We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for hikers who don't want to be in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sedona Pines Resort
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It's helpful to know about reviewers' values to understand the context of the review. We're two mature (50s/60s) individuals who like to hike, cook our own meals, and enjoy quiet with good scenery. It's helpful to have a spa for soothing muscles after hiking and a robust DVD library for evening entertainment. As a result Sedona Pines suited us to a T. Yes, the units are small; anyone who is obese might have difficulty maneuvering around the bedroom. It was somewhat difficult for the two of us to be in the kitchen at one time preparing meals, but it wasn't a real problem. There is a nice patio (make sure your unit has one located on East side to avoid the western sun) for al fresco lunches and dinners. A BBQ grill is standard at each unit.
Each unit is modular (or trailerlike as others have noted), but efficiently laid out. The grounds are landscaped to a fare thee well. Units are close together, but we never felt this intruded on our privacy, and we also can see the wisdom in a sustainable plan such as this.
Wi-Fi was available in our room although not always the strongest.
The laundry was free! What a terrific idea as it removes so much stress.
Our unit was close to the adults-only Lagoon spa, the big pool/spa, and also to the laundry. It seemed ideal although we might have preferred a unit on the northern edge that looked out onto the red rocks and was located by one of the large fountains/water features.
To a person, the staff was helpful and chipper.
Sedona Pines is about 5 miles west of town itself, but only 1 mile from Red Rocks State Park. As we were in residence for 2 weeks, we opted to purchase the Annual Red Rocks Pass Parking permit ($20) as opposed to weekly ($15) or daily ($5). We got it at the Customer Service Counter of Bashia's in town. There's a good book on Easy Sedona Hikes by Falcon Press that we used consistently. This must be one of the most fabulous day hiking places on earth. Our social/cultural events included Wineaux Wednesday at Marketplace Cafe in the Village of Oak Creek; Beethoven Sonata concert; Jazz concert at St. Luke's Episcopal Museum; Music at the Museum (Sedona Heritage Museum); Verde Canyon Railway; Jerome Historic State Park, and many others. The resort itself has a fully-packed events schedule for its visitors and seems very good about taking care of families with children. The fitness center is not huge, but it's adequate with treadmill, elliptical, recumbent bike, and some weight-bearing equipment.

Room Tip: If you like solitude and scenery, request a unit on northern edge by the fence--although it is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Yes they MIGHT be stuccoed "mobile homes" but they are very nice and the narrow design is minor when compared to the other benefits (quieter with no shared walls). It is a great location right between Cottonwood and Sedona about 10-15 min. away and an easy drive to Jerome, Prescott, Flagstaff and Grand Canyon. Incredible restaurant (fresh and often organic veggies and creative chefs including the best "home-made" margaritas we've had) and an incredible array of activities. Very friendly staff in restaurant. Some activities were for a very reasonable fee ($35 for a watercolor pencil class that gave you a very nice zipped travel kit to keep with a set of pencils, brush, and paper) $25 for other art classes and FREE miniature golf, lectures, concerts, etc. A little breezy/cold for us (unusual weather) to try pool and spa but we saw others go in. Went through RCI and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a timeshare resort. Basically all units are trailers. They are clean and include all the amenities you would need. The units are a bit small for my tastes and it is a bit too far out of town for my tastes. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The timeshare presentation was painful to sit through, but I attribute that to the individual salesperson. All in all it was adequate, but I would prefer something more upscale. We did however receive a free helicopter ride over Sedona for sitting through the presentation which I will say has been the highlight of all my visits to Sedona. See my review of Arizona Helicopter Adventures for the highlights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kyle302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a two bedroom, two bath unit for two couples. Yes, they are pretty small (especially the master bedroom), but perfectly adequate for us. We spent most of our week hiking and sightseeing, and the resort was just what we wanted. The landscaping is beautiful and the pool and hot tubs are very clean and nice. The pool is big enough (and uncrowded) for some pretty serious lap swimming. The exercise room is very small but has decent equipment. Our unit was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The staff was great. On the first day, the "guest" bath didn't have enough hot water. We called the desk and told them, and they fixed it immediately. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are over priced, in my opinion. We would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked through RCI so as not to lose points that were to expire at the end of the year. Our week-long vacation was in mid-December, and the snow on the red rocks of Sedona was gorgeous. Hiking was exhilarating for the intrepid ones in our group, and I was the only one who remained behind. The unit we were in had a detached second bedroom and bath, located a few yards across an outdoor deck. It provided nice privacy, but all aspects of the main quarters as well as the extra bedroom were cramped--much like living in a trailer or mobile home. The kitchen was well-stocked, but the living room area was much too small for the style of furniture, pull-out sofa bed, and arm chair that were provided. On first arrival, too, we were given a unit that inexplicably had no functioning heater, and so part of the group had to spend the first night in another unit. The next day, it was fixed early in the morning, though the management neglected to notify us when it was ready. We waited and wasted precious time moving belongings when we should have been enjoying the crisp outdoor air. The swimming pool was covered with a tarp that had to be pulled back every time one of our group wanted to swim laps, but the jacuzzi area was nice. The fitness room had minimal equipment, but it sufficed. One of the best features was the on-site laundry facility, and the miniature golf course was a hoot for us. The free margaritas were not remarkable in any way, nor was the food in the dining area, despite all the accolades written on the walls of the restaurant. Would I stay at the Sedona Pines again? Probably not. It wasn't dreadful, but it wasn't memorable. Only the setting among the red rocks made it worthwhile. We'll seek other accommodations next visit, either more luxurious or more quaint.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TucsonJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Perhaps we have higher standards owning with HGVC but we found this resort to be below our standards. The location is excellent just outside of Sedona and in my opinion the best part of town. It was also close to Cottonwood, giving you additional eating choices and Walmart. In addition, the grounds were kept up beautifully. The mini golf was fun although small. The pool and hot tubs were wonderful. That being said, the units themselves are of poor quality. WAY too small. You can hardly even get dressed in the bedroom. It is that small. You are seriously 3 feet from the bed to the toilet. We had a two bedroom with our college age daughters. After a couple of days we wanted to stay in the bedroom across the deck because it was slightly larger. The bed was hard and the chair and couch were very uncomfortable. Not even pillows on the couch. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. The housekeeping staff were rude and pulled out dangerously on their golf carts three times in front of our car. It was extremely hard to keep a good temperature in the units as heat and air conditioning are separate. The units themselves had a very stale odor. We bought air fresheners to help. We thought the other units must have this too and many units had their doors wide open. A day or two here would be ok but a week was too long.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WI_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Booked through RCI and it is a cute facility. But the management systems are poor. The give you tickets for free margaritas but the free ones can't be drank at the pool next door to the bar. You can buy margaritas that you drink at the pool, but you can't drink the free ones. The pool menu had different prices than the bar's menu but you had to order off the pool menu yet pay the higher prices. JUST NICKEL AND DIME NONSENSE.

Wi-fi is free but extremely slow and very unreliable.

Clean laundry and grounds. Too bad the managemment rules get in the way of the staff.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
12.3 km away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#24 of 48 in Sedona
753 reviews
6.6 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
10.1 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.4 km away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,157 reviews
17.1 km away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#5 of 48 in Sedona
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Address: 6701 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9757
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $267 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing