We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always clean and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sedona Pines Resort
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always clean and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

After my first visit I became an owner via internet resale. I have returned every other year for 10 years and I am still enchanted by the impeccable grounds and fine service delivered by all the personnel at Sedona Pines.
The pool and spa are excellent along with the gym and laundry areas.
Something I learned recently is that The Bistro restaurant on site is owned by a separate company. The food was simply amazing and I think it's sad that this hidden treasure is unknown in the rest of Sedona proper. If you stay here, eat at home! There is no need to go out to all the other fine restaurants in the area.
When I asked the membership director she advised me that rooms should be booked via Expedia.
If you are there on a day when all the activities are discussed, be certain to go. Many different vendors come in to describe their tours so you have a great idea of what to expect. On this trip we did the Verde Valley Railway and it was outstanding. Last time we went to the Grand Canyon and it too was very well assembled.
You will be quite content at Sedona Pines and be grateful that you are not in the middle of the tourist chaos in downtown Sedona.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    222
    70
    33
    35
See reviews for
152
289
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The check in was fast and the check out was fast. Not a lot you are responsible for to check out either which is very nice. No pulling sheets off beds ect. The unit was fully stocked with everything you could want. The table was set with dishes and all. This was odd and in the way. I never got around to putting it away. Oh well.

It's a way from town by about 10 minutes and quiet. You need a car. There is a nice pool and activities, though we did not partake. The unit itself is small. If you want to take a large group here and hang out and cook ect. Probably not a good choice. Kitchen was 4x8, but had everything you need. Maybe two cooks could bump their way around each other, be hard though. Bedroom was good enough and bed was comfortable. Nice small tv's. The bathroom was difficult because only one of us at a time could really be getting ready. The shower/tub combo was huge and had a whirlpool, but only one sink.

We traveled around a lot and spent little time in the unit except to sleep, so it was doable. We were a couple and our 11 yr old son. For this type of vacation it was great. I like to travel with friends though and a two bedroom would give you another small unit not physically connected with a bedroom and a bathroom. Leaving you with the same really small area to eat together and prepare food. Therefore, the larger unit doesn't really improve the situation. Perfect for an outgoing couple who want to eat out and hike and take a hot bath in the whirlpool.

Room Tip: We choose the back of the resort, however the roosters started crowing around 4am and went on and on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at Sedona Pines. The location, about 10 minutes outside of uptown Sedona, was perfect for us. Gave us good access to Sedona, Cottonwood, grocery stores, etc. We were very comfortable in the one bedroom condo. At first, when we arrived it seemed small but you adjust during your stay and realize it has everything you need and is very comfortable. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, dishes, bbq equipment, blender, mixer, iron, etc. We were also well-stocked with bathroom towels, pool towels, blankets, pillows, etc. The bedroom had plenty of storage and the beds were very comfortable. A mid-week cleaning was provided which was much appreciated. We also really appreciated having use of the free laundry room. There were a number of available machines and we were glad for the opportunity to wash our red-dusty hiking clothes.

We were in an end unit with a fountain outside our living room window. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck for breakfast and dinner and made use of our unit's charcoal grill a couple of times during our stay. We also used the pool and one of the jacuzzi's just about every late afternoon after coming in from a day of sight seeing and hiking. While we didn't get a chance to use, the fitness room had everything we would have needed.

We visited the Sedona Pines Bistro and used the free margarita tickets we were given. The margaritas were very tasty and the singer entertaining in the bar was very good. The one con that we experienced was that at about 7:30, after finishing our margaritas, we tried to get a table for dinner. The menu looked good and there were lots of positive reviews on the food. We were told that the kitchen only stays open until 7:00. We were really surprised and disappointed in the early closing and had to head into town to get something to eat. We noted that many places even in town seemed to close on the early side.

This was our second trip to Sedona. Our stay was from 4/28 - 5/04. We had 5 sunny days and 2 partially cloudy days. All days hit the low 80's in temperature. We did a day trip to the Grand Canyon (again) starting at the east side at Desert View and making our way to Hermit's Rest via a combination of driving, hiking, and shuttle bus. We also spent a morning at Dead Horse Ranch in Cottonwood and that afternoon riding the Verde Canyon Railroad (1st class), both outings a treat. Other days were spent hiking including West Fork Trail, Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte, Chimney Rock, and Red Rock State Park.

All in all a great trip. Would recommend Sedona Pines to couples or singles. The place was well-maintained and we found everyone to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationplannerCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We rode our motorcycles from Branson, Missouri area and looked forward to a weeks worth of fun rides and seeing the area. No disappointment there! Rented from Barlows Jeep rental a 24 hour day ($340.00 with tax)...they give you maps and very helpful. Plus cooler with ice. Red rock formations are beautiful and always changing with sun or cloud cover. Took Verde Valley train ride out of Clarkdale....great views.....rode motorcycles up to Grand Canyon (no unhappy faces on this trip.....ride from Sedona to Flagstaff up 89A are awesome .....some of the best we have rode...T-Locky-Pocky (not actually how you spell but say it) Arts/Crafts Village is wonderful. Great shops and landscape in brillant. DO NOT miss going up to Jerome...as others say, it is a must. Views are spectacular.

After reading several reviews and reviewing the resort site myself ....I found they had more than told people about the resort and what to expect. It was everything I read, quite...quaint, unique, our unit was very clean, well stocked, staff very helpful, laundry area clean and FREE, presentation from Barry was not pushy at all, bistro food great (ate only one evening and the breakfast given to guest upon arrival) and casitas (mobile units) were exactly as pictured. No surprises or disappointments of this resort. It may lack the glamour but we had no issues at all. Think they are well maintained and looks like they are getting ready to add more units.

We ate twice at Red Rock BBQ in Sedona (Paul was great)...great wings and great salads! Taos Mexican food was fine but eaten better. Ate some meals at unit and outside area.

We did not use any of the pools, gym, etc. but found them very nice and well kept. We had a 2 bedroom unit and knew that bedrooms were not connected and that worked well for us. There was plenty of room for the 4 adults. No problem in the kitchen area getting around...don't know why some have problems with convection oven...not that hard to figure out.

I would recommend this and certainly stay again. No, it is not a Marriott but then again...it is not listed as one. They are constantly cleaning and working on the grounds. Every morning we seen hot air balloons passing over resort (between 5:30-6:00AM). Beautiful to see.

Room Tip: We did not have a brook running behind our unit but when walking we did observe and thought they wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frg1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in December 2011. Bring layers, a coat and a hat in the winter. The dusting of snow in the canyons was gorgeous. Yes, these units are basically small mobile homes with a coat of terra cotta stucco. You will likely feel as if you have spent several days in an RV. We love having a full kitchen when traveling; we are not interested in being forced to dine out for every meal.
These units are quiet, they are not terribly up-to-date, but yes, they are relatively clean. I give the maintenance staff a C+ to a B-.

I am certain that there are other properties in Sedona that will give me a bit more elegance, luxury and cache for my timeshare dollar. In all fairness, I doubt we will return. But if selection is limited, I would not miss an opportunity to spend time in this fantastic town, and would make do at Sedona Pines.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonomaSterlingLimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Used our left over points to stay 5 night in a one bedroom cottage. Couldn't have asked for anything better in Sedona. The cottage was perfect for the two of us. They took care of our tours and we were picked up on time by Dave for tours of the Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon Train one-way Dave's great hidden spots and knowledge on the way back.Next day the Hopi Indian Reservation. Both are a must and ask for Dave, he has lived in Sedona for 30 years has his masters and knows everything you could ever want to know about the area. Take the time to go on the Verde Canyon Train beautiful scenery with Bald Eagles in view catching fish from the river AMAZING! The Bistro had Delicious food after long days sightseeing, just the place to fuel up then the adult spa and bed for another full day of exploring the Red Rocks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay here last week, I think the "cottages" would be a little TOO cozy for more than two people, but for my husband & I it was just right. It isn't a luxurious place but it is very comfortable & clean. The staff was really courteous, the landscaping immaculate, pool wasn't crowded & the 18 hole mini golf course was fun. My husband referred to the resort as "the trailer court" but when I suggested we stay somewhere next time we visit, he said no he wanted to stay there again. :-)
Also, it's part of a timeshare place but when we passed on the presentation there was no pressure, which I appreciated.

Room Tip: check out Lower or Upper Red Rock Loop road on your way into town one time for some beautiful view p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.1 km away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.0 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
6.6 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.7 km away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
8.4 km away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#17 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Property: Sedona Pines Resort
Address: 6701 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9757
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#27 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing