We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic hideaway”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scenic hideaway”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just returned from Arizona where we spent two nights at the Sky Ranch Lodge. What a treasure! Super friendly staff, charming room with a gas fireplace in the corner.There is a heated pool and hot tub which we did not use as there was snow on the ground our second morning. Our room had a garden view but their private scenic overlook area was just one building away. And what a view it was! Overlooking the town of Sedona with a backdrop of the Red Rocks! Truly magnificent!
The new restaurant at the tiny airport that shares the plateau with the lodge served delicious meals was about a 2 block walk from the lodge. If you walk there for dinner, bring a flashlight for the walk back as it is REALLY dark! But, you have never seen stars like you do there. It was truly breathtaking! The lodge is tucked away by itself, but just minutes away from the shops of Sedona. We are so glad a friend recommended it. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pielady_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    479
    125
    58
    32
See reviews for
377
549
60
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed one night in one of the cabins overlooking the city of Sedona. WOW - the room was huge and had a kitchenette, table & chairs, 2 Queen beds, a fireplace, and even a back deck with 2 chairs. WHAT A VIEW! Understand that right before the entrance to this hotel is a major tourist overlook viewpoint - so you're basically seeing everyting that people drive up to see. There's also a neat area at the back of the property for watching the sunset or just looking out at the view.

The staff was very nice & accomodating. Rooms were clean. Hot tub was a bit small as was the pool - and the day we were there it was chilly & windy so walking back to the room soaking wet would not have been fun - especially since alot of the parking lot is small gravel. We had our own parking spot assigned to us as well.

I'd definitely recommend staying here. Great value & view. And there's a nearby vortex with a small parking area - so it'd be easy to take a walk down to there in the morning - it seemed very popular! I've been told to go to the Mesa Grill for breakfast as well, which we didn't have time to do.

Room Tip: Splurge on a cabin - it's worth it, especially if you're staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Comfortable cabins, a friendly atmosphere, and breathtaking views of Sedona and the surrounding mountains.

Depending on which room you get, you may even have the view from your own balcony.

The outdoor hot tub looked nice but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

What a great place to stay! Wife and I stayed 7 days visiting friends and sites. Large clean rooms, quiet and away from traffic but still convient to everything. A great place to walk your dog, friendly staff beautiful grounds and best views in town. New restaurant at airport has great food and you can walk there.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for four nights in late February. Great views of Sedona and the location was nice and close to everything. I'm suprised they don't spend a little money to update the place it could be a real gem. We did have issues with hot water running out daily and very thin bedding made for a cool night as the heater was kind of finicky. For $150/ night though the price couldn't be beat. We used the pool and hot tub as well which was a nice added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Lake
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The views are stunning. The rooms are average, nothing fancy, but you're paying for the view. You have to go the main viewing area, as most rooms don't have a view of anything other than the pool or parking lot. I stayed here on my last night in Sedona, after a week at a higher-end hotel. Sky Ranch felt more like a motel, but no complaints. Once again, the view is what you're paying for.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Sky Ranch Lodge staff was very friendly. The location was very convenient to hiking trails and restaurants. The views at sunset were spectacular. The mattress was very comfortable, but the bed linens were lacking mainly due to a polyester bed cover. Having a wine bar on property was nice since we got to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wasadowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.5 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
2.5 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
2.5 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
3.3 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.6 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Property: Sky Ranch Lodge
Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing