We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky Ranch Lodge visitor of more than 20 years”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have stayed at other places in Sedona, but once again stayed here for 5 nights in May 2014. Overall the rooms are good, although the maintenance crew had to fix some items in our room - I think they should be more on top of things.

The property is in a beautiful setting and its an honest, down to earth place. Overall, I enjoy it and hope they will take some steps to make it better so we can continue to stay there.

Many quality issues to me surround the small pool. They really need a second pool for adults, even just a lap pool. I don't go on vacation to listen to someone else's screaming brats running and jumping on me. The pool is too small for so many people that the property can hold. Please spend the money and increase room rates 5-10$ - I would gladly pay for a more serene pool experience. When there are even half a dozen kids in a little pool - its over for the adults.

At time, the maintenance crew did pool cleaning and other daily chores in the middle of the day or in the afternoon when people were coming back from hikes and wanted a swim. So the pool would be closed for a couple hours at that time. Like other hotels - do the pool work early in the day when no one is going swimming.

I don't blame the hotel for trying to make money, but 3 of our 5 nights, the hotel sold out a piece of the hotel to wedding parties who take over the hotel with live or loud music, crowds, etc 50 feet from our door. The partying did not go on late, maybe 2100, but its listening to a loud bass of a band when you are paying for the serenity of looking off your deck at the natural beauty of Sedona. I didn't sign up to relive Saturday Night Fever. Also, if you add 100 or more guests to the small pool, its completely unfair to the other hotel guests.

So bottom line - put in a second pool - up the rent. Either that or make the place adults only. Why should a few guests who cannot control their kids be allowed to control the resort. Most of the crowd are people touring the Southwest and want a more serene situation.

Also, having spent time in construction, have your maintenance crew go over the place and fix all the little stuff that is out of whack. Its a great resort - take care of it!

Room Tip: Ask them if they are having wedding parties and get as far away as possible. Rim and garden view ro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdwardAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
There are newer reviews for Sky Ranch Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for a few days with family for a wedding. The hotel seems like it hasn't been updated since the 80s, but with prime real estate like that, I guess there's no pressure. Our room had a damp, old smell to it. The beds aren't too bad and shower water pressure is decent. There is a bit tub, which was nice while we were there in December. Overall not too bad, but also not that great. Add the name of the hotel implies, it is located near the airport where you can go get a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has the best view possible and reasonably priced. I would recommend it to everyone. The room had fridge and microwave. Sedona is absolutely beautiful. Everyone should definitely experience this place because it it jaw dropping!!

Room Tip: Book early enough to reserve a room for this location!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights during our trip to Arizona. We were in Sedona for the hiking and views to see.
This hotel provided amazing views on their own private deck. There was also a wine bar that would bring out drinks for everyone outside. This was great since you could relax while watching the sun rise and set.
The rooms are all next to one another with none above or below. This was nice since it kept the noise down. There was also a small pool and hit tube for guests to use! Verry clean.
The rooms are extremely clean and are pretty good sized. The basic room came with a mini fridge, microwave, tea/coffee maker, and waters. There was also a hair dryer, shampoo, lotion, and soap.
Overall a great place to stay that isn't expensive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SammiDeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My only regret with the Sky Ranch Lodge was not staying longer. My mom and I arrived just in time to see the sun set and then checked out the next morning. We had a second room floor with a fireplace which was great b/c it was chilly in the morning. The rooms were very spacious and very well maintained. The overlook point on site was also very nice and there is a wine and beer bar in the evenings. Nearby there is also a nice restaurant that overlooks the airport and the red rock formations. Also nearby is the airport mesa which is a small climb and hiking trails. I will be back some day. Good for families and couples. Probably not a hot spot for business travelers just b/c it is geared more towards vacationers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKendraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was really disappointed with the room there was pubic hair in the bathtub when we checked in overall I found the room overpriced. The staff was nice and helpful,the view was nice, it was cold that day and all the outdoor heaters were gone off the patio for the wine bar,because there was an event going on somewhere else on the property,we were freezing and not able to enjoy our wine ,even though nobody can control the weather,don't think I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doridu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We came here on our honeymoon 19 years ago. I was disappointed with the day staff 4/25/2014 - very disinterested in whether we had a good experience at the resort...we were placed in one of the worst rooms and they were not friendly. The later afternoon staff on the other hand was very helpful and friendly. Our room looked like a cheap motel. Not what I recalled from this resort. Nothing special about this trip. First review I've ever written, but I felt very disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay the big bucks for a room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.5 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,234 reviews
2.5 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $173 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing