We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Very nice, for the price. We stayed in a junior sweet, and love that the beds were in a separate room, and a tv in the bedroom was a bonus. It was so nice to have a walkin closet. Breakfast was included, and was above average.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y7128RVcathym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cathy,
Thank you for your 5 Star recommendation of the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe; we are happy that you found our hotel to be a good value. Many of our guests comment on our spacious rooms and our complimentary breakfast offerings. We are happy that you did as well! We would love to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Room was clean, bed was super comfy. Great price with Groupon. Breakfast was okay. Didn't have potatoes like website promised, also after confirming a late check out for 1 pm with the front desk the housekeeper tried to come in room several times and said she was leaving, so she needed to clean the room. Bed was too comfy so we stayed til 1:00!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Marie,
Thank you so much for your highest review! All of us at the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Guests often comment on our our incredibly comfortable beds, we are pleased that you did as well! We will look in to the breakfast opportunity you mentioned, thanks for letting us know. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Great hotel - great price, great service, great breakfast. All employees very helpful and pleasant. Rooms are awesome - especially the suites. My daughter started at ASU this month and this was our third time staying at the Red Lion. We have made it our official "school" hotel! 10 minutes to campus and lots of shopping/restaurants nearby. Can't say enough about the staff though.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ptd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

The entire team at the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe is elated that we were able to offer you a stay worth coming back to. We are happy that you were comfortable here, you enjoyed our amenities including our tasty complimentary breakfasts, and our location near ASU has been convenient for you. Our dedicated staff will enjoy hearing your kind words; we will pass you sentiments on to them. That you 'can't say enough' about our team and your stay makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Quiet, we had a restful night sleep before a morning flight. The shuttle was on schedule with courteous service. The park, sleep, and fly service was just what we needed. A great value for the price. We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay with Red Lion.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaslts_js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your 5 Star recommendation! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us here at the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, and that we were able to exceed your expectations!. We often are complimented for our Park, Sleep and Fly package, and we are glad you did as well!. Our dedicated team will enjoy hearing your kind words as well! Thanks again for your review, that you will return to us makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

User friendly facility that meets the needs of student athletes. Shuttle service was provided to ASU and the front desk administrator Heather was consistently professional. Great breakfast service and helpful and clean. A lot of construction around the surrounding area of the hotel. Use the shuttle if local.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hkyfmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your recommendation of the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe. Many of our guests, especially students and families from ASU, comment on the complimentary services we offer including our convenient shuttle service and tasty breakfast offerings. We are happy that you did as well! We will pass your shout-out for Heather on to her. She will appreciate hearing it. We would love to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

regarding usually makes it a point to provide water or a cookie or something like that not make people feel like you were inconveniencing their staff which is what it seem like not to mention we were put right by the pool and I don't think that was necessary.

Room Tip: not as nice as last time
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimgJ8084NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in communication with our team. You deserved better as our guest. Our staff works hard to give our guests great service; even though they can fall sort from time to time, they are always available in case of questions or concerns our guests may have. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope you’ll give us another try someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Went to visit our daughter in Phoenix area. I wanted to use a perk from my RLHotel Hello rewards card. After reading some of the reviews for the redline in Tempe I had reservations. This experience was better than any of the reviews that I had read. I have ample parking their breakfast rotates every morning staff is friendly rooms are large clean and it's location is fantastic for spring training or ASU

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irock52baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation of the Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe. Our guests often comment on our ideal location close to ASU, our ample parking and our tasty breakfast offings. we are pleased that you did too. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future! That we were better than the reviews you read makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
2.5 km away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
3.9 km away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
2.5 km away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $94 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing