We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buttes in Tempe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Buttes in Tempe”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay to enjoy Baseball Spring Training (especially the Angels) then look no father than The Buttes by Marriott in Tempe. The hotel is nested into a large butte with the lodging down on the lower end of the butte with the lobby and Top of The Rock Restaurant at the top. Excellent buffet breakfast in the morning ( Can you say Omelette Bar?) or you can order off of the menu. If you are an Angels fan or a team playing at Diablo Stadium it is a nice short walk to the ballpark. Just this weekend I just missed running over a dashing Torii Hunter in the parking lot! Obviously the prices are higher during Spring Training but they do let you use your AAA membership to lower the room rate. We have been staying at The Buttes way back when it was a Wyndham Resort and would think of staying no place else for Angels Spring Training.

The hotel staff from check-in to housekeeping is friendly and helpful. The Concierage was super helpful in finding a local Nail Salon that could take all of our ladies at the same time for their mani-pedies.

You definitely want to have a car as most places other than the Stadium are not easily reached by foot.

Love the beds!

Room Tip: I have seen people post about getting a room not facing the freeway but I have found that if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Buttes and yes we welcome Angels Fans. Being adjacent to their field March is madness here. Thank you for such loyalty with our property and thank you again for the feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with our F/B team. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    445
    168
    65
    47
See reviews for
273
305
54
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Marriott Buttes is a very nice resort with great views, food, and staff. I have stayed here
more than 20 times over the last 6 months for work and every time is an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room face the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your loyalty to The Buttes Marriott. Your patronage and time you took for feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

While I was in town for work, my wife was able to enjoy the many amenities of this hotel - the pools, the spa, the great view nd the friendly staff. The room was large and easy to get to. My only regret was the fact that the hotel was overbooked and we were forced to stay in a room with two queen beds. Just as fantastic was the restaurant, Top of the Rock. We were here for a party buffet. The food was delicious and, again, the staff was gracious an friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the opportunity to relax in an environment that is serene and beautiful.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Layne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We appreciate you staying here at The Buttes Marriott. This time of year with spring training and the Angels fans, our availability is limited. Thanks for your kind feedback. We will indeed thank our friendly staff for a job well done. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent the first week of March here and I enjoyed this resort fully!
Great pools and hot tubs. Great service. The staff was helpful and friendly.
The one disappointment was the food which wasn't bad but wasn't anything to say wow about.
It's located near I-10 and the airport and was a nice central location for our travels around the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
We thank you for staying here at The Buttes Marriott. I am so glad you found our room accommodations and staff to be very nice and friendly. We are changing out menus as we speak, and our Culinary Team is doing their best to provide a delicious menu for all guests. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

It is the staff of your spectacular hotel that made all the difference... Michelle S. in particular... From the shuttle ride down the hill to the Angels Spring Training facility to the superb personal touch provided back at the lounge after a tough loss to the Dodgers..., I couldn't have had a more enjoyable experience... Completely dismissed the disappointment of losing to the other Los Angeles team.. Hats (Angel caps...) off to your engaging, friendly, and personable personnel... We'll be back!!! JP

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
It was a pleasure to personally meet you and your group. Thank you for staying at The Buttes and we/I will see you next year ... or sooner.
Thanks
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a great hotel for Anaheim Angels spring training vacations. You can walk to Diablo Staduim and the hotel also offers the convienience of a cart to drive if needed. There are also many great restaurants locally. For a family, the pool is great! It is very large and there are multiple "hidden" spas. There is pool side service and live bands during the weekend. The Top of the Rock restaurant is also great for Happy Hour or dinner with beautiful sunset and night time views of Tempe. The rooms are very nice and the Marriott beds are of course very comfortable. It is a very relaxing stay. The spa is small but very nice and cozy. The fitness center seemed to be just the right size. Nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0nLOVER_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We thank you for staying and enjoying The Buttes Marriott celebrate Spring training with the Angel fans. This truly is an amazing month for everybody. Thanks and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

For a single room, $360 a day (room, tax, and parking) seemed a bit high for this hotel. But the view is great and it is close to the airport, so it gets the location award. The pool is very nice, and there are two hot tubs in remote locations for those interested in secluded comfort. The restaurant was just average hotel fare. Why they have to charge another ten bucks a day for parking seemed liked a typical add on fee to make you think the rate is lower than it actually is.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you are parking your car, otherwise you have a "hike" to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for staying here at The Buttes. We are really in season, celebrating the month of March with Angel's Fans and Spring breakers. We appreciate your feedback and hope your find our prices more accommodating in future stays, especially all of our Summer Rates that are about to be launched. If you ever need help finding a more reasonable packaged rate please call us and we will find the right one for you. Again thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
3.9 km away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
3.3 km away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
17.6 km away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Property: Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing