We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great Sedona trail run

Ran up to the trailhead from the RV Park at the bottom of Schnebly Road. Ran early with a clear sky... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karwendel52
,
West Palm Beach, Florida
via mobile
Pretty flat after the first 100' straight up

This is a favorite hike of ours; it is not too overly taxing, the incline at the front-end has... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2018
on_the_go_98765
,
Tucson
Read all 21 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sedona
from US$121.44
More Info
from US$104.89
More Info
Scenic Sedona Tour
151 Reviews
from US$69.99
More Info
from US$142.00
More Info
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews schnebly road arabella hotel red rock mountains snoopy rock broken arrow incline cliffs trees creek hikers miles views
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ran up to the trailhead from the RV Park at the bottom of Schnebly Road.
Ran early with a clear sky and temperatures around 50 degrees Fahrenheit.
The trail crosses many gullies and dry streambeds all of which show signs of flash flooding. All were dry when I ran.
Beautiful mountain and desert flora!

Saw only one other trail runner on this sunrise run and he appeared to be enjoying the trail as much as I was.

Close enough to Rancho Sedona RV park to avoid driving.

Thank Karwendel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

This is a favorite hike of ours; it is not too overly taxing, the incline at the front-end has steps built into the hill, and there's not too much loose gravel (ankle busters). Scenic treats line the hike along the way; a highlight is to see the Snoopy rock formation from the back side but the massive hoodoo rock towers are impressive.

Along our hike we saw the good-sized rock ledge which serves like a waterfall when the monsoons hit but prudent people should not plan to be around to see it.

The trail runs between Schnebly Road and Morgan Road but we accessed it at Sombart Road Trail head (1/2 way between the two). We walked both directions; it amounted to about 2 miles. No bikes permitted on this trail.

There is very little shade and the hike is really out in the open most of the time. Finding a nice, shady rock to sit on is a rarity. Broken Arrow is the next trail to connect with; it is located at Morgan Road. All these road/trail heads have parking but no bathrooms.

Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

One can access the trailhead at the rear of the Arabella Hotel on Hwy 179. The trail is very nice with crushed stone and sand....you start by going up some steps made from railroad timbers...after about 1/4 mile there is a junction where you would turn leftand continue as far as you want to go. Views are spectacular!

Thank retiredteacherAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We went on 5 trails while in Sedona. To me they fal into two categories. 1) hike/walk. 2) rock climb. This is a walk/ hike where you can enjoy the beautiful scenery without having to be on all fours climbing or on the edge of a cliff. I enjoyed this trail.

1  Thank coachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

This was our first hike around Sedona to soak in some of the beautiful picturesque red rock mountains and it was so enjoyable. We are not die-hard hikers but would rather just go exploring and get some exercise at the same time so this hike was perfect.....and we were able to walk to the trail head right from our hotel.
The trail itself wasn't that well marked after we began but we found there was one identifiable main trail that we could follow and we didn't get lost so that kind of speaks for itself. There are also several obvious side trails one could take, but we were wanting to only spend approximately 2 hours hiking here which we accomplished with ease. There looked to be several miles of trails in this area so you can easily mold your experience here to however long you want.
It was not a difficult hike so it would be suitable for all ages.
But like any hike, be sure to wear appropriate footwear and take plenty of fluids along.

1  Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Wonderful trail in Sedona,AZ.Very scenic with many creeks and washes..
In the trees most of the hike with beautiful views of the surrounding red rock mountains.

Thank H0wardL713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

This was the first trail we took our 5 year old twins on and they did well. It's a shorter hike and doesn't get too steep. Good starter trail!

2  Thank lindsay0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

We were looking for an easy hike on which to stretch our sore legs, and this worked well. It's up to I think 4 miles round trip, but with no set destination you can go as long as you want. Minimal elevation gain and loss, and some nice views of the red rocks. Close to town. Don't expect an epic trek here, but it's a nice way to spend an hour or so.

1  Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2017

This is a fairly easy way to experience Sedona hiking. The trail is relatively flat without many steep ups or downs and it doesn’t have large steps to negotiate. Even though you occasionally see houses the vegetation and hills make it seem more remote. If you take the right trail where it forks there is a great picnic spot, with rock ledges to sit on where the water crosses the trail during rainstorms.

2  Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2017

One of the great things about Sedona is that you not only see incredible natural views, but you get to go right up into that view and experience it up close. Marg's Draw trail is one that not only gives you close up views of the red rocks, but nice views of Sedona, not to mention a number of the named rocks. You can pick up Marg's Draw from several trailheads. The north end is at the Schnebly Hill Trail head, which is worth checking out, even if you're not hiking, and has plenty or parking. Marg's Draw ends at the Morgan Road trailhead. Or you can pick it up by hiking in at the trail head at Sombart Lane (near Hillside shopping center). Where ever you start or finish, be prepared for an awesome, but easy hike.

1  Thank jasanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews