We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain Find in Otherwise Pricey Sedona, Arizona”
Review of Whitehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitehouse Inn
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed for a weekend in May of this year and greatly appreciated the sensible pricing of the rooms in this motel. Granted, the room decor is a little dated. But, the rooms are clean and well-maintained.

Only a few weeks prior, I'd stayed at the Days Inn, Sedona - directly across the street. I was fine with the Days Inn. However, for almost $20 per night less, I received substantially the same level of accommodations at The White House Inn. The differences are that Days Inn has a pool and White House Inn does not. Also, Days Inn has a more varied (albeit standard) breakfast while the White House Inn serves coffee, fruit, and cookies. Given the price difference, you can afford to drive a couple miles down the street and, for a few dollars, get a terrific breakfast at the New Frontiers Marketplace.

One final bit of advice: The best rooms - with the best views - are on the second floor of the building directly behind the office!

Room Tip: As for the second floor rooms - with balcony - in the building behind the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week here. The room was very clean and very comfortable! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

On a family roadtrip we passed Sedona and booked a room in the Whitehouse after consulting the lonelyplanet-guide. It was exactly as described: Simple but clean and spacy room (upper floor with balcony and Red Rock view) and a very friendly manager. He even helped us with the booking of a Grand Canyon flight. Such good vibes that we stayed for another night. Lovely experience.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank emmgeeCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I am not particularly fussy, and am usually willing to sacrifice comfort to save some cash, but this hotel was particularly bad - it makes me suspect if the other reviews were legitimate. Even if this hotel is discounted compared to other hotels in Sedona, at 70-80 bucks a night, it is not cheap, and I would expect a certain minimum standard of quality. The mattress was covered in plastic (perhaps to prevent bedbugs?). The sheets covering the mattress were not fitted, and the bed was poorly made, so the mattress slid around on the boxspring and the sheets fell off the bed in the middle of the night. The one clock in the room was broken and the refrigerator froze all the food that we had kept inside. The walls were thin enough that I could hear bedroom noises from the couple upstairs.

The hotel manager did seem nice and pleasant enough.

In short, would spend a few bucks more if necessryh and stay at the King's ransom or Day's inn

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank electriccompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We staid one night at the White House Inn, because of the recommendation in the Lonely Planet. The service was not very friendly or welcoming, so it seems that is was not the owner described in the revoews before. There was a huge dead bug at the entrance of the room. It seems the room was not used for a long time. No free wireless LAN. Not very clean. Rather shabby. The good times must have been a few years ago. I can not recommend it. Better spend a few bucks more and go somewhere else, especially if staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mannhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I had read the reviews of prior guests on TripAdvisor. The overwhelming consensus was that the gentleman running the office was very helpful and friendly, and that the property/rooms were clean and tidy. To make a long story short -- it was all true. It's not often that things work out exactly as expected, but such was the case at the Whitehouse Inn. Very nondescript, older-looking property from the highway, but exactly as promised, on the inside. Would book there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 2F; had a nice view of the mountain out back when we opened the curtains in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubsterPubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

As other reviews stated - very basic furnishings, decent location, no real amenities, but if you're on a budget and plan to spend your time outdoors this is a great deal. They did have a nice TV in the room. Small bathroom vanity but everything was very clean. The air conditioner wasn't powerful enough to get the room below 76 degrees at night (it was over 100 that day). Hotel staff, Hersh, is a very pleasant guy who will go out of his way to help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W0rldTravel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
9.6 km away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#29 of 48 in Sedona
593 reviews
10.1 km away
Days Inn Kokopelli Sedona
9.3 km away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#30 of 48 in Sedona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Sugar Loaf Lodge
Sugar Loaf Lodge
#36 of 48 in Sedona
313 reviews
9.4 km away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
0.7 km away
The Andante Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse Inn

Address: 2986 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: $127 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitehouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Red Rock views from balcony & patio rooms, Clean Comfortable Extra Large rooms with queen size beds. Nearby scenic attractions, hiking, bicycling, swimming, parks, vortex points. Free Wi-Fi.Motel in Sedona, AZ. We extend our most cordial welcome to you and thank you for visiting the Sedona White House Inn. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Whitehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehouse Hotel Sedona
White Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing