We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very nice”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Not a very nice place. Outside entrances, noisy AC, soft spots in the floor. The room seemed clean, but I wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank g046689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Let me assure you it is our intention to maintain the highest levels of quality and service at our property. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.

Pilar Spresser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    263
    90
    55
    20
See reviews for
301
225
87
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I took a mini vacation away from the kids and were looking for a decent hotel that was not too expensive and not to far from the action of a downtown. This was the perfect place. The staff was pleasant, the rooms were clean (and trust me...I am a stickler for a clean room as I inspect everything), and the free breakfast was great with many options. You do need to take a taxi or drive to Downtown Tempe but it is only a few minutes away. I would definately come back and bring the kiddies too!

Room Tip: Highly Recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always pleased to hear from our guests, especially when we have succeeded in making their experience a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon!

Pilar Spresser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have been staying at this property 2-3 times per year for the last 3 years while my son attended graduate school at ASU. We stayed there again last week when we were there for graduation. It's a great place. Comfortable, clean, room, pleasant staff, and nice exterior spaces. Always enough parking. VERY conveniently located to ASU, Scottsdale, Phoenix, and highways. Breakfast seating is both indoors and on a wonderful covered patio with tables, couches, and tvs. I, too, have used the shuttle, although usually we rent a car. It worked exactly as described by others. Located near Papago Park. The fitness room is tiny. This is a very nice place, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I have stayed all over the property and don't discern a location advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherFla.Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for the nice review of our property. All the team members work hard to provide excellent customer service and take pride in our property. I will be sure to share your kind words with them. Thank you for being a loyal guest, we appreciate your business!


Pilar Spresser
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here while attending MLB spring training. I did not know the area and when I read they provided free shuttle service to and from airport AS WELL AS WITHIN 5MILES in surrounding area I took a gamble and booked a room and did not rent a car. Yes they truely took me anywhere within 5 miles and picked me up! Even better, this service runs 24 hours! Every shuttle driver was very nice and gave suggestions on places to eat, see, and party! The front desk was friendly and very helpful in every request and even printed bus maps for us. Breakfast was fabulous and changed daily. We loved eating outside under the covered breakfast area. The ladies that worked the breakfast area were very nice and always made sure there was variety of food no matter what time we came down for breakfast.(within breakfast hours, of course). The grounds were very clean. I cant wait to go back next year. I will deffinately be staying here again except this time I will stay for a week! Great experience! Only bad is no one else can compare! :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our property! We always strive to provide our guests with a memorable stay and are happy to hear when we have done so. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the staff. I am happy to hear you used our shuttle to get around the area. It is a great option for our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were here for three nights; the room was clean and the breakfast tasty. My only complaint is the noise from the room above us - sounded like they were bowling up there every morning at six AM. We enjoyed the pools and the hot tub. Located near plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: choose a high floor, not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsharonleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
drsharonleed,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our pools and hot tub. I would like to apologize for the noisy guest upstairs, and you are right that requesting a upper floor room is the best way to avoid this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammoth lakes, ca.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

exceptional service by friendly staff; good breakfast each a.m.; enjoyed outdoor covered patio with comfortable seating and 2 hd tv's.
Good value and well maintained grounds, pools and jacuzzi.
Exceptional shuttle service w/i 5 mile radius; including baseball games, scottsdale and mill district.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sle8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to spring training all year long. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the first "outdoor entrance" hotel I've stayed in for a very long time and it was comfortable for the most part, despite the run down appearance. Light sleepers beware, though, you can hear people coming home at all hours outside. The sounds must carry through the courtyards. It was clean and the bed was comfortable, though the room is very small - we had trouble figuring out where to put the suitcases. You pretty much are forced to use the dressers. Breakfast was fine, though the hot food is some variety of omelets everyday. I was hoping for bacon but over 5 days it never came.

Room Tip: The top floor would be ideal - though we tried to get this and were denied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
2.5 km away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
385 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
5.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing