We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing above Sedona”
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We found it relaxing to head back up the mountain to the Sky Ranch. Especially enjoyed the pool and hot tub after all the dust from hiking. Also enjoyed a quick trip to the airport for dinner the first night.
The room was very large and clean. Bath was modern and bright.
The ground here were beautiful. It was so pleasant to be there. It was an easy walk to the overlook for sunset.
The drive up and down the mountain is winding and narrow, but doesn't take long to get to Sedona.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

We found the Sky Ranch to be just what we wanted. The place was very quiet, but not deserted. I loved being in Western Sedona - uptown Sedona (north of the Y) was way too crowded and Central Sedona (south of the Y) was very difficult to travel by car with the road construction going on. They say that the Y intersection is going to be widened to two lanes in each direction by July, but the road crews are still drilling bolts into the rock wall, so I wouldn't count on it. That short drive up the plateau at the end of the day was just what we needed to get away from it all....and there were plenty of great restaurants right at the bottom of the hill. The owners had really made an effort to make several oases of calm with the benches and ponds with trickling water between the buildings. We had a garden view room with a balcony that was great at night as we would sit out there relaxing after the days spent hiking...and we opened our windows to listen to the coyotes, birds and water while we slept. I thought that one of the strangest phenomena was how every night about an hour before sunset, the Airport Overlook, which adjoined the entrance to the hotel, would fill up with several hundred tourists to watch the sunset. The flavor of it reminded me of watching a community fourth of July celebration. There would be tourists from all over, each handing the other their camera as hundreds of pictures were snapped. Local musicians showed up to play quiet New Age music, and everyone joined into this impromptu community event. I actually thought the views were much better in the early morning off the beaten path, but it was great to join in the fun anyway. We used both the jacuzzi and the pool and found them perfect end-of-the-day retreats. And they were replacing all of the mattresses in our building the day we left (go figure). I would definitely recommend this hotel (especially with the AAA rates) to anyone looking for a quiet, slightly out-of-the way retreat. If you want a cushy spa, this is not your place. Oh, and as for the airport restaurant...the prices were heavily discounted during "Happy Hour" - so it's worth heading over there a bit early if you want to pick up a reasonable dinner. We ate outside on the porch and watched the planes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelawarianFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Reception was very perfunctory - no how was your day etc? Sign here, initial here, credit card please...
The room looked like it had been decorated and furnished in the was 70's, which was difficult to manage as it was built in the 80's. No fridge, apparently that is an upgrade - in the US? The policy is to service room every other day, so make your own bed and take a vacuum if you are there for more than 1 night - which would not be a good idea in my opinion. View was great, but I had to walk to it and might as well have stayed in a better hotel and hiked to the view. Not worth anything like the $95 they charged. Avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rountuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The hotel was nice with a pool and hottub and was about 1 mile up from main strip of sedona. Only issue I see is location as it's probably too far to walk down to main street fo go to a bar or restaurant and dangerous when dark. We had a car so it was okay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fricking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, and we wish we could have stayed longer. Sedona is a great place to tour, and the Lodge was a great choice. It is located on the top of a plateau, right next to the Sedona Airport (small planes only, no appreciable noise, and none what-so-ever at night.) To get there, you have to drive about a mile up a mildly winding road with a moderate gradient. But that only adds to the charm of the place. The Lodge accomodations, while not fancy, consist of a series of low-rise small motel buildings with nice sized rooms. Some of the buildings look directly out on the canyon. We had a standard garden view room which was very nice, with rustic wood paneling and other nice touches. Very romantic !!! The room had a renovated bathroom and vanity, newly painted and sparkling clean. The place has lovely landscaped lawns and gardens, with running brooks, fountains, flowers and plants. Just about 75 yards from our room was a public look-out over the canyon that offered fantastic views in the morning and at sunset.
Although the Lodge does not serve breakfast, there is a restaurant on the airport grounds that was just a 5 minute walk from our room that offered great food at a decent price, and with a view only 100 feet from the runway. We miss being able to look up at the skies at night and see hundreds of stars, something that in the East is now virtually impossible given the light and smog pollution!! We hope to return to Sedona and if we do, we will stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stumbled upon Sky Ranch Lodge when we ascended the mesa to look at the view. I fell in love with the pretty garden, sound of water, and the simultaneous separation from and proximity to the bustle of busy Sedona. The staff were very helpful and a quick sense of humour sealed the deal. The room was clean and ours had a small fridge. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day's hiking that sleep was easy and restful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I booked this hotel months in advance after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Only planning to be in Sedona for one day, we wanted to stay at a clean, interesting and economical hotel. THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY! We had a room that opned onto a liltte patio and the garden. I sat quietly and watched quail, dove and other birds scurry about the beautiful garden while calling to each other. Although older, the hotel was very well kept and very clean. Driving up Airport Hill we passed one of the famous Vortexes located in the Sedona area. Even though the Airport Vortex requires a short climb I left that to others seeking spiritual elightenment. The last thing I needed on this trip was to be sucked up into some vortex. After a very peaceful and restful night's sleep we arose fairly hungry, and I remembered a review I read about the Coffee Pot Restaurant in Sedona. We went there and read the menu which lists over 101 omelettes. I had Eggs Benedict and they were the best I've ever eaten. WOW! GREAT PLACE FOR BREAKFAST! My friend had an Italian-inspired omelette and he said it was great! Before we left the hotel area, we visited the fantastic overlook of Sedona just next to the hotel entrance. You park and walk across the street to the overlook. Very very nice! Wonderful location for photos of Sedona below and rock formations around. We concluded that Sedona is kinda like a western Gatlinburg. Very beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dixiedoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
1.5 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.6 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 49 in Sedona
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Address: 1105 Airport Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $172 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing