We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown and worth every nickle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Downtown and worth every nickle”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here several times in the past. Just got home from a small visit and decided to comment. Mission Palms is a great place. It's not for "spring breaking" kids. But a great place for a family or middle aged adults who want to relax and feel like they are at home.
The price is on the higher side but worth it. The place is beautiful, comfortable and location wise can't be beat. Really can't say enough nice things about Mission Palms. The staff treat you as family and will almost bend over backwards if needed. Try it once. Only once. You might have my room next time I need to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. It's a good view of the pool and the AS Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffmunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    384
    93
    40
    26
See reviews for
267
217
90
783
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here in September during the week and it was very quiet. We were the only people at the pool which was nice. It was in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops. We had a special deal that included credit towards room service. The food was excellent! We would go back. Rooms were clean and the location was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxannwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are gald you had a great stay with us, and appreciate your business. We are adding even more "packages with credits," in the near future. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great hotel very comfortable and clean! Right down the street from Sun Devil Stadium! Great bar and fireplace! Only downside that i saw way the hotel sits in the flight path of Phoenix Airport!

Room Tip: Ask for Room over looking the Pool and you can see the mountain as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglerider1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
283 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

As others have said, the Tempe Mission Palms hotel is a lovely property that is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe's Mill Ave district. The hotel really is as attractive as the photos suggest, particularly in the public spaces. What pleasantly surprised us is how terrific the service is, especially in terms of the front-line staff who man the door/valet stand and the room service. If you stay at the Mission Palms, you really don't need a car. The shuttle service is extremely convenient and the hotel is walking distance to public transportation as well.

I would love to give this property five stars, but really can't purely because of the disappointing rooms. The decor is attractive, but the comfort level was subpar. Ours had one of the worst mattresses I've endured at a hotel in quite some time (my husband and I joked that an elephant must have sat on the edge of the bed to put on his sneakers, that's how badly it was deformed) and a very noisy air conditioner. Those are sort of deal-breakers for a five star review. I hope they will be able to upgrade the room furnishings sometime soon. Television sound was also really off (and the remote was wonky), but that's a secondary complaint.

So overall I do recommend the hotel, but it might not be the best choice if you are going to be staying there for more than a couple of nights or if it's deep into the hot months.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New2Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at the Tempe Mission Palms many times over the years, and looking back on my old reservations, I realized that this hotel used to be quite a good deal. Now, I'm afraid it has become far too expensive for what it is. Their biggest draw is location, and it is certainly nice to be able to walk to the attractions of Mill Ave easily. Regan the concierge was wonderful and very helpful, and housekeeping was great. Aside from those things, though, I'd have to say they stay was a bit disappointing. The young woman who checked me in was neither welcoming nor friendly in the least, the blaring bad 80's rock at the pool all day was ridiculous, especially since the crowd were people in their 40's and 50's and kids, the bartender was nonchalant almost to the point of being snotty, and the rooms, which seem to have been recently renovated were mediocre. Get real down blankets and cotton sheets for goodness sake's! And though it's not their fault, the plane traffic overhead has gotten out of hand! The price says expensive, the service and details say very mediocre! Next time I'll choose a resort in Scottsdale or the Valley Ho!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the courtyard side, but unfortunately, it won't help with the air traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montanalovevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Tempe Mission Palms is one of only two hotels that are in the heart of ASU. It is just steps from all the action on Mill Avenue and steps from Sun Devil Stadium and Wells Fargo Arena. We enjoy staycations at this hotel twice a year, once during football season and once during baseball season.
The pool area is relaxing and has a walk-up bar with reasonable drink specials. It is often difficult to find a lounge chair near the pool,and occasionally it is closed for large groups. I have not seen a poolside server so you do need to go to the bar on your own.
Although there are two eating establishments within the hotel, we have always gone to the restaurants on Mill Avenue since it is literally right out the back door of the hotel.
Mill Avenue is not only for the ASU college crowd. Many families and empty nesters enjoy the diverse atmosphere and wonderful restaurants/bars.
I highly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will continue to visit during the ASU sporting seasons.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishteacher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you choose us for your staycations, and that you recommend Tempe Mission Palms to your friends and family. See you again in football season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Best thing about this hotel is that you can walk to Mill Street. Also took walk over to the lake and did the quick hike up the hill behind the hotel. Good service. Really enjoyed sitting outside by the fire at night at their bar. Even had dinner there one night because we didn't want to leave!
Biggest disappointment is their rooms. They are old. We even upgraded to a suite and it isn't anything special like we would expect.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetMonkey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.4 km away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#7 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
10.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing