We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
188
37
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
37
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk to the beach quiet street lovely hosts nice tropical garden spent hours sitting common fridge friendly manager porch enjoying the local hot spots complimentary morning coffee nice family owned business rooms are clean hot water costa rica great smoothies directly across the street garden setting
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 234 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

I did’nt really spend a night in the tropical sands, but I had a reservation. Because of a personal problem I had to cancel my booking. Amy, the owner answered immediately to my question if I could cancel without paying. In between 24 hours it’s normally not done. But Amy understood my problem and renounced for my payment. That’s really generious. Thank you, Amy! If the owner of hotel acts like this, it prouves that he likes his clients and the work with them.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank vhahnhaeuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tropical ... D, Owner at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. We understand things happen and people can not always make their engagements. We try to make your time while traveling stress free, not add more ;)
I'm happy I could help you and I hope everything worked out for you.
We hope you you stay with us next time!
Best regards,
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

The accomodation blocks are arranged around a nice tropical garden/courtyard. The place feels relatively secure and is a good option to stay in Dominical. It's just a short walk to the beach and not far from the village. We had booked a fan room, but decided on arrival to upgrade to a AC kitchenette unit. The room was functional, but nothing special. Excellent free coffee in the morning, and there is a good breakfast place across the street.
The bed was really hard ad I ended up with back pain.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tropical ... D, Owner at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have worked hard to make our hotel and the grounds delightful and tranquil. We are happy you enjoyed them and our free coffee! Ken took time to choose a delicious coffee for our guests which is freshly brewed every morning. Functional, beautiful and clean is our goal as we know our guests are avid travellers and come to us for exactly this, which our price also reflects as we are the most affordable Hotel in Dominical! If you preferred a softer mattress we would have been happy to give you one, you just needed to tell us after your first nights stay...next time!
Pura Vida,
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Tropical Sands is lovely! I stayed here for 7 nights with 2 friends on a surf trip. We each stayed in our own basic fan cabina. Our rooms were side by side, each with our own hammock and porch looking out onto the central garden area. They serve local coffee every morning. Amy & Ken - the owners - are super helpful and nice. They gave us ideas for day trips, helped us book a taxi for a night outing, gave us advice on how much to tip in Costa Rica, etc. There's a communal fridge in the courtyard so we kept it stocked with our leftovers and giant jugs of water, etc. There's a great local restaurant directly across the street (Cafe En Sueño) - we ate breakfast there every day - great smoothies, gallo pinto, casado, etc). Dominical beach is a 2 min walk down the road - that's where all the local surfers are. We loved Dominical and this little hotel felt like home for us; highly recommend.

Room tip: The fan cabinas are the most charming if you don't mind no A/C
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Tropical ... D, Owner at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and glowing review! We are really happy that enjoyed your visit so much. We do try hard to make our guests feel at home, and well taken care of, so it is very rewarding to know our guests enjoy themselves. We are really happy we were able to give you a wonderful stay!
Thanks so much, and we hope to see you again!
Pura Vida,
Amy&Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Nice basic cabinas with A/C or ventilator. Nice garden. Everything was very clean. The hosts helped us with any question we had. Good location. 2 Minute walk to the beach. Very good place to eat right across the street. I would definitly recommend this place to friends.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank AnjaimGlueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalSandsCR, Owner at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write a review! Our hotels goal is to provide a good night sleep, a tranquil and happy atmosphere and we are glad that we were able to give that to you. Happy Travels! Amy&Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

We booked a rooms for 2. The owners are nie and the rooms are clean and nice. Very quiet and near the beach. Thema owners are helpful and good informed about everything in dominical. We visited The waterfalls. They we're amazing. Its a medium difficult hike but Worth IT.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ThomasA4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalSandsCR, Owner at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write a review! Our location is ideal as it is in a minutes walk to the beach and to the Nauyaca Falls you mentioned, just 8km! They ARE beautiful, glad you went!. We are Happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Pura Vuda, Amy&Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews