We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Dan's Bistro - CLOSED

Dan's Bistro
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dan's Bistro is a small friendly Bistro style restaurant with great fish, steak, seafood, pasta's, salads and deserts, all at great prices. Chef Dan is one of Sedona's most popular Chef's both for his cuisine and his personality. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Edison
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a great meal at Dan's on our first night in Sedona. It has the added benefit of being able to bring your own wine. We liked the food enough to have a second meal prepared by Dan on our last night, although that one was served in our room at teh Creekside Inn.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    31
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Sedona has plenty of great restaurant options. The best are the ones where the owner is in the kitchen and the food is special every day. Dan's Bistro is a top qualifier. Chef Dan presides over the operation at his boutique style bistro in West Sedona. The menu is limited, but rest assured there are no bad choices. Each plate is carefully prepared and attention to detail is apparent. Service is top quality.
Our recent party of six was seated promptly. The house was fully booked, as usual for this Saturday night. But the staggered arrivals allowed the staff to comfortably accommodate every table.
We were greeted with a Chef's Amuse' plate consisting of an ahi salad on toast. Next order of business was uncorking the bottles of wine that we brought along. This BYOB concept is a fabulous feature and in the long run, a huge money saver. The $5 corkage fee is a bargain for pairing your own wine with Dan's culinary creations.
The soup this evening was a curried mashed pea, and it was the choice for three of us. The Spinach pear and berry salad was a winner too. Special entrees were too good to pass up. We ordered three of the Brie stuffed chicken greats and one salmon with blueberry and balsamic glaze. Mike had the classic Fettucini Alfredo and I couldn't resist the veal schnitzel.
Every dish was perfect.
Save room for dessert because Dan offers a short but enticing list of decadent treats to top off your meal.
The dining room only seats about 40 diners so reservations are a must. I would urge sophisticated diners to include Dan's Bistro on their list of must go places while visiting Sedona.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food in a BYOB Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We enjoyed very much our dinner at Dan's. It was a relaxed evening (somewhat slow service) with subtle guitar playing. (Request table close or far from music depending on your preferences.) There are three rooms that hold about 50 people altogether. Conversations from other tables can intrude. We found the soup du jour (curried split pea) very good, and the salad selection was interesting and difficult to choose among (spinach/pear/strawberry with coconut-raspberry vinaigrette). The Seafood Portugeusa was stunning--just enough broth but not souplike--with lots of seafood and sausage. Spicy and delicious. Too full to have dessert! Apparently a liquor license is in the works, but this was a reasonably priced, well-prepared food choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenangel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Went to Dan's Bistro because it was a BYOB. Food was top notch, service was excellent and it was romantic (with a guitar player playing in the background). What more could you ask for?

We went back a second time during our three day stay in Sedona and everything was good but my wife was a little disappointed that the NY Strip was sold out. The chicken she ordered was not quite the same quality as the Strip and the service was not quite as good the second time (different wait staff). The chef (and owner) did come out to apologize about the steak.
I would still recommend Dan's very highly!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellenangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Delicious dinner in a nice but casual environment. This is a BYOB restaurant - we are non-drinkers, so didn't matter to us. I had the beef bourguinon and my wife had the trout - both were delicious. Enjoyed the peach cheesecake dessert. Highly recommend Dan's for a delicious dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing