellent, the people were friendly, the hotel room was very nice, and the food was delicious! It's also in a very good spot in Scottsdale. The complimentary breakast was by far the best complimentary breakfast we've had at a hotel. This was clearly the best hotel we've stayed at, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and that very positive review! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Scottsdale!

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The staff is across-the-board friendly and helpful. The hotel is pretty new and in good shape. Great breakfast. The fitness center is small, one elliptical, two treadmills, one bike, but they do offer free workouts at LA Fitness a few miles away. Just based on the staff I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_guy815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We are so glad that you had a wonderful experience at our property. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Old Town!

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent three nights at the Hyatt Place Scottsdale from March 16-19, 2012. The purpose of our visit was to see the Angels play three Spring Training games throughout the weekend, as well as a birthday vacation for some family. It made it nice that Saturday was also St. Patrick's Day. I have previously stayed across the street at the Marriott Suites, and when I found out that hotel was booked, I decided to try out the Hyatt mainly for the close proximity to the great nightlife.

This hotel is perfect if you aren't planning on spending too much time in the room. It is a few short blocks to all of the fun bars and restaurants, which was perfect since we wanted to see as much of Old Town as we could. The rooms are comfortable, but it feels more like a motel with the wall AC and drafty windows. The first night they gave us a room on the first floor next to the kitchen and side exit. Even though we had requested two doubles, the only rooms were king with sofa bed. Thankfully, we were able to move rooms for nights two and three, which made it much more comfortable.

We only made it to breakfast on Saturday morning, and it was Packed! I had no idea there were as many people staying at the hotel! Most everyone was either in town for Spring Training or St. Patrick's Day, so the crowd was fun to be around.

If you are looking for a hotel to serve as base camp for other Scottsdale adventures, this is the perfect place!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if at all possible as it is very loud and busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonemanmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our proximity to spring training games and all that Old Town has to offer. We hope that we will be your first choice for an Old Town hotel next year!

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Hyatt place is an excellent hotel. location very nice and walking distance from many interesting places. though not easy walking if you have issues with walking. The staff are very helpful and nice. however they do not have anyone to help with the luggage. the breakfast is so nice and diverse and the ambiance of the breakfast is really cozy. The proximity to many restaurants and night clubs is also an addition. We had our room on the fifth floor and the view at dawn was marvelous.

Room Tip: High floors rooms have nice views. Enjoy the breakfast and the close by pearl lounge for sushi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent stay in Scottsdale. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and the view from your room. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you come to Old Town.

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

It was a very good place to stay for downtown Scottsdale.
We could walk everywhere, near the mall or old town.
Rooms were great and very nicely furnished.
Breakfast was good and the pool was lovely.
My only quibble was the coffee provided in the room.....could have been a better brand.
We stayed in the Hyatt Place last year, and I like this hotel better!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUdyrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

If you are planning a trip to see the Giants play during Spring Training, as was the purpose of my trip, look no futher than the Hyatt Place. Located in the heart of old town, hotel is a 10 minute walk from the stadium and 5 minutes from all the nightlife of Scottsdale.

Two tips...one for visitors and one for the hotel.

Visitors, ask for a high level room close to the pool. There is a nightclub, Jackrabbit, that is literally adjacent to the hotel and on weekends at about 2 am when the place closes, it gets very loud.

Hotel, get riD of the guardrails and shades on the windows. We literally had piegons perch there every morning at 6 AM and you would think they were in the room with us given the noise and proximity to our bed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hello GregComo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and proximity to Scottsdale Stadium.

We are aware of the challenge faced with the pigeons in the area and are working with our pest control company to find a solution.

We hope to see you again next year for Spring Training!

Sincerely,

Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#46 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town

Property: Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Address: 7300 E 3rd Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3995
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Scottsdale Old Town is located approximately 3 blocks from Old Towne Scottsdale and 15 miles from Sky Harbor International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hyatt Place
Hyatt Scottsdale
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing