We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
227
91
27
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
91
27
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line tree climbing screened porch the reserve night hike self guided guided walk swimming pool juan carlos eco experience great trails costa rica the lack of air conditioning superior cabins three toed sloths national wildlife refuge natural history
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 356 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We have mixed thoughts about this eco-lodge.

Some pros: It’s in an amazing setting with two very nice hiking trails. There is a nice pool and a gift shop and a decent restaurant. Standard CR breakfast is included. The shower is hot and has good water pressure. The cabins are simple. One wall socket per room.

Some cons: it could use some sort of a/c to take the edge off the high humidity in this region. The pillows were lousy. The WiFi in the cabin was poor.

I understand it is an eco-lodge, but it feels more like camping for $115/night.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ChicoRanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdabaru, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Baru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear ChicoRaMan,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences here at Hacienda Baru Lodge on Trip Adivsor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on our trails.

Thanks for your comment.


Thank you,
Silvia Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

This eco-resort on a national wildlife refuge is the real thing! Our hacienda rooms were simple but adequate and clean. There is no air conditioning, so as to save on electricity. I was concerned that this would be uncomfortable, but each evening as the sun went down and with ceiling fans on, sleeping was quite comfortable. It was so nice to hear the exotic wildlife each evening and morning! We partook of several exciting excursions from the resort. Zip lining through the canopy was so much fun! Five of us went on a hike up the mountain in the rainforest jungle with our guide, Juan Carlos, leading the way. Being a rainforest, it started to rain, and JC had to unsheath his machete to clear our way! I felt like we were in a movie! We spent the night at their camp near the top, in platform tents. There was even a toilet and showers! Juan Carlos cooked us a delicious dinner upon our arrival. We saw toucans and parrots, poison dart frogs and wild boar, we heard howler monkeys and myriads of tropical birds each morning. The whole experience was unforgettable!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdabaru, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Baru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Hello Karen,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Barú and also liked your experience in the rainforest. Hopefully you will always keep your Night in the Jungle and the Flight of the Toucan in your mind.
Juan Carlos will be very happy when he hears that you had such a good time with him.

Muchas Gracias y Pura Vida!

Nathalie Stein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Hacienda Baru has everything right. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and speak excellent English. The restaurant has delicious food. The beds are comfortable and you can step out of your room and view beautiful birds each morning. There was even a birding expert with spotting scope for early morning birders. The pool is perfect with new and comfortable loungers and we saw our only gray necked wood rails from the pool too! We did their Flight of the Toucan zip line tour and Monkey Challenge. It was so nice to just hike from our cottage to the zip lining and our guides were lots of fun and pointed out animals along the short hike. We also enjoyed the night tour with bats, lots of frogs, a scorpion, a kinkajou, and my favorite the Luminescent Click Beetle. The Monkey challenge is unique and just the right amount difficult. We were four, ages 69, 64, 12, and 9, and we all equally loved Hacienda Baru. There are trails to hike on your own and a wild and beautiful beach to explore. Thank you Jack for creating such a special place. I hope to return some day.

Room tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage and enjoyed that though we were not inside very much.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdabaru, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Baru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Hello kadala,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time at Hacienda Barú. We hope that we will see you again one day!

Muchas gracias y pura vida.

Nathalie Stein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

This property lives and breathes the environment. We had the privilege of meeting Jack, the owner and ecologist on our arrival day, as well as so many of his amazing team. Everyone was friendly and helpful at th resort. The guides were particularly knowledgeable and great fun, especially Carlos and Juan Carlos who took us on our ‘ Flight of the Toucan’ ecological zip lining experience. The free morning bird walks around the grounds were a very easy way to see so many species of birds as well as the resident sloth.
The walking tracks around the property were well signposted and easy to navigate with our experience being particularly special after seeing two sloths in the first half an hour a well as numerous bird species.
The cabins were simple but comfortable, with fresh filter coffee supplied daily along with
the servicing as needed. The pool area is a welcome treat after a hot days activities with plenty of seating around the perimeter. The accommodation is also beach front for wonderful sunset moments.
A traditional tico breakfast was included in our room rate and was always fresh and all you can eat.
Overall an excellent stay, with a team that really do have the environment and customer service as their primary focus.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ShazzaG181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdabaru, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Baru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear ShazzaG181,

Thanks so much for your thoughtful review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Hacienda Barú.

zip-lining is always a very special experience and we are proud, that we can offer it to children of the age of 3 as well as to seniors. We are thrilled that your daughter enjoyed our mixture of adventure and education.

We hope that you can come back in the near future and enjoy more of the Hacienda Barú experience!!!

Thank you,

Silvia Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This is a great eco-Lodge and a major conservation forest restoration site. I’d definitely recommend it highly. Rooms are simple, but well kept, plenty of solar-heated hot water, a pool, good restaurant and friendly helpful staff. The hotel supports the reserve.

On our walks we saw capuchins, peccaries, coatis, sloths, and agoutis. Agoutis are around the pool and restaurant in morning and evening. We also had great close looks at great currasows, and wood rails out the bedroom window.

We stayed here twice. The first time it was quite hot and we were not adjusted to the absence of AC. The second time it was raining more and the temperatures were more moderate. Even when days were hot, it cooled off a bit a night so we slept comfortably under the ceiling fan.

Room tip: We liked the newer rooms by the pool.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoDoShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdabaru, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Baru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Dear JoDoShep,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all here in Hacienda Barú.

Hacienda Barú is a very special place to enjoy wildlife.

Muchas Gracias.

Silvia Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews