We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value, great spa, but on busy highway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level Contributor
282 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Good value, great spa, but on busy highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Nine of us came out and booked 5 rooms for a long weekend "retreat," and overall, we had a really good stay. We had a Travelzoo deal that included massages, yoga and breakfasts, which was a good value.

Positives:
Loved the small spa - great massages, nice teas, infused water, private outdoor hot tub, very friedly service.
Room had a super comfy bed, wonderful shower w/ rain and regular showerheads, black out curtain liners for great sleep.
Yoga was a great way to start the day - very relaxing and positve.
The views - there are beautiful views of the red rocks right behind the hotel.
Observation deck - the deck has great red rock views if you look straight ahead, but right over to your left is a big Safeway in a strip mall, which detracts significantly from the tranquility of the views.
The pool and jacuzzi - nice, relaxing, never crowded. Would have a good red rock view, except that they built the 2-story spa behind it -- seems they could have designed that better.

Negatives:
The food at Reds - not good; we had free breakfasts w/ our package, but the food was not good, and neither was the service. They took our drink orders, but my tea never arrived; I ended up getting my own from the self-serve dispenser.
The location - the location is good in that it's pretty central to everything, but not so good in that it's located right on the busy highway 89A, so you get the traffic noise.
Wait staff - very inconsistent. One day by the pool we ordered small plates, and service was fast and friendly. But our first night there, we ordered a bottle of champagne on the observation deck; the server brought up warm champagne in an ice bucket, said we should wait 10 minutes to let it chill; added himself a 20% gratuity, said he'd be back to open the bottle for us, and never returned.

Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives for me, and I did enjoy the hotel. Would I stay here again? Not sure; I might try somewhere new, a little further off the beaten path/highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room w/ a red rock view - upper floor has better view, but lower floor is nice to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ed_conwayCornvilleAZ, General Manager at Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your taking time to note your thoughts and comments.

We will look into options to improve the tranquility of the observation deck.

Sincerely,

Ed Conway
General Manager
928 340 5304 and or email
econway@sedonarouge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    391
    140
    50
    28
See reviews for
235
672
67
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our two night stay at the Sedona Rouge, including delicious hearty breakfasts at Reds. Conveniently located for exploring in & around Sedona, the quiet, comfortable sleeps were welcome. Desk folks were very helpful & staff friendly during our stay. We thought this hotel is a good value & is well located...& would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank munchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Sedona Rouge is an "open air" hotel style and the rooms clearly reflect effort to make sure you feel relax. This is accomished by the lounge in your room, the zen-like decor. Location is slightly south of the stores but has a great view of Tea Pot Rock and there's a FABULOUS Italian restaurant Dahl & Deluca across the street. Would return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijbegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful setting right on the main street, surrounded by red rocks. Very quiet, and because Sedona is a 'dark' city (meaning they don't allow neon signs, etc. at night) you can see the stars from the rooftop patio which is a perfect place for a glass of wine around the firepit. The people at the desk were very friendly and very helpful from check-in to check-out. I would definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: We stayed on the main level and it was very conveniently located to Red's Restaurant, which we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calamityjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Had an unexpected 8" of snow as we arrived. The room had a cozy fireplace and larger screen wall mounted TV which made the snow day tolerable. The check-in staff was helpful and offered advice for our visit in light of the snow. The room was clean with a very large shower and nicely equipped bath. We didn't get to enjoy much of the other facilities, but the overall appearance of the common areas was well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We bought a 3 day stay on Groupon last year that included a couples massage and a bottle of wine. For that and the price of average hotel rooms in Sedona, it was an excellent deal. The rooms were nice but only had a view if you were on the third floor on the back side. It was a handy location but I would have preferred a room with a good view of the red mountains. The staff was extremely helpful for choices like which trails to hike and what restaurants to eat. I would recommend the property to anybody. Beds; linens; and overall quality of the room were excellent. It was quiet and we slept well.

Room Tip: I would get an upstairs room overlooking the back property which has the only view of the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Sedona Rouge is a nice hotel but their website made the property look much nicer than it was in person. Our rooms were at the front of the hotel so we did not have a view of the mountains at all. We were not impressed with the restaurant "Reds". Service for our two morning breakfasts was slow and disorganized.

The lobby is pretty but the area behind the hotel, leading to the separate spa building, is not very pretty. The spa, however, was excellent. Kelly gave me a massage that was absolutely fantastic--and I get massages regularly.

The rooms were sufficient. The staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. It's just a very small property on quite a busy street.

I liked it but was just a little disappointed after seeing the website.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heregoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.2 km away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
3.6 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.6 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
3.8 km away
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa

Property: Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Address: 2250 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sedona
#3 Business Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
103 room boutique hotel and spa. Home of REDS Restaurant open daily for breakfast, lunch and meeting. Located in West Sedona with easy access to local attractions, dining and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Rouge Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing