We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Favorite Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Favorite Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I discovered the Briar Patch Inn back in the late 1990's while staying in one of the local hotels in town. The next year I made reservations at the Inn and have not missed a year since then. I will be heading there in just a few days for my annual vacation and always look forward to my stay which is typically about 12 days. The property is well maintained and groomed and very pleasing on the eyes. A nice breakfast is served daily in the main cabin and there is a large outdoor patio overlooking Oak Creek which can be used to enjoy your breakfast. I personally like the patio for either reading or just sitting quietly and enjoying the sights of the towering canyon walls. The staff is always friendly and accommodating - if you need advice on places to dine they wil give you a great selection to choose from and will make reservations for you if needed. If you enjoy simple, rustic cabins and a quiet atmosphere with beautiful grounds then the Briar Patch Inn is the place for you.

Room Tip: Call the staff and tell them your needs and expectations so they can recommend a cottage for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRailroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    38
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
180
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted a long weekend, out of the heat of Phoenix, with lots of privacy and comfort. The Briar Patch Inn is absolutely all of that-a little bit of heaven. Our cabin was 60' from the rushing water of Oak Creek. There was lots of firewood stacked and ready to go, and lots of places to sit in an Adirondak chair in the morning , eating the delicious breakfast provided by the staff or to enjoy a great bottle of wine at night. We didn't miss having a television at all, and instead walked all over the 9 acre lot and took advantage of nearby hiking trails. We were greeted by name; I had mentioned we were celebrating a birthday and they congratulated us when we arrived.; there were hand picked wildflowers in the room with a personal note acknowledging the birthday;we were there during the height of the color season and you couldn't get a bad view anywhere! When we return, I plan to take advantage of the creekside massage, and spend 3 nights instead of 2! The landscaping is beautiful and much attention is given to making each guest feel as though they are the only ones there. This place is a jewel..and our new favorite weekend retreat!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room..there are places that work well for 2 people and larger cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
To all of you who have come to visit our place and have complimented us so richly, we thank you. We who work here so enjoy the people who are drawn to such a unique stay. We love getting to know each of you and look forward to you seeing you drive up in front of the lodge to check in for another visit. Hope to see you soon!!
Blessings,
The Briar Patch Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great place with very nice and clean cabins - The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is hearty. Our Cabin was one of the closest to the HWY but we had no road noise once we shut the front door and opened the door to the back deck, Just the wind in the trees and the sound of the creek. Highly recommend this spot if you are looking for something a little different than the desert. We stayed at an excellent spot just south of Sedona(Penrose BandB) and then here for 1/2 our trip and it made it feel like 2 trips in one. So close to one another yet so different in views, terrain and weather.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We just got back from 4 days at the Briar Patch Inn. It was such a pleasant experience to stay there. it is so quiet, relaxed and well maintained that you are tempted not to leave.

It is a few miles away from downtown Sedona, but that is a good thing. We stayed in the deckhouse cottage overlooking the creek. at night, we lit the outdoor fireplace and kept the door open at night to fall asleep to the sounds of the roaring creek.

Their breakfast is very good as well. Recommend highly.

Room Tip: i would spend the extra money and get a cottage on the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon (the deckhouse). We were right by the creek and could sit outside listening to the water by our own fire at night. Every detail made it feel like a genuine retreat - seclusion, homemade breakfast (including homemade granola which was amazing), hot cider served in the afternoons and hammocks in the grassy area by the cabins. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

A group of graphic designers decided to do a little R&R after a design conference in Phoenix and select the Briar Patch Inn for its relaxing atmosphere. The Inn is located less then 5 miles outside of Sedona along side a stream with the red mountains as a backdrop. it's comprised of several small cabins, medium cabins and a few large cabins that can accommodate a family of 4 to 6 easily.

Breakfast is in the office building-cabin and is very good.

There are two sheep, Wooly and Bully that keep the lawns mowed and you can feed.

The cabins are nicely furnished and the staff sets logs in the fireplace each day for a fire at night. The medium cabins have a small kitchen area and refrigerator.

The grounds are very nicely kept and give you a woodsy feeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Kingfisher. It has its own patio next to the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beewacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is an idyllic property, but if you are going to pay the High Price for staying here, be forewarned that not all is as it seems. We were placed in a cabin, of which there are three right next to the road, and unless you are hearing impaired, I would demand a cabin further down the hill. The noise from the road was intolerable given these are wooden cabins which resonate like speaker boxes. We complained, but were told 'no-one else has ever complained about the noise' and 'it's usually quiet at night when the traffic is light'. Malarky! Rubbish! This road is the MAIN tourist entry from Flagstaff and the traffic is constant and noisy all day and well into the night, in September/October at least. The breakfast was very nice and the property well groomed.
A sound wall needs to be constructed along the road above the top three cabins. Full stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wardiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarpatch3190, Manager at Briar Patch Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
We are always deeply disappointed when someone experiences a less-than-spectacular stay at the Briar Patch Inn. It truly is our goal to “exceed the expectations” of our guests.

The Briar Patch Inn is located in scenic Oak Creek Canyon, and the upper part of the property is in close proximity to the road that runs through the canyon. When this guest posed the question, “Does anyone else who stays in Eagle complain about the road noise?” I replied honestly, from my personal experience with guests over the last five years, that we have rarely received negative feedback. At the Briar Patch, we pride ourselves on making every accommodation we can to ensure that all of our guests are happy, and we would have gladly moved these guests to a different cabin if we had not been fully booked and therefore unable to exercise that option. We sometimes marvel at the subjectivity of people’s perceptions. One guest had us move him from our premiere cabin on the creek because the water was “too loud.” He chose to move to Eagle, and he “slept like a baby,” for the rest of his multiple-night stay.

Once again, it saddens us to hear that anyone has departed the Briar Patch dissatisfied. However, this guest’s feedback will encourage all of our innkeepers to remind every potential guest of the location of any cabin they are interested in, and to urge them to view the property map that is available on our website.

We will always strive to create a sanctuary that allows individuals to retreat from the world for awhile. We accept that this particular place will never be able to meet the needs of everyone, but we will always do our utmost to make every stay a fully satisfying one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
4.2 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
8.4 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.2 km away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Property: Briar Patch Inn
Address: 3190 N. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona
Briar Patch Inn Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing