We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to work or relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
KY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful place to work or relax”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stay here in mid-February for a conference and other business travel. The hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent. Before booking your stay, you may want to check out their Facebook page-room rates were $40/night cheaper than the conference rate. You can step out the door to the hotel and find a variety of food and entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    399
    95
    41
    28
See reviews for
279
227
97
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great central location to Tempe and Arizona State UniversIty. Rooms are very nice with either the central garden view or mountian and city views. The bar is nice and has outdoor fireplaces. Pool and rooftop tennis court is nice too. The one major flaw is that the hotel is in the flight path of the airport so if airplanes flying over at 200 to 300 feet bother you, you may want to pick something further South. We came to see a musical at ASU in February and the weather was great! Also lots of dining choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevadaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed for a weekend and I was very pleased. The location doesn't get better than this, food and entertainment are just around the corner. The staff was friendly and the rooms were nice. The courtyard area was well landscaped and looked great at night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and location. We appreciate you choosing Tempe Mission Palms, and hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Date of Stay: Feb 18-19. Price quoted: $170. At check out I expected and was billed the extra tax of $27. But, they added on a $13 Hospiatlity Fee. When I inquired at the frontdesk that morning, the lady (Laura?) stated it covered a complimentary newspaper and other things. She listed nothing that I could use. I did ask where I could pick up my newspaper. I was advised that they were not passed out on the weekend but I could purchase one at their giftshop. She quickly followed up with: "Sir, this fee is non-negotiable." I have to assume she was in no mood to negotiate or discuss. My wife also chewed me out for the loud planes going overhead.

Room Tip: The staff out front are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabfivefabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We apologize that our hospitality fees were not more clear to you at your time of booking. These fees include wi-fi, valet parking, airport shuttle, in-room phone calls & coffee, weekday newspaper, and use of our pool & fitness center. These fees are now fairly common in the hotel industry.

Please know that we are working on making the hospitality fee more clear at the time of booking, and that we strive to acheive excellent customer service every day. I was very sorry to hear of the poor attitude from our staff member, and we will be looking into this further.

I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great hotel and phenomenal location. Walking distance to ASU and bars & restaurants on Mill Ave. The rooms are clean and updated. Spent some time at the pool and enjoyed the restaurants located on the property. Highly recommend. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwstarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huskies04
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Came to Tempe for a UW Husky basketball game at ASU in January. When coming to ASU for a sporting event this is the perfect hotel to stay at as it is a short walking distance from football stadium and basketball arena. Also an even shorter walking distance from the famous Mill Ave which has many neat bars, restaurants, and shops. On this particular trip we rented a car so we could drive to Scottsdale in our free time and Mission Palms still has free parking available for its guests which is a HUGE plus because not many hotels do any longer. The lobby was nice and clean as always. The staff is always very nice and courteous. The bar in the lobby is always a nice place to have a drink and/or some food and it has a nice outdoor seating area with heaters if it is a bit chilly out. The room was as nice and spacious as always. Always very clean and comfy. Ive never had a complaint in the 4 times staying here. We didn't order roomservice this time, but we have before and it was very quick and the food and drinks were delicious. We did go to the pool in the afternoon just as I have each time staying here and while the pool is pretty small, its always a nice place to chill on a hot day. Its always cool watching the planes fly right over you in their descend before landing at the nearby PHX airport. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Arizona State University!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskies04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed at the Tempe Mission Palms for 5 days for a work conference. It seemed to be a very popular hotel for corporate conferences - there were at least three other companies hosting conferences there during my stay. Rooms were very comfortable and included all the amenities that you would expect from any major hotel chain. My only grievance is that the gym was pretty pathetic - it featured a couple treadmills, a couple machines, and some free weights crammed into a tiny space. Apart from that, service was friendly and the property was well-maintained. The hotel was an easy walk to the bars and restaurants of Mill Ave. which was a major plus. I would stay here again if I had to return to the Tempe area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.4 km away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
203 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing