We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the bare minimum; nothing special”
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Not all places in Sedona allow children. However, Hyatt Pinon Pointe does and had reasonable rates and availability upon short notice. We stayed in a studio on the ground floor, which was dark and a bit cramped. If you are not going to spend much time in the room, the studio for 2-3 people would be fine (there's a mini-sofabed). Otherwise, book the larger rooms and ask for a higher floor.

Because this is a timeshare hotel, there aren't many amenities. It lacks the welcoming feel you get at other Hyatt hotels. The lobby, upon check-in, was quiet and deserted but had 4 employees sitting around (2 concierge) with nothing to do. No coffee, cookies, and no complimentary breakfast. There is a Starbucks and Wildflower Bread Co. restaurant on the property, and could be a pleasant walk to when the weather is fine. But in the winter, I recommend packing some breads and fruit and using the kitchenette in the hotel room to prepare breakfast. There is complimentary coffee in the room.

Am glad that I brought a pair of slippers, because the floors were filthy. We weren't sure if the carpet or tile was the culprit, but the bottoms of our feet were black when you walk barefooted.

The location is great and close to many restaurants, shops and places to book tours. Overall, this hotel was adequate but not comfortable nor memorable enough for me to return to. Would be open to trying another hotel next time in Sedona.

Room Tip: Studios on the ground floor were dark. Choose a room on a higher floor for more light and better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SD_gallivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed two nights at Hyatt. Our studio apartment was quite a big hotel room in European standards. There was a nice pool area, which we didn't visit due to temperature and e.g. Wildflower Bread Co was part of the complex and had very good breakfast and lunch options. Only negative thing was a slightly poor noise insulation between the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

1br was perfect for our family of four. Hotel is well located and has great views of the rocks. Friendly service. Nice pool and rec area. Would stay here again. A bargain at only about $200/night. Hotel in process of going timeshare, so might not be available for rentals much longer.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel wax fantastic it's right in the middle of everything and if you get a room with a view BOY do they mean view, well worth it. My husband and I stayed in a studio and it was the perfect size for us and was really nice too! Also you get A 10% discount at slot if restaurants. When you check in they ask if you want to do the timeshare tour and if you go you get money so would be worth it if you have the time and know how to say no. We didn't have time so opted out!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We recently used our Interval International time share exchange to stay at they Hyatt Pinon Pointe in Sedona and much like our home Marriott time share, it was very nice and very comfortable. It is designed just a bit differently from the Marrriott's with the second BR more separate from the main living area, but that was just fine for our married sons and their wives! With one couple in the single side and one on the sofa, the space was quite accomodating. I was a little worried about the pull-out sofa for one of our sons' but his wife said it was the most comfortable sofa bed she ever slept on! It was quite firm and not at all saggy which is something to say about a sofa bed!
The Activity Center was very nice and if you have little children, they have a great play room adjoining the larger lounge area (pool table, TV, couches and nice fireplace). The pool area, hot tubs, ping pong table adjoin the center and there are ice machines and washers there as well.
The unit's kitchen was nicely stocked and we only had to buy two large foil pans to manage our Thanksgiving Dinner! We did do a lot of washing to have the right utensils, but that was certainly manageable. Our family was so happy to be able to celebrate Thanksgiving with our very traditional meal at the Hyatt. The table in the unit is very large with a bench seat that would hold at least 6 people plus 3 chairs so it was quite functional for a holiday meal.
The staff was very helpful, even on Thanksgiving Day they responded very quickly to our needs. The resort is located at the top of a hill next to 'uptown' Sedona and you can catch the Trolley at the Pinon Point shops next door to the resort (along with Starbucks, an ice cream shop, a grill, and a bakery). Very convenient location at the intersection of 89A and 179, easy to get everywhere. Our unit was right across from gas grills and a gas fire pit that was lit every night and we enjoyed our steaks on the grill and a glass of wine at the fire pit in the evening. It was a lovely view from there!
We would highly recommend the Hyatt for a family vacation!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Some of the lower units actually face walls. Ours was perfect on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights (using Hyatt points) to celebrate our first anniversary. We initially requested a one bedroom when booking the reservation but were told none were available, so we went with the studio. After checking in and taking one look at that tiny room, we were right back at the front desk seeing what could be done - and amazingly enough, a one bedroom was available for a $50/night upgrade. The front desk staff even took the time to find us the one with the best view for our stay. One quick question, though - if it was available, why didn't they just book it for us in the first place? I get the feeling reservations are a little bit different here given that it is a timeshare property, but still. We'll take it. Be firm on your reservation requests if you're not a timeshare member!

Upon check-in, you do make a stop off with the concierge for a welcome packet and the "let us plan everything! please listen to us convince you to buy a timeshare!" pitch, but we politely declined and they actually left us alone.

The one bedroom is quite a step up from the studio - significantly more space, washer/dryer in unit, giant soaking tub, good-sized balcony with great views (at least from our unit). For a couple, I would definitely recommend stepping up from the studio to the one bedroom if available.

The Hyatt has a great location in Uptown Sedona - can walk to Pink Jeep tours and several restaurants/shops in the uptown area. The property has some great features as well with fire pits, tennis courts, and its own shops.

We loved sitting on our balcony, sipping a glass of wine and watching the sunset. And if it got too chilly, we just moved into the living room, turned on the fire, and still watched the gorgeous sunset. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: The units in building 17 have great views! Make sure you request a room with a view when booking so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delpha_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Rooms spacious and spotless, fantastic pool and activity center. Great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, there were 2 decks, one in front and one in back. Great views of the mountains. Walking distance to a great restaurant, Starbucks and shops. The hottubs were nice and plenty of lounge chairs at the pool. The AC and heat worked well and quickly. There was even a washer and dryer with detergent in the room.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a long path and steps to reach. If you have lots of luggage you'll need help and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.5 km away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $201 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing