We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Sun Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Canyon Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Sierra Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Sun Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a wlecome home party for my husband and about 35 friends and family at the hotel utilizing the Brushfire BBQ staff and restaraunt. They did an excellent job with the food and helping to make sure that we had everything we needed to make the night a success. We stayed for the night and found that the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and breakfast was waiting in the morning. As far as the age of the hotel... yes the hotel is on the older side (nothing is new forever) but it is well kept up and you cant beat the location to Ft Huachuca. We felt welcome from the moment we walked in the main entrance and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    10
    3
    11
See reviews for
22
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I think the bad comments are way of base from what I just experienced. Stayed two nights last week. The hotel definitively is older compared to the hotel next door, but the rate was great and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was simple with some hot items and a selection of fruit, bread and cereal. I had to work so I was happy that the internet worked perfect both days and the complimentary happy hour (just had to hit it at the right time) was a nice bonus. I liked the hotel for the price and it was in good condition. Mostly I found everyone to be friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay again if I pass through Sierra Vista

Room Tip: I only got a standard room, but was talking to the front desk agent and found out I could have got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stay here when visiting family at least 3 times a year Things have changed much since last visit in March 2011
No longer have breakfast every day, it was closed on weekends and the desk clerk couldn't tell me if they would have service again for the next week
No more happy hour drinks In fact, the bar and grill is gone A bar-b-q place is leasing the restaurant now Nasty bar-bQ! The meat smelled and looked moldy!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunCanyonInnGM, General Manager at Sun Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We still serve a full, hot buffet breakfast every Monday through Friday, with a continental/waffle breakfast buffet on Saturday and Sunday, and have always done this, and we have no plans to change this service. We also continue our offer of complimentary Happy Hour cocktails for our hotel guests, and are pleased to be able to offer this features at Sun Canyon Inn.

BrushFire BBQ was voted "Best in Tucson" for the last three years running (2009-2011), and we have received excellent reviews and compliments about the quality of our food, and many loyal customers. Perhaps your meal was not to your taste, and we invite you to return and sample a different dish. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns, and we will be happy to immediately address them for you.

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to offer the amenities that Sun Canyon is known for, as well as improve and develop new ways of serving our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

IWhen January rolls around, I head for Arizona. The only place I've come back to over the last several years is the Sun Canyon Inn. The staff is helpful and friendly. Because many of the guests are soldiers on assignment, the inn offers a quiet and polite atmosphere. The breakfasts are great and varied. The happy hour is just that with two free drinks at night. And the burgers, chicken, etc. are delicious. Love those onion rings. There's free computer use in the lobby. The rooms are clean and kept clean. And the price is fair. What more could I want. Can't wait until January.
This last January, I brought my sister with for her first trip to Arizona and she loved the Inn as well. The day we left, we were given hugs by the kitchen servers and sent on our way with a "safe trip home" wish.
What more could one want?!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunCanyonInnGM, General Manager at Sun Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
We're glad you enjoyed yoru experience with us! We're looking forward to welcoming you back next time, and we know you'll have as pleasant a stay with us as always. Thanks for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

They charged my credit card when I paid in CASH. They guy behind the desk is a CON MAN. He talked me into paying in cash and also charged my credit card. The management was no help in resolving this issue. Don't stay here and trust them with your credit card number! Very poor business ethics.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunCanyonInnGM, General Manager at Sun Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
We do everything possible to address issues or concerns our guests have, and our job is to make each person's stay with us comfortable, stress-free, and pleasant. Billing concerns are of course very important for us to address efficently and professionally. We keep detailed records, make sure our guests have equally complete records, and when a guest presents valid documents and receipts for our review, we are diligent in our commitment to provide customer satisfaction. We go the extra mile to make sure that any errors are immediately corrected and resolved.

Each and every one of our staff is interested in ensuring that Sun Canyon Inn maintains our excellent standards, fair treatment of all our guests, and the best service in town.

Thank you for your comment, and for giving us the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Ok, so the Sun Canyon Inn isn't the newest or fanciest hotel in Sierra Vista. What they lack in "newness" they make up for in all other areas. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is really good - eggs, bacon & sausage all cooked on site (in addition to the standard fruit, rolls, breads and yogurts). Best of all, the hotel is conveniently located right next to Ft. Huachuca. If you haven't considered the Sun Canyon Inn before, I'd suggest giving it a try.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here while on assignment for an article about Fort Huachuca. We picked this hotel for it's location, and it turns out that's all it had going for it.

The woman behind the check-in counter was on the phone when we arrived, and we were kept waiting at the counter for five minutes before being acknowledged, then at least five more before she hung up the phone. Her service went downhill from there. She was very curt and unfriendly. While assisting us, her husband (as he announced, along with the fact that they manage the hotel) and a friend entered the lobby, both obviously drunk and very belligerent. They pushed their way in front of us, making an offhand comment regarding my friend. After the woman and man exchanged 'words', we were finally checked in. The owners should look into their choice of managers. We should have left after this, but being late in the day and unfamiliar with the town, we stayed.

BIG MISTAKE. As we entered the room, it had a horrible smell, reminding us of urine, and the room itself was dirty, bits of paper on the carpet, and animal hair on the bedspread. The bathroom was even worse; the tub had a ring around it from the previous guest. Disgusted, we went back to the checkout desk to demand our money back...waited for someone to appear at the desk, and after 15 minutes and a shout-out for someone, anyone...we left the hotel. We will dispute the charges to our credit card. The managers of this hotel should be fired.

As professional writers for the travel and hospitality industry, we will make sure that we never put our readers and professional associates in the close vicinity of the two worst customer service employees we have ever met.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwriterpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Sun Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Sun Canyon's new ownership and management team read all of our reviews on TripAdvisor, and want to let you know that we are committed to listening to each guest and treating you with the respect and consideration you deserve. You might be interested in some of the improvements we've made--while keeping the features you've enjoyed for over twenty years.

We now have upgraded internet services, new bedding, room and lobby decor, as well as room service and concierge and tour assistance. We are happy to address your concerns, from our staff and personnel performance to amenities and services we provide for our customers. It is our priority to make sure that your stay with us is a happy, productive, and pleasant one, and we welcome each guest's suggestions and input as to how we can further improve.

We hope you will visit us again and let us show you the benefits of old-fashioned service and uncommon commitment.

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you took the time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sierra Vista hotels
1.1 km away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.1 km away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.7 km away
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
Sierra Vista Extended Stay
#13 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 22 in Sierra Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Sierra Vista
TownePlace Suites Sierra Vista
#14 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Canyon Inn

Property: Sun Canyon Inn
Address: 260 N Garden Ave, Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-3810
Region: United States > Arizona > Sierra Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Sierra Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Canyon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sun Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Canyon Hotel Sierra Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing