We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Residence Club Sedona, Pinon Pointe
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lets start with whats good which is the location right in the center of town. The property itself however is not that great for the price. We had a one bedroom with no views. It just looked into a house. The rooms are small and ours was very dirty. It looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks with dust everywhere. The room was also very dark because of the location and the heavy drapes and dark furnishings. Also when someone was next door you could hear the shower running quite loud.There are not many amenities at this place. A small pool which filled up fast. No restaurant, room service, or bar, although you are only a few minutes walk from many restaurants in the town. This place is basically a timeshare and not up to the usual Hyatt quality.

Room Tip: try and insist on a "view room" but you probably won't get it without paying more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigMac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Close to shops and dining. Nice units. Grocery stores are nearby so you can stock up.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for a week at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe in Sedona during a rare March heavy snowstorm (about a foot of snow, which I believe is unusual for Sedona). The staff were wonderful in shoveling the walkways, giving advice on getting the snow off our car (use a dustpan), and providing entertainment when driving was not advisable. Our one bedroom unit was on an upper floor facing Cathedral Rock. What a view! The red rocks were spectacular with (and later without) the snow. The unit was large, comfortable, and with an efficient, full-size, kitchen. There was also a gas fireplace which we used during the snowstorm. Very cozy. We asked in advance for a room with a view, but they told us they could not guarantee this.

We had a couple of minor issues, but they were dealt with within 5 minutes! One included a problem connecting with the WiFi, but the person who came immediately to our room to help got it working for us by rebooting the router (unplugging it, then plugging it in again). He had a device to check the signal, and once he confirmed the signal we were able to get on the internet with our computer, and he stayed with us to confirm that we were connected.

We are Hyatt timeshare owners, although not at Sedona, and are impressed with all the amenities at each Hyatt resort that we have visited. The timeshare presentation was mentioned to us, but we were not pushed, and did not attend. In contrast to another reviewer, we were not pushed by the concierage, and only received helpful advice.

We also received helpful advice at the activities center with respect to hiking, and later in the week when the snow melted and the mud dried, we were able to go out on a long hike among the red rocks. Spectacular views at every turn; we hiked around Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte, about 5 miles. Sky bluer than I've ever seen it. The relatively new "Hike House" gives very helpful suggestions as to hikes (degree of difficulty, length of hike, etc), and they also sell high quality hiking gear. A recommended stop.

The Hyatt pool area, with a pool and two hot tubs is adjacent to the activities center, and has wonderful views of the red rocks. After a couple of days of snow, it warmed up and was very comfortable to sit out by the pool. The hot tub had great jets.

We ate twice at the Elote Cafe which has amazing southwestern-type food. I recommend this restaurant very highly, and the only downside is that they don't take reservations so you have to line up early (4:30) to get a table for the first sitting. Absolutely worth the wait.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, or if necessary, a room for which you don't have to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chestnuts112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Hyatt Pinon Pointe is nestled right in the "Y" (intersection of 89A and 179) making it one of the prime resort locations in Sedona. There are larger resorts in Sedona but none are located as conveniently as the Hyatt. You are 10 mins from tourist traps, but also quality dining and TlaquePaque (Tuh-LACKY-packy), which is a tight concentration of art galleries, restaurants, and shops. The Hyatt is also a very nice resort with pools, fire pits, grills, pool tables, and other family friendly activities. You could easily spent time at the Hyatt relaxing and enjoying the red rock vistas without ever leaving the resort.

The concierge does work on commission so you'll get pressured to make all your reservations through Hyatt; you may encounter a very aggressive concierge pushing preferred places to eat. If it's your first time to Sedona, it's not a bad place to see new restaurants and you'll get a 10% discount through their reservations. But we did feel like we were being pushed. In contrast, the Hyatt is a timeshare system but we received a very light sales pitch to come listen to the timeshare talk (in exchange for a $150 book of coupons) which we declined; the concierge offered very little pushback when we declined.

There are no restaurants on the Hyatt property per se. However, the Hyatt owns the strip of stores and restaurants adjacent to 89A north of the Y. We are big fans of the Wildflower Cafe, frequented by locals in the middle of town, which offers a large and varied natural menu. There is a Starbucks nearby as well as several touristy-type shops.

The Hyatt is not cheap. Expect to spend over $200/night for a well-equipped 1BD suite with a living room and kitchen. Larger suites are available for larger groups - 2 BD suites sleep 8. Our 1BD suite was very nice with a large BD, bathroom, and jacuzzi. However, the living area is small in contrast to the large bathroom and sleeping area. Some units have spectacular views; our unit was at the bottom of a stairwell and had a less than average view of the resort and surrounding vistas. Still, the unit was very pleasantly furnished and the balconies were spacious and relaxing. The furniture is well-chosend and presents a very Western motif.

Summary - the Hyatt is an excellent choice for families looking for a more complete resort experience for shorter than average stays. If you are in town for a week or more and don't mind using your car, there are places of equal cost to stay in Sedona with more amenities. If you are looking of either a) convenience or b) a place to stay for a short amount of time, the Hyatt is the place to go. You will be staying in a very nice place close to the heart of Sedona with access to many many activities within a short walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the Activities area or an above-ground room that will provide a better room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobinanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a spectacular property for family getaways. We had two 2-bedroom, two bath condo style units. Each had three balconies, a fireplace, 3 flat TVs and a full-size kitchen with dining room. Shops , restaurants and mom and pop retail is within a short walk. Views from the window and balconies were extraordinary! Housekeeping was excellent and the property had all the amenities for family fun: fire pits, heated pools and an activity center. We signed up for the 90-minute time share pitch which wasn't high pressure at all and it did earn us $150 credit per room. I would go back.

Room Tip: Before you go: Call ahead to request an upper floor unit...these have the best views. Many lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

They just continue to hound you to listen to the time share sales pitch. as far as the resort the views are great and everything you need is with in walking distance. Sedona is a great place to visit with lots to do with your family

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplysound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Traveling with a family of four the 2 bedroom app was great. Nice, well maintained and spacious with a very good equipped kitchen. The pool area is nice too, but more geared towards adults than children.

We were not bothered with any sales presentation.

Our unit was on the 4th floor with one unit above us - luckily it was occupied by a family, that had similar sleeping patterns, otherwise it can be very noisy. We faced Mount Snoopy and the little shopping mall with Starbucks and the Wildflower Bakery. Very convenient, but also quite noisy from 6am on (delivery etc.). That really interrupted our sleep.

Room Tip: Upper unit not facing the mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expatriat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
994 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.5 km away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Residence Club Sedona, Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Residence Club Sedona, Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $247 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Residence Club Sedona, Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Residence Club Sedona, Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing