We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than 100 yards from quaint downtown Sedona”
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A very comfortable place to stay and indicative of a Hyatt property. The staff is an assett to the property. On site eateries are easy to get to and very enjoyable to be in. Multiple shops to explore on site and if that isn't enough, the whole downtown area is within 100 yards of the lobby. Explore downtown all you want but save some energy for the steps back to your unit. You will be out of breath frequently.

The only drawbacks I can see here are the smallish living room and numerous steps on the property. Upon entry or exit I had 43 steps to the parking area and a whole lot more to the pool and activity center. If you are not able to walk much or climb stairs, you don't want to stay here.

The pool area is great, the gym well equipped and the activity center comfortable. They are all together on a level above the lobby and overlook some fantastic scenery.

Room Tip: We traded in via Interval International and were told that we had to take the room they gave us. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cronin1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Where to begin? Sedona is certainly one of the most beautiful places you'll ever visit, and the Hyatt is the perfect base from which to explore it.
1. Location - Centrally located at the 'Y', it's in a great spot. It's an easy stroll to the main Uptown shopping/restaurant area and a short drive in the opposite direction to either West Sedona (supermarket, airport) or Oak Creek Village. You can walk easily to any of the jeep tour offices, though ours (Day in the West) picked us up in front of the lobby. And it is up on a hill, so you can see pretty much all around in every direction.
2. Room - With a family of four (12/14 y/old girls) we chose the 1-bedroom with one king bed. We took a chance based on some previous reviews that the sofabed would be comfortable enough, and it was. No, it was not as nice as the bed, but it was better than the average sofabed and good enough that we slept on it and let the kids share the king bed in the bedroom. This allowed us to be up and around the unit a little later and earlier in the morning without waking them. The unit was very spacious, with a full kitchen, dining area, living room, large bathroom with walk-in shower and separate jetted tub. There is a washer/dryer, which was invaluable to have on days 3-6 of a 14-day trip. The balcony was very large and had a table big enough for all of us to have breakfast in the morning. (Also, the units are arranged so every other balcony faces the opposite direction, so you are not right next to your neighbor's balcony.) It was clean, and seemed pretty well updated. We were told the adjacent studio room (which would make the unit a 2-bedroom) was occupied, but we did not hear or even see the people staying there.
3. Room location - This is an area that could definitely have a big impact on your impression of this hotel. We asked for and received a second-floor unit near the pool. The hotel is condo style, so there are stairs and uphill walks depending on where you are. Our large balcony looked out over the top of the activity center/pool area. So there was a little bit of roof to look over, but the views were otherwise spectacular. On the other hand, there are many ground level units that have views of nothing but the pathway or other units - if you got one of these you might not be as thrilled. The grounds, however, are very nicely landscaped. We had no problem parking outside the unit, and we didn't mind the two flights of stairs. We almost always request an upper floor (so we don't have people walking on our heads), and in this case it paid off.
4. The pool - There is really no way to describe the pool area other than stunning. It is in the center of the resort, at just about the highest point. There are great views from everywhere. It is not huge, but it's somewhat irregular shape makes it seem a little bigger. There are also two hot tubs. The landscaping and colors blend perfectly with the surroundings. This was one of the big reasons we chose this hotel, and we weren't disappointed. The activity center where you get your pool towels has a large lounge area with bigscreen TV, and they had free popcorn and sodas in the evening. There is also a very nice fire pit to roast marshmallows.
5. Check in - We read some people felt they were pressured with timeshare pitches and calls. We were asked once by the concierge at check-in whether we would want to attend a Hyatt vacation club preview in exchange for $100 in coupons at local restaurants. We declined and were not asked again.
6. Pinon Pointe Shoppes - This was a great feature to have adjacent to the hotel. We got breakfast from the Wildflower bakery twice and ate on the balcony; it was excellent. We had dinner one night at the Sound Bites restaurant, which felt a bit funky and upscale but casual at the same time. And our kids love Cold Stone Creamery - it was even better taking in the view of the red rocks and Uptown from the patio. We did not go in any of the stores, which looked fairly expensive. Few were open in the evening, which seemed strange considering most people are probably out sightseeing during the day.
Overall - We felt this was a tremendous value. Our one-bedroom suite with all of the amenities didn't cost any more than the regular rooms at other 'moderate' hotels we considered. And being able to walk to restaurants and shops is huge when you're in the middle of a road trip between Phoenix and Vegas - the less driving the better. Our kids, while sitting in the hot tub after seeing our suite the first afternoon, said they thought it was the best hotel we ever stayed at. (Ok, they were slightly more impressed when we got to the Venetian in Vegas!) While there are a couple that compare, it's certainly right near the top of the list.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few stairs, definitely request a second-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and wish we could have stayed for 2 months! Loved the property - loved the views - loved the location and thought it could not have been better. This was our 4th stop in UT/AZ this trip and we came to realize that most all of the places we stayed seemed "dark" inside the rooms (this one was no exception) but, we realize between the heat of the desert and the eco friendly bulbs, it was for good reason. That said, it was a little dark in the room but, the balcony with the views more than made up for it. Also - we all agreed the pool was amazing at this property. Loved it and will return one day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in July and found the rooms and resort to be beautiful. The unit was a lockoff, giving our teen boys their own studio, the main half with the master bedroom was very spacious. The kitchen was well equipped and even included a convection range. The view from our patio was very nice and when we ate dinner in we ate there. The complex includes a shopping area with galleries and restaurants and is also an easy walk to old town Sedona. We walked to dinner most nights. The concierge was very helpful and did not push the timeshare presentation which was most appreciated. My only tiny complaint would be a lack of water pressure in the shower, a very minor issue.

Room Tip: The upper rooms would definitely be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

THIS IS NOT A HOTEL! Believe all the complaints about having to walk down to the dungeon and no services or elevator as well as the ones about hearing noise from other rooms! Rent at least a one-bedroom if you are concerned about having some light. Everyone tried to be as accomodating as possible, but when it comes down to it, this is a timeshare and they rent out rooms that are not claimed for owners. There was garbage in the stairwell that had obviously been there for a while. The room was clean but there was no water, although the central water system seems to be good enough I could at least brush my teeth and take my medicine with it. If I HAD to be in Sedona and there was no other place to stay, I would stay again but opt for a two-bedroom where I might not have to lug my luggage up and down stairs. Go to the restaurant that recently opened but don't order a call liquor - $11/shot!!!!!!!

Room Tip: rent a two bedroom to be more sure of not having to walk down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank majorfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place is just wonderful :) We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite which had a jacuzzi in the room. The staff were great and took time to over everything and answered all our questions. The location is perfect and center of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tissys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Piñon Pointe property in Sedona, AZ with a family of six. We had an absolutely amazing week together in no small part because of the staff and rooms at the Hyatt. The concierge took time to go through numerous different activities with us in the area. The front desk was incredibly inviting and cheerful. The quality of the room was more than I had expected. The countertops are stone, the kitchen was well endowed and the beds were incredibly comfortable. ...even the doors were solid and heavy! Except for the last night we ate every meal there in the room because we had so much fun cooking/baking. The facilities at piñon pointe were marvelous as well. The steam room was invigorating. The fire pit was very enjoyable to sit around a night. The pool area was nicely done and hosted the best views in all of Sedona. We used the grills too on three different occasions and really enjoyed that amenity. I cannot say enough about the professionalism and quality of the staff. Thank you, Hyatt, for making our vacation one that we will gladly remember for a lifetime!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Bryce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.5 km away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $201 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing