We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place in Dominical. Good food, good rooms..GREAT SHOWERS”
Review of Que Nivel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Que Nivel
Ranked #9 of 12 Dominical B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Went to Dominical for 9 days and a friend recommended that I stay at Que Nivel. I easily booked a room in advance for two days. I ended up spending all 9 days there without a second thought. Had the most amazing trip. One of the best of all time. Waterfalls, horseback riding, surfing and the great staff put me in touch with the best people around to really take advantage of all the stuff to do. The rooms were clean and the staff was more than fun! The showers are second to none. Awesome. The best part was after a long day of surfing or exploring... or a long night of drinking the rooms all have their own hammocks outside! Talk about PERFECT! Couldn't have wished for anything more. Highly recommend it and will always go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Que Nivel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

Que Nivel was a great spot to center our vacation of hiking through mountains and relaxing on the beach! The convenient location was seconds from the beach and great local attractions - not to mention the full-service restaraunt / bar on site. The staff was amazingly helpful with the ultimate goal of making sure you enjoy your time in Dominical. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I was very surprised to find how inviting and friendly the staff was when we arrived! Some of the most fun our group had was meeting and mingle out with the staff, other guests, and the other locals who hang out there. The location is ideal...just steps to the beach. If you are a surfer, then you are at the right spot, because there is a world-class wave right there...plus each room comes with its own quiver. The rooms were clean and ours had AC...which was crucial. Oh yeah, and they have the best onion rings in town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swervin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I traveled to Costa and went very off the map to Dominical. I found this great hotel, bar, restaurant located at the far end of the small town, right by the beach. It is voted one of the world's best surf spots. Everyone was super nice, all the locals were friendly and the area was very safe, even for a female traveling alone. Que Nivel has great rooms with either A/C or fans for a very decent price and HOT showers, which most places do not offer. The food at the restaurant part was fantastic and fresh and the drinks were cheap and plentiful. I slept great and had a place to put my board safely in my room. The owner and employees were great and they all speak Spanish and English, so language was not an issue. I would def recommend this place to anyone looking for a great room at a fair price with good food and everything you need a footstep away!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank channisleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Que Nivel is perfect if you want to spend too much money to sleep in a filthy, loud, malfunctioning environment. The rooms have concrete floors, poorly working plumbing, and dirt everywhere. The bar plays really loud music until 3am, so there is no possibility of getting sleep. We arrived to find an unclean room with the last tenants' hair and remanants of toiletries in the bathroom. Our sink didn't work and frequently the toilet didn't work either. The place also smelled like garbage.

In addition, it's website entirely belies the management of the hotel, which at best is laidback and at worst is unwilling to put any pride into their hotel.

Do not stay here; you will be dissapointed

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

A group of friends and I decided to take a trip to Costa Rica in May. At the risk of sounding slightly over-the-top, it was hands down the best trip I have ever taken in my entire life. Every day was more amazing than the last - and this is due in large part to the fact that we all stayed at Que Nivel. Frankly, we would not have known what to do, where to go, or how to get there if it were not for the awesome staff at Que Nivel. They showed us all of the best spots to hit - waterfalls with rope swings, secluded beaches, surf lessons, ATV tours, canopy tours, an awesome tilapia farm, the best ceviche I have ever had, amazing sunsets, and the list goes on-and-on. It was truly amazing.

And when you're done with all of that - head back to Que Nivel and have a blast at the bar. It's the best drinking spot in town. And, do yourself a favor... get the chicken nachos. Phenomenal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCLien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Stayed a week in Dominical and had a blast The town is fairly small (which is a good thing!), so over the course of the week we had a chance to visit almost every establishment in Dominical; Que Nivel was definitely the right choice for accomodations. The hotel is about as close to the beach as you can possibly get, so access to the surf is a very short walk (100 meters or so) and very convenient. Great rooms (air conditioning!), awesome bar, and good food. However, the staff at Que Nivel is what made our stay in Dominical truly special. The staff is a mixture of Americans and locals, and both bent over backwards to show us a great time and clued us in on what to do when in town. With their help we located amazing hidden waterfalls and surf spots, and they also weren't afraid to recommend other great places to eat in town. If you go to Dominical rent ATV's for the day! Without the encouragement of our new friends at Que Nivel we never would have done so and would have missed out on what turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Highly recommended and looking forward to going back again next summer! THANKS GUYS!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylechristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
579 reviews
0.0 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 km away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
0.0 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
99 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Que Nivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Que Nivel

Address: Dominical 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range: $37 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Que Nivel - The coolest restaurant/bar/hotel in Dominical, Costa Rica and probably the entire planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Que Nivel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing