We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave the Driving to Crazy Carl” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours

Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #9 of 91 Tours in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private VIP and Elite Private tours in Mercedes custom Sprinter tour vans with a maximum of 9 guests per vehicle. Leather captains chairs and large viewing windows for the most comfortable and enjoyable tours in Arizona, our senior/master guides provide a wealth of information about local history, geological formations, traditions and wildlife. We are known for our top quality Private tours and vehicles. We are the first and only all private tour company with Mercedes vehicles where luxury and style are always standard. Come see for yourself and book a Private day tour or an Elite private multi day tour.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leave the Driving to Crazy Carl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our family of 4 recently completed a day trip to the Grand Canyon in April with Silver Spur. We departed at 8am from Sedona in the capable hands of our tour guide and driver " Crazy Carl". We were traveling with a 7 and 9 year old and the Mercedes Benz van was comfortable and outfitted with a flat screen TV that kept the kids busy during the trip. Lunch overlooking the Grand Canyon... what could be bad.... Carl was extremely flexible so if you want to cut back on some time at certain stops to keep the kids engaged they are happy to accomodate the same. From Sedona you are still talking about a 10 hour day round trip so as the one always stuck doing the driving and missing the best parts of the trip let me assure you the private van is THE way to go.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcharles012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Carl says hello and wanted to thank you for the nice write up "thanks from Carl". We at Silver Spur want to thank you for choosing us and your nice comments. Thanks again for the "leaving the driving to us" possitive comments; so glad you enjoyed that 10 hour day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour services for the discretionary traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Silver Spur is for the discretionary traveler who desires to maximize his time in Sedona. SS sets the bar for other companies. Our group of 8 chartered for 1 1/2 days of touring in Sedona and then an overnight at the Grand Canyon and a return to the Phoenix Airport. We did the Magical Tour with Duane and 1/ day with Carl. We knew we would be spoiled when we boarded the vehicle and were given our insulated lunch bag, stainless steel water bottle and insulated cover, and our healthy snacks by Mrs. May. Divine lunches from WIldflower which we were able to select. Ever vigilant of our hydration, both driver/guides reminded us to drink our water. Each provided personal attention to our individual needs. Duane's knowledge as the driver/guide provided an indepth understanding of the region. By having him do the driving/guide we were able to maximize our enjoyment in Sedona and the Grand Canyon. Whether for a day of touring or a private charter Silver Spur is 5* in our opinion. You'll return home relaxed and grateful you made the decision to spend travel $$ with them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NCadventurer28207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
We appreciate your business and your kind comments. Our guides really enjoyed your group of frineds and family. We are glad you enjoyed your multi tours in Sedona, Grand Canyon and the river float. The many conversations I had with you arranging your vacation was a great experience and we hope we see you again. We are now in Los Angeles California with our new wine and scenic tours to Santa Barbara, and we know your your group really appreciated those fine wines. Hopefully we see you there; thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour Company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My entire group of 45 people went on a tour with Silver Spur and it was wonderful. They accomodated such a large group very well. There were 2 children on the tour and the tour guide was wonderful and patient with the children.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CieraHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I just wanted to take a few minutes to tell you what an awesome time we had on our Grand Canyon Loop Tour! Dwayne was amazing. We were so pleased with his knowledge of everywhere we visited. He was very accommodating and thoughtful! We truly enjoyed his company and wonderful personality! We all felt very comfortable and at ease! It was a relaxing and spectacular day! It was the highlight of our trip! If we ever get back to Sedona or have friends coming that way, you can bet we will recommend Silver Spurs and we would asked for Dwayne! :)

Thank you so much!

Julie and Keith Swallow
Butch and Susan Tucker

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable way to see the Arizona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My friend and I have booked Silver Spur Tours for Sedona and Grand Canyon trips. Both were exceptional. Our most recent trip was an awesome trip to the Grand Canyon made very special by Duane's personalized attention. He was very knowledgable and interesting in the information presented. He made sure that everyone enjoyed themselves and went out of his way to be helpful.

The comfort of their Mercedes limo/vans and the small, intimate groups further differentiate Silver Spur from other options. We were especially delighted to see the IMAX Grand Canyon film (on the way) and unique stops like the Holy Dove Chapel that wouldn't have been seen on other tours.

I would highly recommend Silver Spur Tours for anyone who wants to see the beauty of Arizona in a comfortable ride with a friendly and knowledgable tour guide.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thanks for your nice comments; Dwayne remembers spending the day with you and wanted to say hello; he had a great time with you and your friend. He also says make sure to ask for him on your next visit to Sedona on one of our newer tours. Thanks again and we do appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Silver Spur Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing